Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

i have a dum question
Reply
Old 25 Jul 2008, 21:36   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: conway nh
Posts: 8
Default i have a dum question

hi to all

the dum question is. how does reserves work?
it says you roll for each section of the force org.
but does this mean you only roll for 1 troop 1 hq etc ????
please help me.

thanks for the time
oden-ryu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jul 2008, 21:49   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TO!
Posts: 3,293
Default Re: i have a dum question

I wouldn't say this is a dumb question to ask at all, everyone gets confused on something.

Rolling for reserves is not rolling for the force organization, but for the units that you declare that are in reserve.

For Example:

Say you have 2 HQ Units, 4 Troop Units and 2 Elite Units. (You can have any unit come in from reserve as long as you declare which.)

You place 1 HQ, 2 Troops and 1 Elite on the table and you declare that the other HQ unit, the other 2 Troop Units and the other Elite Unit is in reserve, now basically, for every turn you may roll for a reserve to appear, say the other HQ unit, on turn one no reserves may appear, but when it's your turn again (Turn Two), roll again, if the number on the dice corresponds to the number in the Reserves Table, that HQ unit may, or may not appear, dependent on the dice roll and the number of turns played.

I hope this has helped.
__________________

Dark Adeptus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jul 2008, 23:30   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: conway nh
Posts: 8
Default Re: i have a dum question

ok i guess i need to clarify
lets say i have 2 troops in reserves, and its turn 2
do i roll once or twice for troops
oden-ryu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Jul 2008, 00:24   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51
Default Re: i have a dum question

You roll twice in that situation

You point to the first squad "These guys", and roll a die. On the required number, they become available and move onto the table this turn. If not, they stay in reserve until next turn or until they automatically come on.

You then point to your next unit and do the same.

You don't have to do them in FOC order (HQ,Elites, etc), but you do have to indicate which unit you are rolling for. This is to prevent unscrupulous gamers from rolling the die (getting the required #) and then choosing a unit to place (Yes, I do know some players who try this).

chromedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Jul 2008, 11:39   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TO!
Posts: 3,293
Default Re: i have a dum question

Quote:
Originally Posted by oden-ryu
ok i guess i need to clarify
lets say i have 2 troops in reserves, and its turn 2
do i roll once or twice for troops
Twice because you have two troops. But if you manage to get only one troop unit from reserve and failed the other reserve (for the other troop unit), you roll again on your next turn.
__________________

Dark Adeptus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tzeentch Lord Question and Daemone weapon question. majonga Forces of Chaos 2 12 Apr 2008 00:32
Rules Question. (possible noob question) TheLetterV Tau 8 22 Dec 2006 23:34