Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

5th edition Dep Strike Mishap Table question - possibilty of Loophole?
Reply
Old 25 Jul 2008, 14:37   #1 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 14,585
Default 5th edition Dep Strike Mishap Table question - possibilty of Loophole?

I was reading the rulebook the other day and as I am reading the part about deepstriking, something came up on my mind, that they never bothered to explain.

Okay as we all know, the deepstrike mishap table is only referred to once the unit lands on top of friendlies, to land on or to be 1" close to any enemy unit, scatter of the table, or to be in impassable terrain.

The rolls of 1-2 and also 5-6 are understandable but my main question now is with the result of 3-4 on the mishap table and here being paraphrased; The opponent may then deploy the failed deepstrike unit any where on the table without rolling for scatter in a valid deepstrike formation(with exception of impassable terrain).

Now here comes my question, if I decided to put that failed opponent's deepstrike unit near or on one of my units, can I force them to do another mishap table? I can potentially abuse this rule as the unit is forced to take another mishap rule, and every time he rolls a 3-4, I will put it near another 1" of my units and force them to do the table over and over until the results of them being destroyed or put back into reserve come up.

I need someone to answer this question, as I, unfortunately, along with others may attempt to abuse this particular rule whenever the opportunities arise.


PS: Man....If it can be done....I feel all dirty and stuff
__________________
Guide to keeping:
Scorpions : Corn Snakes : Basilisks


Quote:
Originally Posted by Emlyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by FT
They're an insane bunch of reptiles...
I wasn't asking about the moderating staff.
crisis_vyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jul 2008, 14:45   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,961
Send a message via MSN to icer190
Default Re: 5th edition Dep Strike Mishap Table question - possibilty of Loophole?

I would say, no you cannot do it. Why? Because, to me anyways, friendly units are impassible terrain, you should not be able to put the enemy units there.
icer190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jul 2008, 14:48   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: 5th edition Dep Strike Mishap Table question - possibilty of Loophole?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crisis_Vyper
The rolls of 1-2 and also 5-6 are understandable but my main question now is with the result of 3-4 on the mishap table and here being paraphrased; The opponent may then deploy the failed deepstrike unit any where on the table without rolling for scatter in a valid deepstrike formation(with exception of impassable terrain).

Now here comes my question, if I decided to put that failed opponent's deepstrike unit near or on one of my units, can I force them to do another mishap table? I can potentially abuse this rule as the unit is forced to take another mishap rule, and every time he rolls a 3-4, I will put it near another 1" of my units and force them to do the table over and over until the results of them being destroyed or put back into reserve come up.
I wouls say no, and I underlined the relevant bit in the rule.

It needs to be a valid deepstrike formation, which prevent it to be placed on top of friendlies, near enemies (less then an inch away), or off the table.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jul 2008, 14:48   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,069
Default Re: 5th edition Dep Strike Mishap Table question - possibilty of Loophole?

I think an intention argument is a valid one here.

If it works the way you propose, then there is no point to the 3-4 possibility at all, since it will always resolve into either 1-2, or 5-6.

So no, it shouldn't work that way. An easy fix would be simply to imply an insert "(with the exception of 1" close to an enemy unit and impassable terrain)"

edit: I take it back, somtimes it would be wiser to allow a termie unit to come in, but on THAT corner instead of risking the unit going back into reserve que. So I would be happy to play it either way as long as it is agreed upon at the beginning.
Knight Actual is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jul 2008, 15:15   #5 (permalink)
Zen
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12,937
Send a message via MSN to Zen
Default Re: 5th edition Dep Strike Mishap Table question - possibilty of Loophole?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crisis_Vyper
PS: Man....If it can be done....I feel all dirty and stuff
I am sooooo not playing Drop Troops with you
Zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jul 2008, 23:41   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 142
Send a message via MSN to THE LORD
Default Re: 5th edition Dep Strike Mishap Table question - possibilty of Loophole?

Isn't there a rule how you can not re roll a dice more than once, or is that out of 5ed
__________________
Sold my dignity, sold my pride,sold my life away
Now I can no longer hide.
My dreams are now all gone
Because I lied, and they all died

Boy racer, crashed, caught, fined and gone
THE LORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jul 2008, 23:43   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: 5th edition Dep Strike Mishap Table question - possibilty of Loophole?

nope it,s still there, at least in the shooting phase it is mentionned that you can only rerol a dice once.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jul 2008, 23:45   #8 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: 5th edition Dep Strike Mishap Table question - possibilty of Loophole?

I think Boneguard has it, at least as hard as you would need to deal with it in a tournament. Putting them within 1" of an enemy unit wouldn't be a valid deployment.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Jul 2008, 15:48   #9 (permalink)
lonely tau
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 5th edition Dep Strike Mishap Table question - possibilty of Loophole?

Just drop them in some difficult terrain! Technically it's still valid, but they now have to take a dangerous terrain test!
  Reply With Quote
Old 26 Jul 2008, 19:38   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 1,481
Default Re: 5th edition Dep Strike Mishap Table question - possibilty of Loophole?

Troops are considered impassible terrain. Those exact words are in the rulebook somewhere in the terrain section. I'll have to dig them out.
__________________
"I really doubt your credibility as a sane person" - Crisis Vyper

"For those who believe, no explanation is necessary.
For those who do not, none will suffice."

"So this is how liberty dies. To a thunderous applause."



100% of posters have false statistics in their signatures. If you're one of the 0% that doesn't, copy and paste this into your sig.
Vallessian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Models that cant get onto the table - Question Lord Zambia General 40K 10 04 Mar 2010 00:17
Let's make it clear, Drop Pods/Trygons CAN mishap! Akaiyou General 40K 33 03 Mar 2010 01:30
[BatRep:] Tyranids vs Necrons, 1500pt – Annihilation Table Edges (5th Edition) Nezalhualixtlan Battle Reports 0 29 Jun 2008 07:52
standard table size question. 6x4? Gamblor General 40K 10 29 Dec 2007 21:30
Cheney Hunting Mishap Ge. Stankov Serious Debate and Discussion 34 23 Feb 2006 21:56