Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Just a quick question...
Reply
Old 18 May 2008, 19:39   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 347
Default Just a quick question...

I recently had this dispute over disembarking units. So i know if the vehicle moved on the movement phase, the unit that disembarks can only shoot (count as moved) and can't assault. But what if the vehicle didn't move? Does the act of disembarking mean that the unit can't assault after?
MentosMkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 May 2008, 21:10   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,741
Default Re: Just a quick question...

I'm positive this is covered in the rulebook. The rules for disembarking cover both situations. If I remember correctly, you can never Assault after disembarking, with the exception of Open-Topped vehicles, or other special rules, such as Land Raiders.
Droids_Rule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 May 2008, 22:19   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 347
Default Re: Just a quick question...

Well the rulebook says that if my vehicle did not move, my unit can move normally on page 62. The exact quote is, "If the vehicle has not yet moved then the passengers may move as normal after disembarking..."

So does that mean i can shoot up to full distance and/or assault if i wish?
MentosMkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 May 2008, 23:06   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 49
Send a message via MSN to Ores Myen
Default Re: Just a quick question...

Yeah, you're absolutely right. When a unit disembarks from a vehicle that hasn't moved, they may move, shoot and assault as normall. When a unit disembarks from a vehicle that has moved, said unit may only shoot and counts as moving.

Hope this clears up any problems.

- Or'es M'yen
__________________
I have taken great pains not to laugh at the actions of aliens, nor to weep at them or to hate them, but to understand them.

- Aun'shi
Ores Myen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 May 2008, 00:33   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 347
Default Re: Just a quick question...

Bah i knew it, got cheated out of one round of shooting with one squad. :P Almost go slaughtered by a squad of 6 ASMs and a chaplin...but i rapid fired them to kingdom come on the last turn. lol
MentosMkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 May 2008, 08:43   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Runcorn - England
Posts: 3,582
Send a message via MSN to major_rawne02
Default Re: Just a quick question...

Yeah that's a definate affirmation on that. I think it's come up a few times before actually, if not on these forums then between me and my friends (most likely myself and Wargamers epic rules ramblings at club )

Anywhoo, you can definately act normally so long as the vehicle has not yet moved.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silk Fanboy
See tarik you're the only smart one
major_rawne02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question quick answer, rapid fire plasma? Ekiel Space Marines 5 31 Oct 2009 19:45
A quick question DIRE_AVENGER General 40K 2 31 May 2009 06:39
quick question jhontauel Space Marines 2 28 May 2009 03:15
Quick question! p12om3th3us Dark Eldar 4 29 Jan 2008 05:11
just a quick question SpacePuppy The Inquisition 11 14 Aug 2006 16:00