Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Question about Shooting and Assault
Reply
Old 16 May 2008, 22:24   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Default Question about Shooting and Assault

I have a question, if you were to shoot at a dedicated transport and destroy it could you assault the troops that pile out in the same turn with the unit that destroyed the transport?
Redhaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2008, 22:24   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: HULL- UK
Posts: 5,130
Send a message via MSN to Dezart Fox
Default Re: Question about Shooting and Assault

Nope as they're seperate units Can only assault what you shot at and as that's dead.. no assault.
__________________


Dezart Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2008, 22:27   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: Question about Shooting and Assault

Yeah thats what I was thinking, but I wasn't sure if being a dedicated transport made any difference in the matter.
Redhaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2008, 20:50   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: England
Posts: 2,731
Default Re: Question about Shooting and Assault

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timjim
Nope as they're seperate units Can only assault what you shot at and as that's dead.. no assault.
Wrong. In the rulebook it says if you destroy the whole unit with shooting you can chose what to assault.
__________________
This is a great community, thanks a million skylight!
Shas vre Tau kais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2008, 21:24   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: HULL- UK
Posts: 5,130
Send a message via MSN to Dezart Fox
Default Re: Question about Shooting and Assault

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr X
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timjim
Nope as they're seperate units Can only assault what you shot at and as that's dead.. no assault.
Wrong. In the rulebook it says if you destroy the whole unit with shooting you can chose what to assault.
Where's it say that then? Says on pg 36 under shooting and assault that your primary traget has to be what you shot at.
__________________


Dezart Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2008, 21:43   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
greatmaju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: The Great U.K!
Posts: 1,383
Send a message via MSN to greatmaju
Default Re: Question about Shooting and Assault

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timjim
Where's it say that then? Says on pg 36 under shooting and assault that your primary traget has to be what you shot at.
so im guessing that Mr.X sounds right, then?
__________________
My Blog. Its great Fun!*

*Note: may not be fun. contact your Apothecary before visiting.

Armies:
  • 6800 Pnts Templar Guardians (SM)
  • 1500 Pnts Necrons Deathguard.
  • 1000 Pnts Ork SKulGratz
  • ??? Imperial Guard/Inquisition.
greatmaju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2008, 21:48   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: HULL- UK
Posts: 5,130
Send a message via MSN to Dezart Fox
Default Re: Question about Shooting and Assault

Well no, as far as I'm aware you have to shoot what you shot at, you shot at the rhino, the rhino died, it was your primary target.

If you'd have caused a penetrating hit, not destroyed it but forced to passengers to get out you could assault the rhino as your primary target and the troops as a secondary.

But I'll read up on it,
__________________


Dezart Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2008, 21:51   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
greatmaju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: The Great U.K!
Posts: 1,383
Send a message via MSN to greatmaju
Default Re: Question about Shooting and Assault

if your primary targets dead, then what, they wait sit around doing nothing, sems very stupid when they could get into H2H and kill more people. but yes, best thing would be to read up on it.
__________________
My Blog. Its great Fun!*

*Note: may not be fun. contact your Apothecary before visiting.

Armies:
  • 6800 Pnts Templar Guardians (SM)
  • 1500 Pnts Necrons Deathguard.
  • 1000 Pnts Ork SKulGratz
  • ??? Imperial Guard/Inquisition.
greatmaju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2008, 21:55   #9 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: HULL- UK
Posts: 5,130
Send a message via MSN to Dezart Fox
Default Re: Question about Shooting and Assault

Only line I can find is on the page I said above. Unit must assault what it shot at.
__________________


Dezart Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2008, 22:48   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,741
Default Re: Question about Shooting and Assault

I can't recall the page, although I'm nigh-certain Mr X is right.

Edit: Just looked about the rulebook. I can't seem to find the page, other than what Timjim has mentioned. For some reason or other, I know that it's stated somewhere. I just can't for the life of me find where.
Droids_Rule is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spawn Attack Counts as Shooting for Purpose of Assault? pikeZ33 Chaos Daemons 1 20 Oct 2009 04:51
Shooting question Maneki_Neko General 40K 4 18 Aug 2009 04:22
do marker drones lose their assault jump after shooting markerlights? smasher32 Tau 4 08 Oct 2006 14:37
Assault (and sometimes Shooting) Protection Idea Black Behemoth Tau 8 12 Mar 2006 20:15
Devilfish blocking assault but not LOS for shooting BugHunter65 Tau 4 18 Sep 2005 23:44