Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Assault Quandry
Closed Thread
Old 14 May 2008, 05:26   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 41
Default Assault Quandry

I was playing a game where I had my Drones, Devilish, Firewarriors, (in that order). The Greynight army wanted to assault my Devilish after shooting and killing my Drones. Are you allowed to assault a unit after shooting and destroying another separate unit? I tried to find it in the rule book, but either I looked over it or it's not there, could you point me to it.

Thanks.
__________________
One day I will become the best, but first I must lose the most.
For he who sits in pastry, has but in jam.
zarlus is offline  
Old 14 May 2008, 05:39   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,933
Default Re: Assault Quandry

negative.

another example

shooting a shas`os bodyguard, then him remaining. You couldnt assault him because it was an entirely different unit.
pepsi is offline  
Old 14 May 2008, 06:55   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 41
Default Re: Assault Quandry

Thank you, you also answered another on of my questions two.
__________________
One day I will become the best, but first I must lose the most.
For he who sits in pastry, has but in jam.
zarlus is offline  
Old 14 May 2008, 13:07   #4 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,741
Default Re: Assault Quandry

The rulebook cover this subject, and says you're not allowed to do it. You can shoot and charge, should your weapons allow (for example, Assault weapons), but the unit you fire at must be the unit you charge. If you manage to wipe them out, you can't charge.
Droids_Rule is offline  
Old 14 May 2008, 15:41   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 770
Default Re: Assault Quandry

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepsi
negative.

another example

shooting a shas`os bodyguard, then him remaining. You couldnt assault him because it was an entirely different unit.
I have had this conversation many times. Some might have been on here as well.

I think you are wrong about the IC joining a unit.

The rule book say that the IC joins the unit. IE he is a part of that unit for all purposes. He is subject to mixed armour rules and mixed toughness rules except during close combat. So while he is the last remaining member of that unit he can be charged because the firing unit shot at him by shooting at him in the firing phase.

There is also some RAW to back this up. I don't know the page number (at work) but the section detailing an IC joining a squad, states that he may only join or leave a squad in the moving phase. So even though he is the only member of the unit left he can not "leave" that squad until the next movement phase.

This also means he would have to take a LD for losing 25% casualties and be at -1 for below half.

Now in your example it is a bodyguard/retinue squad and that might change a few things as to the order of leaving the squad. I still say that even if it does change the order he can still be charged as per my above explanation.

To the OP:

You are correct, he can not charge if the drones are either destroyed, or if they fall back far enough that they can not be reached with the 6" assault.
JBunny is offline  
Old 14 May 2008, 19:22   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,554
Default Re: Assault Quandry

Alright, the OP's main question has been answered.

If you shoot you may only assault the unit you shot at.

The other is a tangent which deserves either its own thread or an agreement to disagree. Its a discussion I've had a few times before.
__________________
Friends don't let friends Jump Shoot Jump.
40kenthusiast is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When to assault with Tau monocleman Tau 17 28 Sep 2008 22:50
Assault Moves GoneFishing Tau 5 27 Sep 2008 17:35
3000pts Assault Squad Heavy( Over 60 Assault Marines) Cheeko89 Space Marines Army Lists 7 20 Feb 2007 09:30
Deathguard Quandry darthgus Forces of Chaos 4 26 Aug 2006 09:53
Tau Assault XVs Subzero House Rules 9 16 Jan 2006 22:47