Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Psychic Protection Inside Transports
Closed Thread
Old 05 May 2008, 18:33   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Greenwood, IN
Posts: 218
Default Psychic Protection Inside Transports

I'm going to be playing against a 'Nid player who, by reputaion, enjoys using the warp-blast psycic power. My Inquisitor is equipped with a null rod and rides around in a chimera. And I am unsure of how (if at all) the psychic protection of a squad inside a transport affects the transport itself.

So my question is as follows:
1. What happens when the transport with a null rod is hit by a psychic power?

__________________


"I've always loved being the center of attention, when that didn't involve incoming fire." --Ciaphas Cain, Hero of the Imperium--
O Vioanoi is offline  
Old 05 May 2008, 18:39   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,961
Send a message via MSN to icer190
Default Re: Psychic Protection Inside Transports

Personally, I'd say that the phsycic power ignores it, as the Inquisitor is inside the Chimera, and it says that it is a part of any unit he joins am I correct?
icer190 is offline  
Old 05 May 2008, 19:11   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 70
Default Re: Psychic Protection Inside Transports

IMO the whole psychic protection inside a transport is kinda a grey area.

@ Icer; it says (and if this one liner is against the rules mods please remove it again) 'No psychic power whatsoever may effect the character or any unit he has joined, regardless of source'

Some may say this line alone means it doesnt but im not so sure, the DH dex doesnt actually say a transport is a seperate unit, it says its an upgrade for an existing unit and can only transport the unit it was bought for (pg 30 box on transports). And going by what his dex says the vehicle isnt actually a seperate unit ( i know more recent ones for other armies say it is but thats un-important as his doesn't)
atherus shadowstorm is offline  
Old 05 May 2008, 20:11   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,554
Default Re: Psychic Protection Inside Transports

The current take round here is that models within a transport are not on the table (with the exception of the furious charge character in the blood angels). This leads to all sorts of idiocy, units not scoring because they are in their transports, farseers unable to fortune their craft, space marine's whose morale goes down the toilet because the boss man jumped in his Rhino, etc. Following this logic your null rod would be useless while in Chimera.

I'm not certain how this conclusion was arrived at though, I think it was a FAQ result from one codex generalized to all areas. Not sure if you want to import this particular local trope.

I rather imagine that the manner in which your group handles the "where is an IC in a transport" question will determine how this turns out.
__________________
Friends don't let friends Jump Shoot Jump.
40kenthusiast is offline  
Old 05 May 2008, 20:16   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: HULL- UK
Posts: 5,130
Send a message via MSN to Dezart Fox
Default Re: Psychic Protection Inside Transports

Yeah, stupid GW not thinking right ¬_¬

I'd prefer them to count.. transports aren't generally hard to kill and A unit is still a threat so should be counted as on the table,

See another area of this is for open topped vehicles.. can the inquisitor stick his head out of top of chimera and use the Null rod?
No answer :P
__________________


Dezart Fox is offline  
Old 05 May 2008, 20:27   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 770
Default Re: Psychic Protection Inside Transports

OK I'm not good at creating quote boxes but here is the General FAQ page 3 right column middle of page.

"Q. Can psychic powers (like Fear of the Darkness) or
other special rules (Imperial Guard Officers’ Leadership)
and pieces of wargear (like Psychic Hoods) be used
from within vehicles by models that are being
transported?"

To avoid an issues with the mods and GW the answer is NO. They are not on the table and therefor can not use special powers.

So the Null rod will not stop the attack on the transport. The answer even mentions attacking the transport.
JBunny is offline  
Old 05 May 2008, 21:08   #7 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Behind you
Posts: 19,399
Send a message via MSN to ForbiddenKnowledge
Default Re: Psychic Protection Inside Transports

Yet more RAW sillyness, I'm afraid. Easiest thing is to just let it work.

Of course, if the Inq sticks his head out to use it, it will be open topped next turn unless he has power armour.
__________________
[quote]Thou shalt not crave thy neighbour

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim.
Rafe is damn sexy once he gets into his night attire.
ForbiddenKnowledge is offline  
Old 05 May 2008, 21:15   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 770
Default Re: Psychic Protection Inside Transports

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe
Yet more RAW sillyness, I'm afraid. Easiest thing is to just let it work.

Of course, if the Inq sticks his head out to use it, it will be open topped next turn unless he has power armour.
My problem with lettig it work, is it goes against the FAQ. While it might be a raw vs RIA issue, most tournaments follow the FAQ.
JBunny is offline  
Old 06 May 2008, 01:13   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,811
Send a message via AIM to razgriz_cipher
Default Re: Psychic Protection Inside Transports

this also reminds me of a question I had if characters could use physic powers out of a transport?
__________________
Quote:
<Wargamer[TO]> - I figure it should go boom by spirit of the rules
razgriz_cipher is offline  
Old 06 May 2008, 09:52   #10 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Behind you
Posts: 19,399
Send a message via MSN to ForbiddenKnowledge
Default Re: Psychic Protection Inside Transports

As per the FAQ, no as they are not classed as being on the table.

As said earlier, it brings up all kinds of stupidness, like Marine LD dropping the minute the Commander steps into a Rhino :
__________________
[quote]Thou shalt not crave thy neighbour

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim.
Rafe is damn sexy once he gets into his night attire.
ForbiddenKnowledge is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WAARGH Grumgutz vs The Psychic Flying Tigers (1850, 05/15) in "Psychic Catfight" BigToof Battle Reports 6 17 May 2009 19:06
Rule Trouble with Psychic Powers & Transports. Medusa V General 40K 2 25 Mar 2009 02:39
Psychic Powers from inside a transport? Deris87 Craftworld Eldar 13 28 Jul 2008 07:06
IC protection Knight Actual Tau 7 06 Jul 2008 19:02
Psychic power/psychic hood question Delightfully Emo Forces of Chaos 3 07 Aug 2005 19:25