Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

1 quick question
Closed Thread
Old 22 Apr 2005, 08:01   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Denver Co.
Posts: 1,021
Send a message via MSN to Orion
Default 1 quick question

I was thinking earlier and i was wondering if say 2 IC characters join a another unit and the other unit is wiped out with only the IC's remaining would the 2 IC's still remain in a squad or do the rules require them to automatically seperate?
__________________
I have died once it wasn't so bad but i have no desire to do it again. A note to all not to mix meth and acohol.

"The quiet mouth gets fed last, Ask and you shall recieve"
-Unlimiter-
Orion is offline  
Old 22 Apr 2005, 09:25   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: 1 quick question

Technically, they'd become a 2-man unit. If one then chose to leave, both would become ICs again...

that's my interpretation at least.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline  
Old 22 Apr 2005, 11:02   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 8,901
Send a message via MSN to Jeff Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff
Default Re: 1 quick question

im with wargamer if that squad did become whiped out (making sure they were able too join that unit in the first place) they then would become a 2 man team (or in the case of catachan a 'veteran duo&#39

i would presume only the IC's that can join squads from there own unit would be able too stay together

if you catch my drift?!
__________________
Jeff is offline  
Old 22 Apr 2005, 23:27   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
Posts: 4,656
Send a message via MSN to Hunter
Default Re: 1 quick question

Independent characters are those that can choose to join other units, but they can also choose to seperate from them, however if the remanant of the sqaud was just a character, then you'd have a two character unit.
Say you had a squad of marines, with veteran seargent. If this unit was joined by a commander, then nearly devoured by a tyranid swarm leaving the sgt and commander, then you have a two man unit. As they are now below half strength, they are at -1 LD, and this means that the marines on the board can only use Ld 9 for their tests.
If the commander leaves, then the sgt is a unit of one now, and below half strength, but the commander is now no longer below half strength, so everybody other than the sgt is happy.

__________________
Do it for KJ


Hunter is offline  
Old 23 Apr 2005, 00:34   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 306
Default Re: 1 quick question

I'm not sure but I think it says something in the rulebook for characters about them not being able to form units with other characters, I think they would become two independant characters, it could be argued other way but I seriously doubt it was intended to work that way... Although I'm not sure why you would want two characters to form a unit with eachother...
Valmar is offline  
Old 23 Apr 2005, 01:05   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
Posts: 4,656
Send a message via MSN to Hunter
Default Re: 1 quick question

Is this talking about a vet sgt (an upgraded character, so called because he has paid to be able to select wargear) and, say, a hero or something like a librarian and a commander? The first two can join together (if the sarge is left over from a nearly killed squad) but the second two can't.
__________________
Do it for KJ


Hunter is offline  
Old 23 Apr 2005, 01:43   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Alachua, Florida
Posts: 8,647
Send a message via MSN to MalVeauX
Default Re: 1 quick question

Note: Two independent characters cannot be joined to form a unit as per page 50 of the 4th edition rulebook, under Characters Joining & Leaving Units.

Also, since the questions have been asked, the rules about Characters (Independent Characters) only apply to characters who have "Independent Character" written as part of their rules. Unit champions who are purchased as an upgrade are not these. They are characters, but are not subject to the special rules on page 50+ about independent characters.
__________________
[table][tr][td][/td][td][table][tr][td] [/td][td]Apocalypse is the only way to forty-kay.[/td][/tr][/table][/td][/tr][/table]
MalVeauX is offline  
Old 23 Apr 2005, 06:38   #8 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: In my secret lair plotting forum domination....hehe
Posts: 3,804
Send a message via MSN to Tau-killer
Default Re: 1 quick question

Ok...but can two independant characters join the same unit?
__________________
I never bluff, TK.
Tau-killer is offline  
Old 23 Apr 2005, 09:07   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,270
Send a message via MSN to Aquila_XV8
Default Re: 1 quick question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tau-killer
Ok...but can two independant characters join the same unit?
There arn't any rules saying that you cant do that so i guess its possible? Correct me if im wrong

Aquila
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargamer
Welcome to the Navy, Chevron.


Longest Ever Maiden Chain: 55
Aquila_XV8 is offline  
Old 23 Apr 2005, 10:23   #10 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: 1 quick question

It's one of these "grey areas". There are two viewpoints on it:

1) "Nothings says I can't, so it's legal."
2) "It doesn't specifically state you can, so it's illegal."

Most people go for 2, especially players like me who play in the spirit of the game.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question quick answer, rapid fire plasma? Ekiel Space Marines 5 31 Oct 2009 19:45
A quick question DIRE_AVENGER General 40K 2 31 May 2009 06:39
quick question jhontauel Space Marines 2 28 May 2009 03:15
Quick question! p12om3th3us Dark Eldar 4 29 Jan 2008 05:11
just a quick question SpacePuppy The Inquisition 11 14 Aug 2006 16:00