Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Transports, dedicated and undedicated
Reply
Old 22 Apr 2008, 13:55   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradford, W.Yorks
Posts: 759
Default Transports, dedicated and undedicated

I was wondering:

If field a Berserker Squad with a dedicated Rhino, I put them down simultaneously, but can I put the berserkers in the Land Raider and leave the Rhino empty?

I don't have a rulebook handy to check this!
__________________
Plunder of Penn IX sample rules here: http://forums.tauonline.org/index.ph...c,88254.0.html

Extartius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Apr 2008, 13:56   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: HULL- UK
Posts: 5,130
Send a message via MSN to Dezart Fox
Default Re: Transports, dedicated and undedicated

Yup, you declare where you put your unit totally legal :P
__________________


Dezart Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Apr 2008, 13:57   #3 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,961
Send a message via MSN to icer190
Default Re: Transports, dedicated and undedicated

Yes you can, I dont see anything that says you cant!

EDIT:
Damn you Timjim!
icer190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Apr 2008, 16:11   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,519
Default Re: Transports, dedicated and undedicated

this kinda thing is coming up in another thread Im in too. The annoying thing is that the dedicated rhino cant carry another unit apparently :P in your example.

According to the FAQ pathfinders cant infiltrate with their devilfish, which is dedicated. The devilfish is then left empty and nobody else can get in and get a lift.(?) Stupidity. (Apparently this will change in the next edition so that the dedicated transport can go in the no-mans-zone with the infiltrating unit it carries.)

__________________
Col.Angus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Apr 2008, 17:21   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 3,435
Default Re: Transports, dedicated and undedicated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Col.Angus
this kinda thing is coming up in another thread Im in too. The annoying thing is that the dedicated rhino cant carry another unit apparently :P in your example.
To quote one of my earlier posts:

Quote:
"The Marines readied themselves for the assault. The word has been given, and deep withing Bunker Complex A-51 they prepared for the coming battle. Bolters were loaded, Chainswords refuelled, Heavy Bolter ammunition picked up.
Sergeant Helbrecht turned around to his men:
`The Ork scum thinks it can conquer this world and plunder its ressources - ressources which belong to the Emperor! With Bolter and Chainsword, let`s turn the tide!`
He slammed his helmet onto his head, and then led his team with a hearty battlecry outside into the toxic atmosphere of the planet.
The square outside the Bunker was completely empty and eerily silent. The Marines hesitated at the exit, before Sergeant Helbrecht cursed:
`Emperor`s Bones! Looks like squad Altmann has taken our Rhino again!`"

And that`s why units have dedicated transports.
The reason no one else can "borrow" the Pathfinders DF is that they might need to relocate urgently - and their Fish can`t conduct a proper dust-off operation if it is ferrying Team Alpha around on the other side of the battlefield.
That DOES make sense.

Cheers,
-Bone
CmdrBonesaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Apr 2008, 17:38   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,519
Default Re: Transports, dedicated and undedicated

I understand that a dedicated transport has priority to the unit its bought for, but what if some unit is about to get wasted, and could use a lift? Or if the dedicated unit is already at their objective or even dead? The transport then has to sit there and watch other ground-pounders suffer?
__________________
Col.Angus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Apr 2008, 18:08   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,554
Default Re: Transports, dedicated and undedicated

Yeah. It does.

Dedicated transports may only carry the unit to which they are dedicated.

Undedicated transports may carry any unit.

You deploy both a unit and its transport at once, but you may elect to deploy them in separate areas, or even put the unit in an entirely seperate transport (an undedicated one of course).

I think that about cover it.
__________________
Friends don't let friends Jump Shoot Jump.
40kenthusiast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Apr 2008, 22:56   #8 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 16,024
Default Re: Transports, dedicated and undedicated

Topic unlocked due to pending question

Actually here is a tricky situation that may resolve that issue (albiet for an IC).

Basically, I have an Archite, a Raider Squad (with accompanying Raider). Is this legal?

Deployment:
The Warriors are on the Raider
The Archite "joins" the Warriors before Turn 1 (not as a retinue, just joining them temporarily) - The Archite is on the Raider with the Warriors

Turn 1:
The Archite leaves the Warrior Squad
The Warriors dismount the Raider
The Raider now still has the Archite on it and the Raider moves off and does it's thing.
FTyross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Apr 2008, 23:12   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 1,106
Default Re: Transports, dedicated and undedicated

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Strange Master (FT)
Topic unlocked due to pending question

Actually here is a tricky situation that may resolve that issue (albiet for an IC).

Basically, I have an Archite, a Raider Squad (with accompanying Raider). Is this legal?

Deployment:
The Warriors are on the Raider
The Archite "joins" the Warriors before Turn 1 (not as a retinue, just joining them temporarily) - The Archite is on the Raider with the Warriors
This part is legal as per page 81 in the main rule book.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Strange Master (FT)
Turn 1:
The Archite leaves the Warrior Squad
The Warriors dismount the Raider
The Raider now still has the Archite on it and the Raider moves off and does it's thing.
This part is illegal for a few reasons:
1. You cannot transport two units at the same time on a single transport. If the IC isn't part of the unit, he cannot be on the transport (so he would have to Disembark to leave the unit).
2. A Dedicated transport can only carry the unit is it purchased for plus any independent characters that have joined the squad.

(See page 62 in the main rulebook under the heading "Who can use a transport vehicle?" for full details.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Main Rulebook
An independent character may disembark and leave the unit still embarked, but if the unit disembarks, then any independent characters must as well.
__________________
IcyCool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Apr 2008, 16:33   #10 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 91
Send a message via Yahoo to Stan
Default Re: Transports, dedicated and undedicated

This is something I find really annoying and unrealistic about the rules. In real life you can enter any old transport tank you like even if it's not yours. You don't get situations where your under fire and you need to get out of there quickly. You see is a transport nearby and run up to the trap door only to get a "no sorry I'm not dedicated to your unit, even though the unit I'm dedicated to died at the beginning of the battle" as a response. The person opens up the door and let's you so you can live another day. I can see people's point of view when they say yeah it's to help that poor pathfinder squad in case it's in trouble. But really it should be able to let other squads in as the rules are meant to represent reality as much as possible. It's up to the general of the army to make sure they are put to good use not the rules to prevent him from doing that.
__________________
One caste for the protection of our race,
for their skills and strategies will defend us all.

One caste for the construction of a safe place,
for without their technology our empire would fall.

One caste for our faraway travels,
for their ships will bring us through the galaxy.

One caste for the talking at all levels,
for their smooth words will pave our road to victory.

One caste to rule them all, one caste to guide them,
One caste to bring them all together, and in the era of the Montíau, bind them.

In our galaxy there will only be the Tauíva.
Stan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dedicated Transports Nightmare General 40K 19 30 May 2010 18:05
undedicated transports majonga General 40K 9 31 Mar 2008 14:25
Dedicated transports Vendak General 40K 13 20 Dec 2007 09:37
Dedicated transports and Markerlights Ka-No-Bushi Tau 26 10 May 2007 23:26
Dedicated Transports Korill General 40K 6 13 Feb 2007 18:24