Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Dedicated Transport Question
Reply
Old 22 Mar 2008, 06:09   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 310
Send a message via MSN to Zenith_XS
Default Dedicated Transport Question

Ok my friend is obsessed with big tanks and Orks so we whacked together a nice list for him but there is one little thing that is nagging at the back of my mind, questioning its legality.

Does a dedicated transport take up an extra force organisation slot if it isn't a "normal" transport like a Rhino, Trukk, Raider, Chimera etc?

For example Meganobz and Nobs can take a Battlewagon as a dedicated transport. Does this take up a heavy support choice for the 'Wagon? The same for Grey Knights taking Land Raiders as dedicated transports, does this use an extra heavy slot per landraider?

Thanks in advance
~Zenith
__________________
"This Dragon has been bled dry and is but a husk, empty and barren. Worthless. I shall make the Dragon bleed once more and let its blood taint the stars."

~Sybaris, High Archon of the Bleeding Dragon Kabal

[br]Click here to feed me a fruit!
Zenith_XS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Mar 2008, 06:18   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,933
Default Re: Dedicated Transport Question

simple answer:

no.

pepsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Mar 2008, 06:32   #3 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Dedicated Transport Question

Bear in mind, though, that Grey Knights can not take Land Raiders as Dedicated Transports. The Inquisitor can, but the Grey Knights have to take theirs from Heavy Support slots.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Mar 2008, 09:37   #4 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 310
Send a message via MSN to Zenith_XS
Default Re: Dedicated Transport Question

Thanks for clarifying that! I've been allowing my friend to take a Battlewagon as a dedicated transport for his Meganobz without counting its force organisation slot. Guess he has to rework his list... again :-\
__________________
"This Dragon has been bled dry and is but a husk, empty and barren. Worthless. I shall make the Dragon bleed once more and let its blood taint the stars."

~Sybaris, High Archon of the Bleeding Dragon Kabal

[br]Click here to feed me a fruit!
Zenith_XS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Mar 2008, 10:50   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 3,435
Default Re: Dedicated Transport Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenith_XS
Thanks for clarifying that! I've been allowing my friend to take a Battlewagon as a dedicated transport for his Meganobz without counting its force organisation slot. Guess he has to rework his list... again :-\
Hu? No, it`s fine. You CAN take a Battlewagon as dedicated tronsport, without it counting to the FOC.
CmdrBonesaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Mar 2008, 14:45   #6 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Dedicated Transport Question

This is why the simple answer isn't always the best, Pepsi. I am not sure which question you answered.

Dedicated transports share the same FOC slot as the unit they are purchased for.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Mar 2008, 16:19   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,997
Default Re: Dedicated Transport Question

Bear in mind, that dedicated transports can only carry the units that it was assigned to. (ex a Battlewagon with a Shoota Boyz mob can only carry that Shoota Boyz mob, it cannot carry another other unit).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargamer
Aha, a brilliant point Impulse!
Impulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Mar 2008, 00:14   #8 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 310
Send a message via MSN to Zenith_XS
Default Re: Dedicated Transport Question

Ok thanks everyone! After finding out I've been playing the game wrong for the past 6 months I'm pretty relieved that I done this right.
__________________
"This Dragon has been bled dry and is but a husk, empty and barren. Worthless. I shall make the Dragon bleed once more and let its blood taint the stars."

~Sybaris, High Archon of the Bleeding Dragon Kabal

[br]Click here to feed me a fruit!
Zenith_XS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dedicated Transport question Shas_O Andrew Space Marines 8 01 Apr 2009 01:06
New Dedicated Transport rules. Primo Tau 2 27 Jul 2008 05:20
Devilfish a dedicated transport? Tassadar Tau 11 10 Jun 2006 17:15
Best Dedicated Transport Black Behemoth General 40K 14 08 Jan 2006 20:12
Dedicated transport? Enjoy Tau 15 12 Jan 2005 06:23