Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Quick Ordnance Question
Reply
Old 09 Mar 2008, 13:56   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,645
Default Quick Ordnance Question

I know in the blast weapon description it states any model partially covered can jump out. Am I correct in assuming this only occurs for blast weapons and not for ordnance? Ordnance makes no such statement about jumping out, so partials with ordnance are hit? Same question applies to barrages, are partials potential jumpers or hits?
__________________
Thor{DoH} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Mar 2008, 14:05   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 80
Default Re: Quick Ordnance Question

I would love to have that question answered. The book seems to put blast and ordnance weapons together but it is never clearly written that ordnance follows the rules of blast weapons with some specifications.

We currently play with ord NOT having partials here but i have nothing to back this up, neither do i have something to justify the use of partials.
__________________
5th ed W / D / L
Tau 0 / 0 / 0
Chaos 3 / 0 / 0
Tyranids 1 / 0 / 0
Imperial Guard 0 / 3 / 0
Orks 1 / 0 / 0
levincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Mar 2008, 20:17   #3 (permalink)
AC
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 751
Default Re: Quick Ordnance Question

I have wondered this myself. I've thought that there is partials.
__________________
Exitus Acta Probat "the Outcome justifies the Deed"
- Vindicare Assassin Temple Motto

There are three things that matter in marksmanship. Location, Location, Location - Vindicare Assassin Training Dogma.

I do not know what World War Three will be fought with, but I know that World War Four will be fought with sticks and stones - Albert Einstein

Semper Fi
AC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Mar 2008, 20:45   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,933
Default Re: Quick Ordnance Question

I am confused.

Did you mean that models hit with a blast marker, who are partially covered get to "jump out"?

You have the choice to rid your models from the squad, this was only ruled for so no one could ever snipe with an ordinance weapon.

So if 8 guys were hit, and wounded. Take out 8 men from the squad.
pepsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Mar 2008, 20:50   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 3,941
Default Re: Quick Ordnance Question

I think that applies to all blast markers. The rulebook is about 3ft away from me, but I can't be bothered to get up :P I'll edit this in a second... ;D
__________________
(C:/Dos)
(C:/Dos/Run)
(Run, Dos, Run!)
"Roses are #FF0000, violets are #0000FF, all my base are belong to you."

Quote:
Originally Posted by Circus
Circus: Yes well Bubgum we've been gradually establishing today that you're wrong
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anton
Anton: I placed the broom between my legs, engaged the engine, applied the gas and away I was.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timjim
I'm working on it, I'll even unclip the crotch flap so it swings
Bubgum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Mar 2008, 23:54   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 124
Default Re: Quick Ordnance Question

I've always considered them partials... I mean if troops can dodge out of the way of the light speed blasts of a Railgun submunition round, they should be able to dodge a Basilisk shot they'll hear coming from a ways of.
__________________
Lying in a featherbed will bring you no fame, nor staying beneath the quilt, and he who uses up his life without achieving fame leaves no more vestige of himself on Earth than smoke in the air or foam upon the water. ~Dante Alighieri

W L D
Tau 3 1 1
Space Marines 5 0 1
Tyranids 1 0 0
Dark Eldar 2 0 0
Pianoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Mar 2008, 12:39   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,645
Default Re: Quick Ordnance Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepsi
I am confused.

Did you mean that models hit with a blast marker, who are partially covered get to "jump out"?
Correct. The rulebook says that for blast markers, any models who are partially covered get a chance to jump out with a D6 roll. What I'd like to know is, is that only for blast weapons, or does also pertain to ordnance and barrages also?

Which makes me also wonder, for barrage weapons it says to use the hole to determine cover saves. I understand what they mean by that, but is this only for barrage weapons that this possible directional cover applies?
__________________
Thor{DoH} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Mar 2008, 13:22   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradford, W.Yorks
Posts: 759
Default Re: Quick Ordnance Question

I think this question has quite a few of us confused, me included.

I can't recall the exact wording of any of the rules for blast weapons so perhaps you could clarify for us.

My understanding: Models only partially covered are hit on a 4+. This is to represent them ducking out of the blast radius (i.e. jumping out as you call it)

Are you saying that this "jumping out" rule in IN ADDITION to rolling for partial hits, or is it just that you have worded it differently?
__________________
Plunder of Penn IX sample rules here: http://forums.tauonline.org/index.ph...c,88254.0.html

Extartius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Mar 2008, 13:38   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,645
Default Re: Quick Ordnance Question

My question is, are blast weapons the only weapons that allow for jumpers?
__________________
Thor{DoH} is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ordnance 1 question icer190 General 40K 7 23 Aug 2009 15:06
Ordnance Barrage question Unholy Harbinger General 40K 3 13 Jul 2009 21:09
Question Regarding Shooting of Ordnance Khalastas General 40K 3 05 Mar 2008 20:08
Power of the machine Spirit and Ordnance Question. Gamblor Space Marines 12 29 Feb 2008 09:58
Ordnance Question Shinsen General 40K 11 21 Jul 2006 17:49