Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Terminator Question
Reply
Old 16 Feb 2008, 01:42   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 526
Default Terminator Question

1). Do Terminators still use Initiative 1 when using Power/Chain Fists?

2). A Terminator has a Power Weapon and Storm Bolter. Does he still get an additional assault for having 2 Close Combat Weapons?

3). Can Terminators assault after firing Rapid Fire weapons or do the normal Rapid Fire rules apply to them as well?

ct_drummer_boi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Feb 2008, 02:14   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,933
Default Re: Terminator Question

question three, will make this many pages long.

but in short, fire once, then you can assault, fire twice, your out of luck.

chain fists, and power fists are the same thing (except in matters of tank busting.) so initiative 1

extra close combat weapon? I am not sure, you would think, but maybe you dont because terminator armor usually gives +1 attack anyways right?
pepsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Feb 2008, 02:15   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 8,194
Send a message via AIM to Vash113 Send a message via Yahoo to Vash113
Default Re: Terminator Question

1). If Terminator's are armed Power/Chain Fists, then they strike at Initiative 1.

2). Is a Storm Bolter a one handed weapon? It's not, so no extra cc attack.

3). If I recall correctly Terminators may still assault after firing heavy weapons and I think Rapid-Fire weapons as well, but I don't have my rulebook to check atm. However as for shooting once and twice if I remember correctly that was a 3rd Edition rule and no longer valid under 4th Edition.
__________________



Vash113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Feb 2008, 05:47   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amersham, Its in Buckinghamshire
Posts: 3,497
Default Re: Terminator Question

1. Yes, the powerfist entry says that the attacks are made at I 1 so they are. Wargear bonuses (or penalties) are not normally included in statlines.

2. No.

3. They can move and fire heavy weapons (and then charge) however neither the rulebook or codex actually allows them the same bonus for rapid fire weapons IIRC. Therefore, normal rules.
__________________
Hamletyä těralpeng Na'viru sngamä'eii. Til si ayoenghu mě http://bit.ly/53GnAB
The translation of Hamlet into Na'vi has started! Join with us at http://bit.ly/53GnAB


For more webcomics like this please visit my website.

http://www.tristanworld.com


or my deviant art account.
Omeganus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Feb 2008, 10:37   #5 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 11,122
Default Re: Terminator Question

IS there a rapid firing weapon in the terminators armoury??

Storm bolter - Assault
Cyclone missile - heavy
Assault cannon - heavy

Or have I missed one? If I haven't then terminators assaulting after rapid firing weapons is of no concern.
Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Feb 2008, 10:50   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,614
Default Re: Terminator Question

I may be completely wrong, but in the case of the terminator entry but the sarge has access to the armoury (?) giving him a combi bolter/ melta. - The bolter could be used rapid fire.
If not i guess a commander in terminator armour works the same.

Its been a while since i used terminators in an army list :-X
Thantos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Feb 2008, 11:00   #7 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 11,122
Default Re: Terminator Question

I don't have a marine codex with me (some git stole mine > ) so I can't really prove anything - but does th combi wepaon have a little * next to it so it can be taken in termi armour?

If you can, and you can't rapid fire with it. Just don't take it. Simple solution to a small problem.
Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Feb 2008, 11:14   #8 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 16,024
Default Re: Terminator Question

Actually, this problem is more complicated then that SILK. Chaos Terminators are armed with rapid fire weapons automatically in the list, so for Space Marines, it is pretty cut and dried, just don't take them, but for Chaos Terminators, the problem is harder to avoid...
FTyross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Feb 2008, 14:50   #9 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 70
Default Re: Terminator Question

1. answered by a lot of ppl, its Initiative1

2. am actually going to disagree with everyone so far here, since for terminators every thing ive seen suggests it actually is, the Dark Angels codex book actually has pictures of terminators firing a storm bolter 1 handed in it on on 2 seperate occasions. Not only that but on the termie' models its held 1 handed, so i personally dont see why you shouldnt get the +1 CC attack for 2 1-handed weapons

3. not sure about what other codex say but the DA one specifically says you can assault after firing rapid fire weapons (doesnt say only 1 shot just that you can), mabye thats a clarifaication they've only put into the newer codex books, but its definately there.
atherus shadowstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Feb 2008, 15:03   #10 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,098
Send a message via AIM to T pok Send a message via MSN to T pok
Default Re: Terminator Question

2. No, terminators do hold their storm bolters in one hand but that dosn't mean you get a bonus. In the rules an extra CC wepon gives you another attack, however assualt wepons (storm bloter) are not extra CC wepons therefore you do not get the extra attack.
__________________
http://mylifelm.wordpress.com/
Quote:
Originally Posted by Savon Saal
brave kid, i don't know if i could do that. whichever girl gets you for life is the luckiest in the world.
T pok is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Terminator Question trex238 Space Marines 30 04 Jun 2009 15:48
5th ED Terminator question Verfolgung Space Marines 3 10 May 2008 06:40
Terminator HQ Question Gamblor Space Marines 24 11 Feb 2008 05:15
Terminator bits question Aryakas Space Marines 1 13 Jan 2008 16:54
Terminator question Aun_shaun Space Marines 8 10 Dec 2006 20:58