Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Newbie Transport Question
Reply
Old 14 Feb 2008, 14:30   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 60
Default Newbie Transport Question

It's come up few times now so I figured I pitch to the experts (me and my friends are still new to the game).

If passengers disembark from a transport do they count as having moved that turn as far as shooting goes?
__________________
Side effects of reading my posts may include nausea, itching, oozing, burning, explosive diarrhea and/or loss of consciousess

92% of teens have moved onto rap. If you are part of the 8% that still listen to real music, copy and paste this into your signature.
Shades1802 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Feb 2008, 14:38   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 16,024
Default Re: Newbie Transport Question

I think so yes - but I can't confirm that (no rule book at the moment).
FTyross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Feb 2008, 14:44   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,554
Default Re: Newbie Transport Question

Yes, they do.
__________________
Friends don't let friends Jump Shoot Jump.
40kenthusiast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Feb 2008, 14:49   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 60
Default Re: Newbie Transport Question

Even if the transport has not moved that turn?
__________________
Side effects of reading my posts may include nausea, itching, oozing, burning, explosive diarrhea and/or loss of consciousess

92% of teens have moved onto rap. If you are part of the 8% that still listen to real music, copy and paste this into your signature.
Shades1802 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Feb 2008, 15:20   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 1,106
Default Re: Newbie Transport Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shades1802
Even if the transport has not moved that turn?
Yes.
__________________
IcyCool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Feb 2008, 15:24   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,098
Send a message via AIM to T pok Send a message via MSN to T pok
Default Re: Newbie Transport Question

No, if the transport moves they count as moving, if it does not move they count as stationary. It works the same way as if you are firing wepons from the hatch.

So No to the first Q and the second.
__________________
http://mylifelm.wordpress.com/
Quote:
Originally Posted by Savon Saal
brave kid, i don't know if i could do that. whichever girl gets you for life is the luckiest in the world.
T pok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Feb 2008, 15:57   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 1,106
Default Re: Newbie Transport Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by T pok
No, if the transport moves they count as moving, if it does not move they count as stationary. It works the same way as if you are firing wepons from the hatch.

So No to the first Q and the second.
Page 62 of the main rule book (last paragraph under the Disembarking section):

"After disembarking, models may shoot (counting as moving) but may not assault unless the vehicle has 'open-topped' noted in its profile, is a Land Raider (or one of its variants) or did not move before the passengers disembarked."

So yes, anytime you disembark, you count as moving for shooting purposes. It is important to note, however, that if the vehicle did NOT move, you could still move normally after disembarking (but you would still count as moving for shooting purposes even if you just disembarked, as per the paragraph above).
__________________
IcyCool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Feb 2008, 21:57   #8 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 11,122
Default Re: Newbie Transport Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shades1802
Even if the transport has not moved that turn?
Think of it along these lines - you need to move to get out of the vehicle. That includes the heavy weapon guys.
Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transport Question AndrewC General 40K 7 20 Oct 2009 06:16
Transport question ranzin927 Tau 6 27 Oct 2008 22:40
Transport question Radio-star Tau 8 12 Sep 2006 20:04
Transport Question SpacePuppy General 40K 4 09 Aug 2006 02:10
transport question Omen Imperial Guard 17 03 Feb 2006 12:42