Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Question on Breaking off?
Reply
Old 07 Feb 2008, 13:13   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,399
Default Question on Breaking off?

Ok you got a squad of Orks in Close Combat with a squad of Fire Warriors. At the end of the first round of Combat no models are in base to base anymore and the orks won. The tau pass their leadership test and stick around. The orks get their 3" consolidation and move back into CC with the Fire Warriors. Do the Fire Warriors and orks do a pile in move or do you consider this a new assualt where the orks would not get a charging bonus?
Hyena031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Feb 2008, 13:29   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,692
Default Re: Question on Breaking off?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyena031
Ok you got a squad of Orks in Close Combat with a squad of Fire Warriors. At the end of the first round of Combat no models are in base to base anymore and the orks won. The tau pass their leadership test and stick around.
If the Firewarriors don't flee, the winner of the combat piles in his models, then the Tau player would pile in any of his models which are not in Base to Base. Still the same combat.
__________________
Necron Battle Challenge Blog, Check it out!
Diplomacy Game thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Strange Child
Sigged.
He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And when you gaze long into an abyss,the abyss gazes also into you.
~Friedrich Nietzsche
Grindgobble Witherfume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Feb 2008, 16:02   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amersham, Its in Buckinghamshire
Posts: 3,497
Default Re: Question on Breaking off?

1. The orks don't get to consolidate 3", instead all models which aren't engaged pile in 6". Then the Fire warriors must pile in all unegaged models (not models which aren't base-base) 6".
__________________
Hamletyä těralpeng Na'viru sngamä'eii. Til si ayoenghu mě http://bit.ly/53GnAB
The translation of Hamlet into Na'vi has started! Join with us at http://bit.ly/53GnAB


For more webcomics like this please visit my website.

http://www.tristanworld.com


or my deviant art account.
Omeganus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Feb 2008, 18:26   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to Tralfagar Send a message via MSN to Tralfagar Send a message via Yahoo to Tralfagar
Default Re: Question on Breaking off?

Isn't there something special in the rules about not being able to get into b2b contact afterwards? For example, you have your 12 Fire Warriors spread in a line 2" apart(don't ask why). Orks charge, and kill all but 3(who are >1' away from the closest Ork). Fire Warriors move 6" forard, meanwhile, the closest Orc can only move 3", and those behind him will get to about 4". Would they still be considered to be in assault?
__________________
Home-Brewed
Tau Mercenary Rubric(Deadnight)
Warhammer 40k d10 Edition(Wargamer)
Codex: Farsight Enclaves(me)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeekyGator
The divide between what gets put up on an art gallery and what gets you thrown in jail is mostly dependent on the quality of the frame, even though both are just as good for fapping.
Tralfagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Feb 2008, 20:39   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 770
Default Re: Question on Breaking off?

First if neither side broke and ran, then each side would get a 6" pile-in move. This is not a consolidate move. It is also not effected by difficult terrain. In order for the two units not to make base to base contact in the pile in move the two closes models would have to be <12" apart.

If this is the case, then i think that each unit moves as close as possible but is then considered free from combat. They can therefor move and shoot normally.

Please keep in mind that this is not an easy situation to occur. For the most part both units would have to go at the same time, and both units kill everything in the kill zone. Even then I think it is hard to do.

JBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breaking bad? Tech_Marine Enclave Talk 9 15 Oct 2008 19:59
Breaking WYSIWYG Nightmare General 40K 28 24 Aug 2008 04:53
Breaking Apocalypse MikeH Expansions 6 15 Jun 2008 17:59
The Breaking of Evil GW Tau Fanatic Enclave Talk 8 27 May 2006 00:06