Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Consolidation question
Reply
Old 18 Jan 2008, 06:17   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,920
Default Consolidation question

This scenario came up tonight in game. End of turn 4 Farsight sweeping advanced Necron Warrior unit A and used his 3" consolidation move to engage Necron Warrior unit B. During top of turn 5; the next assault phase does a pile-in occur before the next assault phase or do the two units stay the way they were when Farsight consolidated into them?

0=Necron Warrior, (F) = Farsight

000
00000(F) or 00(F)00
0000 00

The way we played it was option two; I let them surround him. I just read the pile-in move again and the first paragraph says roughly "end of assault phase units locked pile in". Does that mean that at the end of the assault phase in turn 4 the Warriors pile in and surround him? I'm guessing that is the right way, but its never come up before.



scoutfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jan 2008, 07:21   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 378
Default Re: Consolidation question

I agree with your interpretation, pile-in moves should be performed after any consoildation moves. As far as I know.
Max Smirnov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jan 2008, 12:52   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,645
Default Re: Consolidation question

I could very well be wrong, but Pile In moves are done at the end of assault pertaining to locked models who aren't already engaged. In this case, where the Farsight consolidated into a new unit, starting a new assault, Pile In would not apply because it's a new assault. Pile In applies when an assault spans more then one turn. Such as, you charge in, assault is fought, neither side flees, then you Pile In with the locked but not engaged models.

Hopefully I'm making sense here. Basically, the consolidation into a new unit is treated as a new assault, minus the charge bonus, and you don't perform Pile In moves on new assaults.
__________________
Thor{DoH} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jan 2008, 13:00   #4 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Consolidation question

You can't pile in. I can't recall the precise justification since I don't the book here, but that is the way we have always played it in 4th Edition. It is the same deal as with charging. You don't normally get to move your own models when you are charged.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jan 2008, 13:34   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 770
Default Re: Consolidation question

Also Counter Charge does not work with a Pile in "Assault" either. They have to wait until the end of the next turn before they can pile in.
JBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jan 2008, 13:41   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,554
Default Re: Consolidation question

Khanaris and JBunny are correct. Pile In is part of the combat resolution steps.
__________________
Friends don't let friends Jump Shoot Jump.
40kenthusiast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Army Consolidation Mobius Tau Army Lists 2 08 Oct 2008 01:03
Someone explain the new consolidation rule Texibus Tau 6 16 Jul 2008 17:00
Consolidation/Pile In questions Nezalhualixtlan General 40K 10 17 Apr 2008 13:48
Chaos Demon Consolidation onto a building...A difficult rule situation RockoRobotics General 40K 2 14 Aug 2006 17:18