Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Cover and Armor saves
Reply
Old 16 Jan 2008, 04:21   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Au'taal Sept
Posts: 256
Default Cover and Armor saves

If a unit is in cover, and is hit by a weapon that has a lower ap value than their armor, do they still get to take an Armor save? The reason I ask is because I played my chaos opponent and I was firing at some marines in forest/jungle with sniper drones and he said because they are in cover, they still get there armor save regardless of the AP of the weapon. Is this true?
__________________
"Anything but a one and he is dead" *Rolls a one*
LtCmdrTyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Jan 2008, 04:27   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10,201
Send a message via AIM to Praying Mantidae Send a message via MSN to Praying Mantidae
Default Re: Cover and Armor saves

Well... not quite. Units get a cover save, which is invulnerable, replacing their normal armor save. He has to pick between the cover save or the unit's normal save.

Either he read the rule wrong, or he's trying to cheat you.
Praying Mantidae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Jan 2008, 04:28   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6,130
Default Re: Cover and Armor saves

Negative, you take a cover save(unless of course, you get hit with something that ignores that, like a flamer) INSTEAD of your armor save.

There's a table of appropriate armor saves in the book, but barring special rules/units, a cover save should not be better than 4+
__________________
Latest Project: Game Design Forums. Register now to get a low user ID, or reserve a forum for your own project.

My various opinions and tacticas, in article form: Ad clicks always appreciated.

Latest article topic: Video game design

Best free webhost Ive found yet: http://www.ultrawebsitehosting.com/2353.html
Tyndmyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Jan 2008, 04:31   #4 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Au'taal Sept
Posts: 256
Default Re: Cover and Armor saves

I stealth unit gets +1 to cover save so in a Bunker it would get a 2+ save.
__________________
"Anything but a one and he is dead" *Rolls a one*
LtCmdrTyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Jan 2008, 20:00   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Torontonia, Canadia
Posts: 79
Default Re: Cover and Armor saves

Example:

Crisis Suit (3+ Sv) equiped with a Shield Generator (4+ Invulnerable Sv) is hiding in a forest (5+ Cover Sv) gets shot at with a Plasma Gun (AP 1). Normally he would take a wound, but he can now choose to make 1 save, either his Invulnerable or his Cover. As the rules state you must take you best available save, he would roll a 4+ Invulnerable save. If he passes, great! If he fails, he cannot roll his cover save and thus takes a wound.
Lord Roke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jan 2008, 05:54   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,958
Default Re: Cover and Armor saves

There are 3 kinds of save: armor, cover, and invulnerable. The player controlling the model gets to choose which save to attempt out of the ones available. If a model is hit by a low enough AP weapon, then the armor save is not available, and he can try for one of the others. Some weapons, like the flamer or the Tau ABF ignore cover save, but you can still take one of the others. Generally, models with an invulnerable save can always take that one as a last resort, but there are a few strange weapons out there (usually psyker) that negate invulnerable saves. Whichever save you choose, you only get to roll once. You can't roll the cover save, fail it, and then fall back to the invulnerable.
knightperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jan 2008, 06:19   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,920
Default Re: Cover and Armor saves

By the way Stealth units do not get +1 to their cover save. Kroot get that if they are in woods.
scoutfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jan 2008, 06:54   #8 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amersham, Its in Buckinghamshire
Posts: 3,497
Default Re: Cover and Armor saves

wrong scoutfox, if you have to universal special rule "stealth" which is what LtCmdrTyler is referring to you do get +1 to all cover saves.
__________________
Hamletyä těralpeng Na'viru sngamä'eii. Til si ayoenghu mě http://bit.ly/53GnAB
The translation of Hamlet into Na'vi has started! Join with us at http://bit.ly/53GnAB


For more webcomics like this please visit my website.

http://www.tristanworld.com


or my deviant art account.
Omeganus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jan 2008, 09:18   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,920
Default Re: Cover and Armor saves

Under special rules for Stealths it only lists Infiltrate and Stealth Armor. Under stealth armor it states the suits are granted Acute Senses and Deep Strike, but it says nothing about "stealth". There is also nothing mentioned about the "stealth" special rule under the stealth field generator portion of the wargear section on page 27.

Seems like they would get it, but I don't see it written in black and white. Are there other units, in other armies, that have "stealth" mentioned specifically in the special rules section? I would love nothing better than to have my XV15's getting a better cover save, but I don't see it specifically mentioned in the Codex. Until I someone convinces me otherwise I will keep my stealth team behind cover, instead of inside it.
scoutfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Jan 2008, 09:14   #10 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amersham, Its in Buckinghamshire
Posts: 3,497
Default Re: Cover and Armor saves

Who said he was talking about stealth suit teams, he simply said stealth units which from the context refers to, I think obviuously, units with the stealth special rule.
__________________
Hamletyä těralpeng Na'viru sngamä'eii. Til si ayoenghu mě http://bit.ly/53GnAB
The translation of Hamlet into Na'vi has started! Join with us at http://bit.ly/53GnAB


For more webcomics like this please visit my website.

http://www.tristanworld.com


or my deviant art account.
Omeganus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vehicle Cover Saves. The Man They Call Jayne Tau 22 22 Mar 2010 05:54
Going to ground and Cover Saves. AndrewC General 40K 2 02 Aug 2009 23:04
Seeker Cover saves. Tyndmyr Tau 6 08 Oct 2008 08:12
Cover Saves Thor{DoH} General 40K 1 11 Jan 2008 20:24
Cover saves Tau-killer House Rules 17 06 May 2005 18:26