Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Characters attached to squads; Question.
Reply
Old 11 Jan 2008, 18:38   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plymouth UK
Posts: 306
Default Characters attached to squads; Question.

Example; I have a chaplain with a jump pack lead an assault squad. The squad takes one wound from a plasma weapon. Can i (the owner of the assault squad) allocate that wound to the chaplain to make use of his invulnerable save or does it have to be allocated to the squad?

Thanks in advance!
__________________
And they shall know no fear



bluenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Jan 2008, 18:42   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Intranet
Posts: 161
Default Re: Characters attached to squads; Question.

If the Chaplain gets wounded, all new wounds (from then on, the entire game) must be placed on the Chaplain, until he dies. I wouldn't recommend this,

DON'T think of it as "extra wounds for my squad", think of it as "make my Chaplain die sooner"

I'm not a Rules Lawyer but I'm 95% sure this is how it is.
__________________
Jormungard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Jan 2008, 20:15   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,958
Default Re: Characters attached to squads; Question.

I've been in debates about this at my local store, and we never manage to settle it. My opinion is that the Creatures With More Than One Wound rule (finishing off a multi-wound model before you start wounding another one) applies only when you have more than one multi-wound model in the squad. In the case of a single multi-wound model (like your chaplain or a kroot shaper) you can assign the wounds however you want. Of course, if you take the invulnerable save and fail, that wound must be applied to the chaplain. You can't apply it to a model without the invulnerable.
knightperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Jan 2008, 20:21   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 622
Send a message via AIM to Nuke
Default Re: Characters attached to squads; Question.

I'm rather sure that Knightperson has got it down correctly. The only reason I've ever used that rule would by Crisis suit squads, but I'm fairly sure that if there are single wound models around that you are allowed to remove them, unless there are multple multi-wound models in the unit, or something like that.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words, but a well-constructed sentence is worth a thousand pictures" -Use spell check, it's there for a reason.

"He who opens a school door, closes a prison." -Victor Hugo
Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Jan 2008, 20:37   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Niagara Falls
Posts: 1,513
Send a message via MSN to Hoarday
Default Re: Characters attached to squads; Question.

Yea, I'd interpret it the same way. The rules only require (IIRC) that you remove whole models. That rule was obviously meant to stop players from spreading wounds throughout a squad of multi-wound models and enver actually losing anyone. You can apply wounds to whoever you want at first, but then if you didn't want to in the future, you could remove an assault marine seeing as he only has one wound, so you can still fulfill the necessity of removing whole models.
__________________
We Will Hold The Line With Blood and Bullets
Hoarday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2008, 13:10   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,741
Default Re: Characters attached to squads; Question.

Why must these threads always get more confusing than they have to be? If you wound a model, you keep wounding it until he's dead. No, your heroes cannot be ablative wounds for your squad, you're only expedienting the doom of your own HQ choice. It's just wrong anyway: "Quick, we're under fire, everyone hide behind Chappy!". :P
Droids_Rule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2008, 20:06   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amersham, Its in Buckinghamshire
Posts: 3,497
Default Re: Characters attached to squads; Question.

The other thing is that if the squad takes a plasma gun wound then you save on the majority save so you don't get one even if you then take the wound on the chaplain.

You can alocate the wound wherever you want but it doesn't effect the save you get to take.
__________________
Hamletyä těralpeng Na'viru sngamä'eii. Til si ayoenghu mě http://bit.ly/53GnAB
The translation of Hamlet into Na'vi has started! Join with us at http://bit.ly/53GnAB


For more webcomics like this please visit my website.

http://www.tristanworld.com


or my deviant art account.
Omeganus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Jan 2008, 16:12   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 770
Default Re: Characters attached to squads; Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Grand Seer
The other thing is that if the squad takes a plasma gun wound then you save on the majority save so you don't get one even if you then take the wound on the chaplain.

You can alocate the wound wherever you want but it doesn't effect the save you get to take.
The Chaplin and the Assault squad all have the same save. However, if you place the wound on the Chaplin he would get his Inv Save. Just because the rest of the squad does not have an Inc Save does not mean the Chaplin looses his.

Druids-Rule:

You might want to reread the section in the rule book about wounds. You can place a wound on the chaplin, and then later take a wound on somebody else. As long as the other model only had 1 wound, and no-one else had multiply wounds. If one other model, say a Librian, with multiple wounds was in the squad as well, then you would have to keep placing wounds on the chaplin until he was dead.
JBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Jan 2008, 16:49   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amersham, Its in Buckinghamshire
Posts: 3,497
Default Re: Characters attached to squads; Question.

No, the chaplain does not get an invulnerable save due to the majority armour save rule, you cannot take the wound on the chaplain and take an invulnerable save.

__________________
Hamletyä těralpeng Na'viru sngamä'eii. Til si ayoenghu mě http://bit.ly/53GnAB
The translation of Hamlet into Na'vi has started! Join with us at http://bit.ly/53GnAB


For more webcomics like this please visit my website.

http://www.tristanworld.com


or my deviant art account.
Omeganus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Jan 2008, 17:12   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,554
Default Re: Characters attached to squads; Question.

TGS, read the rule carefully. The majority armor save rule is pretty clearly written. The book goes into detail about exactly how wounds are allocated and saves are taken. You are wrong.
__________________
Friends don't let friends Jump Shoot Jump.
40kenthusiast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about Fortune cast on a unit with an IC attached loeldrad Craftworld Eldar 16 07 Jan 2010 20:44
Attached characters in a command squad led by a special character Tom Norman Space Marines 4 04 Nov 2006 15:53
Characters can join Squads... can Squads join Characters? AuinMyrrath General 40K 5 03 Oct 2006 00:13
Do you name your squads, vehicles and characters? crisis_vyper General 40K 64 15 Sep 2006 19:24
Units with attached/leading characters - What's their total unit strength? Tom Norman General 40K 4 29 Jul 2006 15:30