Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Special Character Assault Question.
Reply
Old 06 Dec 2007, 14:56   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 770
Default Special Character Assault Question.

I looked through the boards and could not find this question.

Lets assume that am independent character is attached to a squad of 5. An enemy unit moves up and shots said squad. The enemy inflicts 5 unsaved wounds on the squad. All wounds are placed on the squad of 5 leaving just the independent character.

Can the enemy squad assault the independent character?

I say no because since he is now an independent character, he is his own unit. The enemy unit fired at an unit that is no longer there, so therefor they are not allowed to assault anyone.

What does everyone else think?
JBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Dec 2007, 15:05   #2 (permalink)
Kai
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manchester - UK
Posts: 666
Default Re: Special Character Assault Question.

I'd say yes, because at the time they engaged firing at him he was attatched to the squad so they counted as the same target. Hence that was the target engaged in the shooting phase, which comprised of both the squad and the character, The targetting squad would have the ability to charge both.

By the logic your applying the player recieving the hits could opt to take 2 (or 3 or whatever) wounds on the character, kill it outright and then say the remaining squad was no longer elligable to recieve an assault so long as no wounds carried over to the rest of the squad.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by †Methelas†
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai
Quote:
Originally Posted by †Methelas†
The Titan is not a human, therefore has no genitals!
My subtle diagram disagrees with you.
your "subtle" diagram contains Optimus Prime and Proffessor Farnsworth, it's heresy in it's own right!
Any similarities between your reality and mine are purely coincidental...
Kai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Dec 2007, 15:13   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 770
Default Re: Special Character Assault Question.

Actually that is not the logic I am using. The squad is shooting a squad that the character is attached to. If I was to take all wounds on the character then the squad they shot at is still on the board.

However, in my case the squad is destroyed, and the character becomes an independent character again. He in effect becomes a new unit.

At least this is my logic, and I am looking for rules either way.
JBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Dec 2007, 15:16   #4 (permalink)
Kai
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manchester - UK
Posts: 666
Default Re: Special Character Assault Question.

My point is they count as the same squad when the shooting is declared and resolved. Ergo both units have effectively been targetted in the shooting phase and even if the character reverts back to his IC status he is still elligable as he was still targeted by association with the squad that have just snuffed it.

What you've said doesn't change that.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by †Methelas†
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai
Quote:
Originally Posted by †Methelas†
The Titan is not a human, therefore has no genitals!
My subtle diagram disagrees with you.
your "subtle" diagram contains Optimus Prime and Proffessor Farnsworth, it's heresy in it's own right!
Any similarities between your reality and mine are purely coincidental...
Kai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Dec 2007, 17:29   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Niagara Falls
Posts: 1,513
Send a message via MSN to Hoarday
Default Re: Special Character Assault Question.

I had always assumed that if you wiped out on squad with shooting you could then charge a different squad, but I can't find that in the rulebook. :-\
__________________
We Will Hold The Line With Blood and Bullets
Hoarday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Dec 2007, 18:01   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 770
Default Re: Special Character Assault Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoarday
I had always assumed that if you wiped out on squad with shooting you could then charge a different squad, but I can't find that in the rulebook. :-\
That is not the case. If you shoot a transport and blow it up you can not assault the troops in side. Even though the transport was a part of the squad.
JBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Dec 2007, 18:28   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: HULL- UK
Posts: 5,130
Send a message via MSN to Dezart Fox
Default Re: Special Character Assault Question.

if you manage to shoot down a squad a character is attached too you can't assault the character, he's a separate unit for close combat. hence why you can only attach him if your in base combat, when you charge a squad with a character you are technically charging two squads, the character and unit, but as the character is with the unit they only make one break test
__________________


Dezart Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Dec 2007, 18:33   #8 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Special Character Assault Question.

Your opponent fired at both units (although they were acting as a single unit at the time), so your opponent can charge both units. The Independent Character does not become a new unit if the rest of a squad he has joined dies. He simply reverts back to a different set of rules. They are two units for the purposes of close-combat, but the opponent fired at both them, so they can both be charged (and in this case, the survivor of the two units can be charged).

You are actually not allowed to take all the wounds on the character, as per the Mixed Armor rules. And if your opponent had managed 6 wounding hits instead of 5, one would have gone on the character.

So yes, your opponent can still charge the IC, even if all the models but the IC are killed.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Dec 2007, 18:38   #9 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: HULL- UK
Posts: 5,130
Send a message via MSN to Dezart Fox
Default Re: Special Character Assault Question.

he can only be charged if the enemy unit caused enough wounding hits to allocate one on him, thats how i see it, or if the owning player decides to take a save on him
__________________


Dezart Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Dec 2007, 19:50   #10 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Special Character Assault Question.

Based on what? If I fire a squad of Orks at a basic unit of Space Marines, and score no wounding hits, can I still charge? How many wounds you cause (and on which models) has nothing to do with this.

The rules state that if you fire in the Shooting Phase, you can only charge a unit that you fired at in the Assault Phase. In the initial example, you are firing at both the IC and the unit he has joined, since both are capable of taking wounds. Thus, both are eligible to be charged, even if one is destroyed by your shooting.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Special Character Question: Vulkan and Chapter Tactics Damian_Alpha Space Marines 3 15 Feb 2010 18:12
Zso Sahaal Character Rules- 1st Time Creating a Special Character Odo The Brave House Rules 4 14 Dec 2009 07:45
Shas'O R'Myr: A not so special Special Character (But a good buy!) Jedibean Tau 8 05 Nov 2008 05:14
Need help with a quick special character question... DanielSon General 40K 25 25 Mar 2008 19:48
Best New Special Character Black Behemoth Tau 33 19 Apr 2006 21:17