Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Tank Shock / Fall Back Question
Reply
Old 06 Dec 2007, 00:59   #1 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 7,663
Default Tank Shock / Fall Back Question

Hello all. Let me begin by stating that, yes, this question is powergamey and, no, I don't care. :P I've had trouble winning with my Eldar army and a little bit of cheese might be just the thing to compensate for my tactical ineptness.

1) Can you tank shock units who are locked in combat? I see no reason why you could not. However, I might be missing something.

2) If the answer to (1) is yes, then do units who fall back from a tank shock count as falling back from combat? I am wondering if they would then be subject to the sweeping advance rules on p. 43.

3) If (not in the case of skimmers, of course) a unit were tank shocked with no "way out" of the tank shock because they began locked in combat and had a tank "tank shock" from behind, will the unit count as destroyed because of the fall back rules on p. 48?

I know similar discussions have occurred before. But I do not remember these specific questions being raised.

Thanks in advance.
Em
Farseer_Emlyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Dec 2007, 01:03   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: EVERYWHERE!!!! But mostly England
Posts: 244
Default Re: Tank Shock / Fall Back Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer_Emlyn
Hello all. Let me begin by stating that, yes, this question is powergamey and, no, I don't care. :P I've had trouble winning with my Eldar army and a little bit of cheese might be just the thing to compensate for my tactical ineptness.

1) Can you tank shock units who are locked in combat? I see no reason why you could not. However, I might be missing something.

2) If the answer to (1) is yes, then do units who fall back from a tank shock count as falling back from combat? I am wondering if they would then be subject to the sweeping advance rules on p. 43.

3) If (not in the case of skimmers, of course) a unit were tank shocked with no "way out" of the tank shock because they began locked in combat and had a tank "tank shock" from behind, will the unit count as destroyed because of the fall back rules on p. 48?

I know similar discussions have occurred before. But I do not remember these specific questions being raised.

Thanks in advance.
Em
1. I Would believe that it holds the rules as shooting into combat. You could run over your guys. re-read the bit in the rules on shooting into combats. :P

2. nope. you can't do it :P

3. nope. you can't do it :P
__________________
Add Please and Listen. It would mean a bundle to us!

http://www.myspace.com/everyoceanstide

Wayward_Wanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Dec 2007, 03:48   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Fort Collins Colorado
Posts: 882
Default Re: Tank Shock / Fall Back Question

Quote:
3) If (not in the case of skimmers, of course) a unit were tank shocked with no "way out" of the tank shock because they began locked in combat and had a tank "tank shock" from behind, will the unit count as destroyed because of the fall back rules on p. 48?
I know this was in an FAQ and they said if a unit being tank shocked has no room to fall back, then the tank stops to leave room. I'm trying to remember where I found the link to the FAQ. I'll post it when I do.
__________________
When you wish upon a star, your wish may come true. Unless that star is a meteorite hurtling towards the earth. In that case you're just screwed; unless you wished for death by meteorite.
Commander_Vimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Dec 2007, 08:57   #4 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 7,663
Default Re: Tank Shock / Fall Back Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayward_Wanderer

1. I Would believe that it holds the rules as shooting into combat. You could run over your guys. re-read the bit in the rules on shooting into combats. :P
Except that's not what the Tank Shock rule says. It never says to treat it like shooting into combat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commander_Vimes
I know this was in an FAQ and they said if a unit being tank shocked has no room to fall back, then the tank stops to leave room. I'm trying to remember where I found the link to the FAQ. I'll post it when I do.
Sounds like a GW-esque FAQ. A link would be great, though. I checked the most recent FAQ and didn't see anything in it pertaining to these questions.
Thanks,
Em
Farseer_Emlyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Dec 2007, 10:31   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: EVERYWHERE!!!! But mostly England
Posts: 244
Default Re: Tank Shock / Fall Back Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer_Emlyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayward_Wanderer

1. I Would believe that it holds the rules as shooting into combat. You could run over your guys. re-read the bit in the rules on shooting into combats. :P
Except that's not what the Tank Shock rule says. It never says to treat it like shooting into combat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commander_Vimes
I know this was in an FAQ and they said if a unit being tank shocked has no room to fall back, then the tank stops to leave room. I'm trying to remember where I found the link to the FAQ. I'll post it when I do.
Sounds like a GW-esque FAQ. A link would be great, though. I checked the most recent FAQ and didn't see anything in it pertaining to these questions.
Thanks,
Em
well this is just me being an ass, because i'm assuming. :P

I assume it would be the same. Because if they can't shoot into combat where they could shoot their buddies, they why would they be allowed to drive a 300 ton tank straight into the same conflict, where they could run them down.
__________________
Add Please and Listen. It would mean a bundle to us!

http://www.myspace.com/everyoceanstide

Wayward_Wanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Dec 2007, 11:04   #6 (permalink)
Kai
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manchester - UK
Posts: 666
Default Re: Tank Shock / Fall Back Question

It wouldnt really make sense. A tank has to bear down on a unit with the intent of crushing it to inflict tank shock. The idea that you could do this and not affect your own troops (selectively targetting the enamy in a melee, with a fast moving vehicle) seems absolutely retarded. So I would say that you certainly wouldnt get a crossfire or sweeping advance, as both units would have to suffer the effects of the shocking.

A good clarification might be to look up what it says about vehicles movement. Although I would argue to tank shock my troops, you would have to tank shock your own.

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by †Methelas†
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai
Quote:
Originally Posted by †Methelas†
The Titan is not a human, therefore has no genitals!
My subtle diagram disagrees with you.
your "subtle" diagram contains Optimus Prime and Proffessor Farnsworth, it's heresy in it's own right!
Any similarities between your reality and mine are purely coincidental...
Kai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Dec 2007, 13:45   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,554
Default Re: Tank Shock / Fall Back Question

Forgetting for a second about the tank shocking into combat question.

The FAQ folks are referring to is the UK GT faq, the most recent one. Google will find it for you.

As for the falling back, the only time you are destroyed in a fallback move is if you can't move the whole distance without doubling back. However, if you fell back from combat your enemies would be eligible for a sweeping advance test.
__________________
Friends don't let friends Jump Shoot Jump.
40kenthusiast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Dec 2007, 22:11   #8 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 7,663
Default Re: Tank Shock / Fall Back Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayward_Wanderer
I assume it would be the same. Because if they can't shoot into combat where they could shoot their buddies, they why would they be allowed to drive a 300 ton tank straight into the same conflict, where they could run them down.
Understood. But the rule does say "enemy units". So it wouldn't effect friendly units.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai
It wouldn't really make sense. A tank has to bear down on a unit with the intent of crushing it to inflict tank shock. The idea that you could do this and not affect your own troops (selectively targeting the enemy in a melee, with a fast moving vehicle) seems absolutely retarded. So I would say that you certainly wouldn't get a crossfire or sweeping advance, as both units would have to suffer the effects of the shocking.

A good clarification might be to look up what it says about vehicles movement. Although I would argue to tank shock my troops, you would have to tank shock your own.
No, it wouldn't make sense. But there are many things in the 40K rules that don't make sense. But Skimmers (for instance) can move over friends (and enemy) troops. So movement wouldn't apply. Likewise, if you came from behind the melee, you could catch only enemy troops for tracked vehicles.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 40kenthusiast
As for the falling back, the only time you are destroyed in a fallback move is if you can't move the whole distance without doubling back. However, if you fell back from combat your enemies would be eligible for a sweeping advance test.
That's sorta what I thought. But the question is whether falling back from combat means falling back away from a combat or falling back because of combat.
Farseer_Emlyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Dec 2007, 07:47   #9 (permalink)
Kai
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manchester - UK
Posts: 666
Default Re: Tank Shock / Fall Back Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer_Emlyn

No, it wouldn't make sense. But there are many things in the 40K rules that don't make sense. But Skimmers (for instance) can move over friends (and enemy) troops. So movement wouldn't apply. Likewise, if you came from behind the melee, you could catch only enemy troops for tracked vehicles.
That assumes both squads form and orderly line and take turns hitting each other ala ro-sham-bo. A melee is a squirly mass of combat with everyone intermixed, no matter how the models end up representing it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by †Methelas†
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai
Quote:
Originally Posted by †Methelas†
The Titan is not a human, therefore has no genitals!
My subtle diagram disagrees with you.
your "subtle" diagram contains Optimus Prime and Proffessor Farnsworth, it's heresy in it's own right!
Any similarities between your reality and mine are purely coincidental...
Kai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Dec 2007, 09:43   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,295
Default Re: Tank Shock / Fall Back Question

GW guy says you can't tank shock a unit in CC.

But then again he thinks skimmers cant tank shock. o.0
Vendak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tank shock IC question razgriz_cipher General 40K 13 15 Aug 2008 11:53
Eldar Tank Problems - Tank Shock Faolin Tau 21 09 Apr 2008 03:11
How does tank shock work against a unit thats already falling back? Shades1802 General 40K 12 14 Dec 2007 19:58
Quick rules question about the meatgrinding tank shock tactic. enderwiggin General 40K 5 02 Aug 2007 18:52
Tank Shock question Gim General 40K 3 10 Feb 2005 18:58