Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Sweeping Advances - kinda broke?
Old 05 Nov 2007, 16:04   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Send a message via AIM to Shas-o Y-eldi-he
Default Sweeping Advances - kinda broke?

Well, I'm relatively new to 40k. I've owned an army for about 2 years now, but only really started playing this year.

Anyway, from what I've come to understand, the Sweeping Advance rule was one of the new rules that came with 4th Ed. Now personally, I think the rule is sorta broke - most specifically against armies not geared for assault.

A scenario, for example, Tau vs. Marines. A squad of Fire Warriors will pick off a few kills on a squad of Marines before they close into charge range. Lets say the Fire Warriors get lucky and pick off all but the Sergeant, who'll probably have a power weapon of some kind or another. Now the Serge is in charging range, does so, and in all probability will win combat, taking out a couple of Fire Warriors. In all probability, the FW's should pass their leadership, but there's still a pretty big percentage that they won't at Ld. 8.

So lets say they fail leadership and fall back. I2 vs. I5. If my opponent rolls a 1, I have a 50/50 chance of making it out of combat. Again, likelyhood is that the Marine will catch me. All of a sudden, a single model has just wiped an entire squadron.

To me, that just seems crazy. I could see sweeping advances working if the squad winning combat outnumbered the squad falling back, but the fact that a single model can wipe an entire squad just pushes it.

That's my reasoning, anyway. I wanted to bring this up to see what you vets have to say about it.
Shas-o Y-eldi-he is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Nov 2007, 16:11   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O

Send a message via AIM to Gatler Send a message via MSN to Gatler
Default Re: Sweeping Advances - kinda broke?

There's already been a thread on this; use the Search function.