Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Orks with 2 one-handed weapons. Is it legal? Y/N?
Reply
Old 22 Oct 2007, 00:43   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Default Orks with 2 one-handed weapons. Is it legal? Y/N?

Hello, I'm a new guy and I got a question which I couldn't find with 'Search'.

If I stick 2 Sluggas on an Ork, is it a Slugga or Shoota Boy? I was thinking of making some wielding 2 sluggas, but looking through the Codex, it doesn't really mention anything if people can or can't just give 2 sluggas or choppas to an Ork.

So am I able to do it or is it against the rules?
Musk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Oct 2007, 01:26   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,741
Default Re: Orks with 2 one-handed weapons. Is it legal? Y/N?

Well you can make it 'counts as'. Model a mini as you wish and just use the rules for another mini. A friend of mine has a squad of Assault Marines, one of which dual-wielding pistols and another with dual chainswords, we just count them as equipped as the rest of the squad.

In the hardback rulebook, on the page displaying the Ork's history and some models, there is a Bad Moons Shoota Boy carrying two Sluggas. I'm sure you could use him as a Slugga or a Shoota Boy.
Droids_Rule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Oct 2007, 01:54   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Orks with 2 one-handed weapons. Is it legal? Y/N?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Droids_Rule
Well you can make it 'counts as'. Model a mini as you wish and just use the rules for another mini. A friend of mine has a squad of Assault Marines, one of which dual-wielding pistols and another with dual chainswords, we just count them as equipped as the rest of the squad.
That seems logical, I was thinking of having a few other equipped with axes, so it balances out I guess.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Droids_Rule
In the hardback rulebook, on the page displaying the Ork's history and some models, there is a Bad Moons Shoota Boy carrying two Sluggas. I'm sure you could use him as a Slugga or a Shoota Boy.
Hmm, tough to decide which to count it as, seeing that he has two handguns, it won't have that far of a reach
but he'll be able to shoot more I would think. I guess he would be a Shoota boy, though with less range.

Thanks for the help, I might just do it.
Musk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Oct 2007, 02:04   #4 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,460
Default Re: Orks with 2 one-handed weapons. Is it legal? Y/N?

I belive that you can do either form the BBB. I know you could take 2 choppas if codex legal, counts as a +1 ccw. 2 shootas, however, I don't think would work, as infantry models can only use one weapon at a time.
GeekyGator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Oct 2007, 02:31   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Orks with 2 one-handed weapons. Is it legal? Y/N?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeekyGator
I belive that you can do either form the BBB. I know you could take 2 choppas if codex legal, counts as a +1 ccw. 2 shootas, however, I don't think would work, as infantry models can only use one weapon at a time.
Shootas? No no, I said Sluggas. Two pistols in at the same time, not the large machine guns.
Musk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Oct 2007, 06:13   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amersham, Its in Buckinghamshire
Posts: 3,497
Default Re: Orks with 2 one-handed weapons. Is it legal? Y/N?

it still applies unfortunately, you can only fire 1 gun at a time. (if you're infantry)
__________________
Hamletyä těralpeng Na'viru sngamä'eii. Til si ayoenghu mě http://bit.ly/53GnAB
The translation of Hamlet into Na'vi has started! Join with us at http://bit.ly/53GnAB


For more webcomics like this please visit my website.

http://www.tristanworld.com


or my deviant art account.
Omeganus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Oct 2007, 06:55   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,035
Default Re: Orks with 2 one-handed weapons. Is it legal? Y/N?

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Grand Seer
it still applies unfortunately, you can only fire 1 gun at a time. (if you're infantry)
Unless you have a multitracker but that is only Tau.
__________________
I have walked the edge of the Abyss.
I have governed the unwilling.
I have witnessed countless empires break before me.
I have seen the most courageous soldiers fall away in fear.
[I was there with the Angel at the tomb]

I have seen your future.
And I have learned.

There will be no more Sadness. No more Anger. No more Envy.

I HAVE WON.
Oh, and your poet Eliot had it all wrong: THIS is the way the world ends. a friend of a friend (The First Cortana Letter) R.I.P KJ
freezing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Oct 2007, 08:11   #8 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Orks with 2 one-handed weapons. Is it legal? Y/N?

Hang on...


You lot have forgotten the key thing here; it's the ORKS we're talking about!

Ork Gunz only work half the time, and even then they rarely work how they're supposed to. a Slugga is, basically, a club that shoots people. As such, you're more than welcome to make a Slugga Boy with two Sluggaz; he's obviously got lots of Teef to splash around, and on his way to Flash Git status!

However, rulewise he'd count as having a Slugga and Choppa.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Oct 2007, 13:25   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,645
Default Re: Orks with 2 one-handed weapons. Is it legal? Y/N?

To expand on Wargamer's post, I'd even consider attaching a choppa blade to the slugga like an Orky bayonet to make the "counts as choppa" more clear.
__________________
Thor{DoH} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Oct 2007, 18:56   #10 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Orks with 2 one-handed weapons. Is it legal? Y/N?

You know, those ideas aren't so bad. I think I'll make one like that with a bayonnet, thanks!
Musk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arms holding 2 handed weapons Hoarday Conversion 8 29 Sep 2008 21:54
Double Two handed weapons. Funshade General 40K 3 21 Jun 2007 00:42
what's the deal with bikes, 2 handed weapons, and 2 one handed weapons? Knight Actual General 40K 16 21 Mar 2007 21:12
2 handed weapons KGB50 Imperial Guard 9 11 Jul 2006 22:54
Any legal way of using orks in a chaos army? 07mikevick07 Forces of Chaos 5 18 Mar 2006 05:30