Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Skimmer transports
Reply
Old 19 Oct 2007, 18:14   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 770
Default Skimmer transports

Quick question.

Lets say I have a open topped skimmer transport (Dark Eldar). I want to move into the center of area terrain (woods). If I want to disembark the troops, Do I have to make a test for the Skimmer moving through difficult terrian, OR can the skimmer hoover over the woods and still disembark the troops?

Thanks in advance
JBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Oct 2007, 18:18   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 327
Send a message via AIM to gerrylum
Default Re: Skimmer transports

I don't think there's anything that specifically says that a skimmer that's hovering over terrain can't disembark its troops, so I would venture a guess that it's fine.
__________________
gerrylum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Oct 2007, 22:31   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 3,435
Default Re: Skimmer transports

I agree.

After reading through the CoD-setting (where it is NOT possible - hence the special equipment for your Skimmers), I`ve read the BBB - and in there, there`s no mention of it not being possible.

So: Normal Games: No problem

CoD: You need to buy the special upgrade.
CmdrBonesaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Oct 2007, 14:09   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 770
Default Re: Skimmer transports

Thanks, this can up last week when I was playing Dark Eldar. She moved into woods and made the difficult terrian test and rolled a one. I did not even think about her not having to take the test until after I got home that night. The only thing it did to her was make her lose a cheap transport, but I like to play by the rules even when it hurts me.
JBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Oct 2007, 16:27   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 3,435
Default Re: Skimmer transports

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBunny
Thanks, this can up last week when I was playing Dark Eldar. She moved into woods and made the difficult terrian test and rolled a one. I did not even think about her not having to take the test until after I got home that night. The only thing it did to her was make her lose a cheap transport, but I like to play by the rules even when it hurts me.
I applaude your attitude. In the end, though, strictly playing according to the rules often pays off, too, becazse you have "morale high ground" when trying to enforce a similar obedience of the rules in your opponents

Cheers,
-Bone
CmdrBonesaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Regarding Skimmer Transports and Shooting LOS Semaj7 General 40K 2 04 Mar 2009 00:35
Skimmer Question oldwolfplayer General 40K 12 27 May 2007 16:48
Skimmer Walls Hellbender Tau 26 09 Feb 2007 21:29
Another skimmer question... 24mech Tau 5 31 May 2006 16:30
skimmer LOS Crisis 541 Tau 1 06 Nov 2005 22:19