Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

infiltration?
Reply
Old 08 Oct 2007, 20:43   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 11
Default infiltration?

hey i have read the rules about infiltration but i didnt completey get it and so would you be able to explain to me and my friend who has just started how it works?...
matt 2403 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Oct 2007, 20:45   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Behind you
Posts: 19,399
Send a message via MSN to ForbiddenKnowledge
Default Re: infiltration?

Its pretty straight forward. What part do you not get, and I'll try and explain it better.
__________________
[quote]Thou shalt not crave thy neighbour

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim.
Rafe is damn sexy once he gets into his night attire.
ForbiddenKnowledge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Oct 2007, 21:17   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 11
Default Re: infiltration?

the way they get to move before the game starts...?
matt 2403 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Oct 2007, 21:21   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 770
Default Re: infiltration?

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt 2403
the way they get to move before the game starts...?
Only units with the Scout special rule gets this ability. Infiltrators do not always get this ability, ie Space Marine Scouts.

But for units that receive this ability, before determining who goes first, those units get on free move as if it is the movement phase of your turn.
JBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Oct 2007, 21:25   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 11
Default Re: infiltration?

i think kroot get this. so they get a normal move the next go as well the 'free move' before the game starts?
matt 2403 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Oct 2007, 21:26   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: infiltration?

I think you are confusing the 'Infiltrate' rule with the 'Scout' rule. both are very different:

Scout: you place a scout unit on the table before any other troops (I think you must place it in your deployment zone though). Once all the troops are place you can more it once up to 6" before the order of play is determine and turn starts.

Infiltrate: you place an infiltration unit last on the table. It can be anywhere you want as long as you respect the folloing guide line:
- if you have line of sight with your enemy, you must keep at least 18" between you and your enemy.
- if you do not have line of sight with your enemy you can place it as close as 12" of your enemy's line

For the tau. Kroot (without krootox) and stealth suit follow the infiltration rule. Pathfinder the scout rule.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Oct 2007, 21:30   #7 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 11
Default Re: infiltration?

rite thanks for that. also my friend was just asking me about deep strike as well. he knows how you do it but forgot what turn you can come in on and the dice roll you need?
matt 2403 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Oct 2007, 21:34   #8 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: infiltration?

Deepstrike can be done starting on the 2nd turn if I recall well. You basically decide where you will drop and place and place a marker. then you roll a scatter dice and 1 or 2 d6 (need to look it up) to see how far and in which direction you missed the mark (or not). then you put your fiest model in and all the other must touch base with it.

Keep in mind that the pathfinder's devilfish allow you to reroll the scatter dice (including the d6) but you must keep the reroll.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Oct 2007, 21:43   #9 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 11
Default Re: infiltration?

thanks all i think is 1 dice lol. anyways im off and ill be back on tomorrow
matt 2403 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Oct 2007, 02:58   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 8,901
Send a message via MSN to Jeff Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff
Default Re: infiltration?

Actually Scouts are deployed normally and then may move up to their max distance before receiving special benefits.

So Bikes could move 12" and they may move out of their deployment zone.


Deep strike is scatter + 2d6 take the highest. A double one will result in the unit being lost as if they landed on difficult terrain.

IIRC
__________________
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Infiltration Fate13 Tau 4 30 Nov 2007 00:10
Infiltration General Stupidity Forces of Chaos 6 24 Nov 2006 23:21
infiltration Grunt90 General 40K 3 21 Jun 2006 19:31
Infiltration Tripod the 5º General 40K 1 10 Jan 2006 19:48
Infiltration. Wargamer Fluff/Stories 6 01 Feb 2005 21:49