Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

A question on declaring shooting - rapid fire?
Old 12 Sep 2007, 23:28   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default A question on declaring shooting - rapid fire?

Hi there folks, as I'm still pretty new to 40K, and questions surface almost every time I play battles.

This one is on declaring in the shooting phase. I know that you don't measure range until you have declared what unit you are targeting. If you have a unit that has not moved in the movement phase, it can choose to rapid fire 2 shots up to 12" or fire once at up to full range. Do this have to be declared before you shoot?

For instance, your unit is targeting a opposing unit and you don't know if you are within rapid fire range, if you declare rapid fire, and then the opponents figure(s) are further away than 12", do you loose the opportunity to fire once at up to full range?

Also if there is some rule that cover this, would you please let me know where to find it (page #, and book), or are this covered in the "etiquette" of 40K?

Hope this made sense.

Rune

Nanostorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Sep 2007, 23:33   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui

Default Re: A question on declaring shooting - rapid fire?

I'm pretty sure that you can't shoot if you already declare to rapid fire... but I'm not entirely certain :-\. The Rapid fire rule has always seemed a bit silly to me...

-Rosetta Stoned

[center] ~Children of the Storm Fluff~[center]
[center] ~Children of the Storm [1750 pts]~[center]
ShadowCrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Sep 2007, 23:54   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La

Send a message via AIM to gerrylum