Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

A question on declaring shooting - rapid fire?
Reply
Old 12 Sep 2007, 23:28   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 194
Default A question on declaring shooting - rapid fire?

Hi there folks, as I'm still pretty new to 40K, and questions surface almost every time I play battles.

This one is on declaring in the shooting phase. I know that you don't measure range until you have declared what unit you are targeting. If you have a unit that has not moved in the movement phase, it can choose to rapid fire 2 shots up to 12" or fire once at up to full range. Do this have to be declared before you shoot?

For instance, your unit is targeting a opposing unit and you don't know if you are within rapid fire range, if you declare rapid fire, and then the opponents figure(s) are further away than 12", do you loose the opportunity to fire once at up to full range?

Also if there is some rule that cover this, would you please let me know where to find it (page #, and book), or are this covered in the "etiquette" of 40K?

Hope this made sense.

Rune

Nanostorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Sep 2007, 23:33   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 990
Default Re: A question on declaring shooting - rapid fire?

I'm pretty sure that you can't shoot if you already declare to rapid fire... but I'm not entirely certain :-\. The Rapid fire rule has always seemed a bit silly to me...

-Rosetta Stoned
__________________
Children of the Storm battle record:
W-2/L-0/T-0

[center] ~Children of the Storm Fluff~[center]
[center] ~Children of the Storm [1750 pts]~[center]
ShadowCrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Sep 2007, 23:54   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 327
Send a message via AIM to gerrylum
Default Re: A question on declaring shooting - rapid fire?

The way I've played so far is that you just declare which unit you're firing on, then measure range. If the enemy unit is within 12", then it's automatically assumed to be rapid fire. If they're not in 12" range then it's normal firing.

I've never specifically stated whether I'm rapid firing or not when declaring shooting. Of course, I may have just been playing the wrong way, but no one's corrected me on it yet.
__________________
gerrylum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Sep 2007, 00:06   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
The Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,208
Default Re: A question on declaring shooting - rapid fire?

I agree with gerrylum. You don't declare "rapid firing" in fact you can't even declare it as their is no actual term for it (saying rapid fire to mean the 2 shots is something the online community made up). Rapid fire weapons will fire, if the target if +12" then it's one shot, if less then it automatically shots 2 shots. IIRC it was covered in a FAQ some time ago. You don't actually get to choose, if their is a target within 12" you must shoot twice, etc.
__________________
The Orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Sep 2007, 07:19   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Is the Politiburo smoking weed?
Posts: 5,144
Default Re: A question on declaring shooting - rapid fire?

True.

If the unit is within 12" then it can be shot twice, if it was greater than 12" then you can only make the one shot.

We never declare the type of attack, only the unit.

Genmotty
Genmotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Sep 2007, 10:18   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: A question on declaring shooting - rapid fire?

I've always wonderd about the whole must rapid fire if within 12". Mostly because if it makes more tactical sense to shoot once then charge, why don't you?

But yes, Do you have to rapid fire if you are within range?

As well, if you only fire once, would you still be able to charge? or can you still not charge even though you never rapid fired?

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubgum
Well, I dont just have a firewall, i have a warpwall, yep, anything bad in my internet connection that touches my warpwall is banished to the warp for eternity.
"Strive For Perfection
And Strike With Precision
Soon It Blows Up In Your Face
And The Smoke Blurs Your Vision"
-Mushroomhead

Formerly Andrew "Ender" Wiggen.
Deaths_Face is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Sep 2007, 10:58   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Suffolk
Posts: 103
Default Re: A question on declaring shooting - rapid fire?

We've always just said that any models under 12" will rapidfire and all the rest just fire a single shot. I'm sure I remember reading that in the rulebook somewhere but I've flicked through and can't find it...
Dom of Gears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Sep 2007, 11:04   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 194
Default Re: A question on declaring shooting - rapid fire?

Thanks for the replies guys, seeing as a rapid fire weapon only has one "firing-mode" I also though that you could fire once at targets up to 12" and twice at targets up to 12". But as I am new to the stuff I were not going to argue with the guy.

I'll be sure to argue with him now ;D

Rune
Nanostorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Sep 2007, 14:15   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 892
Default Re: A question on declaring shooting - rapid fire?

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Snow
I've always wonderd about the whole must rapid fire if within 12". Mostly because if it makes more tactical sense to shoot once then charge, why don't you?

But yes, Do you have to rapid fire if you are within range?

As well, if you only fire once, would you still be able to charge? or can you still not charge even though you never rapid fired?

No, if you fire a rapid fire weapon in the Shooting Phase, you may not charge in the Combat Phase. Even if you only fired one shot with the weapon. That's just the way it is.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Col.Angus
I picture the Ethereal looking out the window of the Devilfish from his seat: "Hey this isn't the way to Applebee's?! Where are you guys taking...Aw man, a battle?! Aw, you guys are total dicks, I swear! I'm still wearing my bathrobe! Can I at least have a gun? What do you mean you don't have any extra? What should I do, hit Khorne Berzerkers with my symbol of office? Man, you're gonna be sorry if I die... dicks."
Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Sep 2007, 20:15   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: A question on declaring shooting - rapid fire?

aight, thanx man!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubgum
Well, I dont just have a firewall, i have a warpwall, yep, anything bad in my internet connection that touches my warpwall is banished to the warp for eternity.
"Strive For Perfection
And Strike With Precision
Soon It Blows Up In Your Face
And The Smoke Blurs Your Vision"
-Mushroomhead

Formerly Andrew "Ender" Wiggen.
Deaths_Face is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An answer to the combi-plasma one-shot vs. rapid-fire question? Chimerical Forces of Chaos 5 20 Apr 2008 18:44
Quick question on rapid fire weapons. deadnightwarrior General 40K 6 30 Dec 2007 14:10
rapid fire question Grey Knight General 40K 4 16 Oct 2007 05:51
Question about Rapid Fire Elliott General 40K 5 04 Aug 2007 17:49
Quick question about Rapid-Fire and Crisis suits budro Tau 8 15 Jun 2006 14:41