Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Question about Vehicle Assaults
Reply
Old 11 Sep 2007, 16:27   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 327
Send a message via AIM to gerrylum
Default Question about Vehicle Assaults

I was playing a game this weekend with my Tau vs. Tyranids. At one point his genestealers had assaulted my Hammerhead and stunned the crew.

My question is, since the hammerhead did not move in my next turn, was the Tyranid player able to attack my hammerhead again in close combat during my assault phase? I would think so, but I ask because vehicles can't be locked into close combat and was wondering if the vehicle is still considered in close combat in my assault phase because it didn't move.
__________________
gerrylum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Sep 2007, 16:34   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
Default Re: Question about Vehicle Assaults

hmm i no what u are saying but erm go tyranids oh sorry i think the answer is it would have been in close combat

my brother here (ethereal) says goooo tau,and did ure vechiel win and who won the battel
__________________
(\_/) this is bunny
(0.o) please copy and paste this into your sig and
'(__)' help him achieve world domination
ethereal and hive tyrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Sep 2007, 16:39   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,196
Send a message via MSN to Durza
Default Re: Question about Vehicle Assaults

First of all, Etherial and Hive tyrant, please clean up your post, I can't understand it without proper gramma and spelling, this is a forum, take the time to spell out everything correctly, also, you seem to have misunderstood the question, he was asking if they are locked in close combat.

To gerrylum, I think they are locked in close combat, unless the tank moves away, as it has no WS.
Durza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Sep 2007, 16:42   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
Default Re: Question about Vehicle Assaults

yes thats what we ment and sorry for the gammer :-[
__________________
(\_/) this is bunny
(0.o) please copy and paste this into your sig and
'(__)' help him achieve world domination
ethereal and hive tyrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Sep 2007, 16:43   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 327
Send a message via AIM to gerrylum
Default Re: Question about Vehicle Assaults

Quote:
Originally Posted by ethereal and hive tyrant
hmm i no what u are saying but erm go tyranids oh sorry i think the answer is it would have been in close combat

my brother here (ethereal) says goooo tau,and did ure vechiel win and who won the battel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shas'OMG'WTF'BBQ
To gerrylum, I think they are locked in close combat, unless the tank moves away, as it has no WS.
That's what I figured, thanks guys!

To Ethereal: Since I didn't have flechette dischargers on the hammerhead, the genestealers and brood lord easily easily took it down from the rear armor after the crew had become stunned.

And because of some other stupid mistakes I made during deployment, the Tyranids ended up winning the battle. But hey, it's only the 4th game I've ever played, so I'm still learning!
__________________
gerrylum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Sep 2007, 16:49   #6 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
Default Re: Question about Vehicle Assaults

thanx weve not been playing long its a well good game, and hey you have to learn from youre
mastaks-lol
__________________
(\_/) this is bunny
(0.o) please copy and paste this into your sig and
'(__)' help him achieve world domination
ethereal and hive tyrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Sep 2007, 17:39   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 1,074
Send a message via MSN to Siruk
Default Re: Question about Vehicle Assaults

Quote:
Originally Posted by gerrylum
My question is, since the hammerhead did not move in my next turn, was the Tyranid player able to attack my hammerhead again in close combat during my assault phase? I would think so, but I ask because vehicles can't be locked into close combat and was wondering if the vehicle is still considered in close combat in my assault phase because it didn't move.
It is never locked in close combat, and thus can not be attacked in your turn. He can again charge in the next time its his turn, but he can not make attacks on your hammerhead in your turn.
__________________
Dark Eldar Wins: 20 Draws: 1 Loses: 0
Tau Wins: 11 Draws: 0 Loses: 0

Siruk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Sep 2007, 17:40   #8 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amersham, Its in Buckinghamshire
Posts: 3,497
Default Re: Question about Vehicle Assaults

I believe that models in combat with a model with no weapon skill are not locked and should move 1" away at the end of the combat.

P.S. Siruk just beat me to it.
__________________
Hamletyä těralpeng Na'viru sngamä'eii. Til si ayoenghu mě http://bit.ly/53GnAB
The translation of Hamlet into Na'vi has started! Join with us at http://bit.ly/53GnAB


For more webcomics like this please visit my website.

http://www.tristanworld.com


or my deviant art account.
Omeganus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Sep 2007, 01:46   #9 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 347
Send a message via MSN to InsanitysFall
Default Re: Question about Vehicle Assaults

That's true. Vehicles (excluding walkers) can't be locked in combat and it is stated quite clearly in the rulebook.

So at the end of the phase both parties are free to move off however they choose.


However, if a skimmer can't move or shoot in the next turn (i don't remember if that's shaken or stunned), does the opponent still need 6 to hit next time he assaults it?
__________________
InsanitysFall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Sep 2007, 02:48   #10 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 408
Default Re: Question about Vehicle Assaults

Yes, skimmers always count as moving over 6".
__________________
A strange game. The only winning move is not to play.

It is the calm and silent water that drowns a man.
Amaliel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question regarding 12" leaping assaults. Ekiel Tyranids 1 09 Jul 2009 06:02
Tau vehicle question Bayouwarrior Tau 4 21 Apr 2009 16:29
A question about Dangerous Terrain, Jump Infantry, and Assaults Tanyos General 40K 5 15 Dec 2008 17:52
Flechette Dischargers and vehicle assaults cheaterbane Tau 14 12 Dec 2008 08:18
A dedicated vehicle question Commander Nearsight General 40K 7 02 Aug 2007 22:25