Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Can A Vehicle Suffer Multiple "Exploded" Results?
Reply
Old 27 Jul 2007, 03:11   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Posts: 445
Default Can A Vehicle Suffer Multiple "Exploded" Results?

Okay, so upon forgetting the Fleet Rule, and the roll of a 6, I ended up with a Sentinel being mobbed by a Broodlord and a whole bunch of Genestealers. A real horde, that literally was able to surround my Sentinel completely.

I was about to simply remove it from the table when something occured to me. Seeing as I was about to lose, anyways, I decided I wasn't going to get slapped around for bringing it up, and forced my opponent (a good friend of mine, so he went along just fine) to do his half a billion attacks on a computer dice bag (we only had eight dice, and I did not want to remember that many numbers). As it was, my vehicle Exploded eight times.

Since I said I was resigning after this (that Sentinel was the last hope for grabbing an objective), we decided to see how many 'stealers these eight explosions would kill. After the third one, the entire mob was gone, vaporized in a mushroom cloud.

Punishment for overkill?

I'm just wondering if multiple exploded results stack. I don't recall reading anything against it... so...
__________________
If you're feeling lucky, click here to get yourself mugged!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"No, you can't put a Lascannon there; the Machine God will have a tantrum and turn the universe inside out."

balistafreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2007, 03:27   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 970
Send a message via AIM to Mage001 Send a message via MSN to Mage001
Default Re: Can A Vehicle Suffer Multiple "Exploded" Results?

I believe no matter how many times you get an 'exploded' results, it only blows up once. Logically, no vehicle blows up more then once in real life. Then again, when has GW been logical? For now, I would only resolve one exploded result.
__________________
All suspects are guilty. Period. Otherwise they wouldn't be suspect, would they?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lycan
I'd like to call it... "Fair", I mean, she has boobs, how'd we compete?
Mage001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2007, 04:09   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9,814
Default Re: Can A Vehicle Suffer Multiple "Exploded" Results?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mage
I believe no matter how many times you get an 'exploded' results, it only blows up once. Logically, no vehicle blows up more then once in real life. Then again, when has GW been logical? For now, I would only resolve one exploded result.
Logically it shouldn't blow up more than once. Military vessels have been known for multiple explosions though. Usually Initial hit, munitions, and gas (back when every thing wasn't nuclear).

I thought it only stacked up to the next highest result in WH40K though, then stopped at the end? ???
__________________


Seventh Sanctum signature oddities.
Alignment: Neutral Pessimistic
Area of Magical Study: Practical Chronomancy
Favorite Spells: Divine Spell of the Cotton Candy Golem and Field of Bacon.

Proud supporter of Joe Wood!

Makes this your one good deed a day.
http://www.thehungersite.com/
enderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2007, 04:12   #4 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6,716
Send a message via MSN to Spiritbw
Default Re: Can A Vehicle Suffer Multiple "Exploded" Results?

I'd say if you both agreed, go for it. Sounds like the game was over so it really was just for giggles at this point any how.
Spiritbw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2007, 04:14   #5 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Can A Vehicle Suffer Multiple "Exploded" Results?

I would say that you roll all of them together, and then see if there are any 6s. But it can't explode more than once, since the first "Vehicle Explodes!" causes it to be removed from play.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2007, 05:11   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Albquqerque, NM
Posts: 105
Default Re: Can A Vehicle Suffer Multiple "Exploded" Results?

If you want to go the rules lawyer route read page 67 of the main rulebook (the damage result page) and notice that only vehicles can explode. Also note that any damage result that destroys a vehicle will turn it into a wreck instead of a vehicle or remove the vehicle from play.

Because of this a vehicle can never be destroyed more than once or can it blow up more than once.

Sorry, but I've had to be in rules lawyer mode for the past couple days. It's hard to get out of the groove once you've been in it for a bit. But that sentinel blowing up 8 times does seem cool.
__________________
We can tell other people about - having faith. What we had faith in. What we found important enough to fight for. It's not whether you were right or wrong, but how much faith you were willing to have, that decides the future.
yoritomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2007, 17:13   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,401
Default Re: Can A Vehicle Suffer Multiple "Exploded" Results?

You roll all the penetrating/glancing hits and then take the highest affect for the destroyed result but you only blow up once
Go Guard Or Go Home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2007, 17:15   #8 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 4,360
Send a message via AIM to Gada Mazaha Send a message via MSN to Gada Mazaha
Default Re: Can A Vehicle Suffer Multiple "Exploded" Results?

Quote:
Originally Posted by balistafreak
Okay, so upon forgetting the Fleet Rule, and the roll of a 6, I ended up with a Sentinel being mobbed by a Broodlord and a whole bunch of Genestealers. A real horde, that literally was able to surround my Sentinel completely.
I think the real question here is why the Broodlord was using Fleet of Claw... Looks like you got bagged.
Gada Mazaha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2007, 13:53   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wheat Ridge CO
Posts: 636
Send a message via AIM to kin7777 Send a message via MSN to kin7777
Default Re: Can A Vehicle Suffer Multiple "Exploded" Results?

Yea, your bud jipped you. Broodlord squads can't use fleet!
__________________
[url=http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=43155.0]

PUNK'S NOT DEAD
Think, it's not illegal yet.
kin7777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2007, 14:30   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hertford, UK
Posts: 5,086
Default Re: Can A Vehicle Suffer Multiple "Exploded" Results?

Dug in in Basra airport I remember hearing distant bangs and thumps coming from a cleared and secure area that our tanks had recently rolled through. It wasn't the sound of combat, it was the ammunition cooking off inside burning vehicles. Though that was hours after they'd been hit, I don't think it unreasonable for secondary explosions to occur in the event of catastropic damage. Another example is when Calves blew up his gun in an emergency withdrawal practice in Canada. Burning embers blew out of his breach when it was opened and ignited the charge bag in the loader's hands. In panic, he tossed it behind him but missed the door; it landed in the magazine. The crew all escaped (the driver only barely) but the gun was destroyed utterly (see below). They found the breach nearly a kilometre away. So yeah, I think damage from some of the weapons in the 41st millenium could be so powerful as to turn vehicle interiors into raging infernos and detonate ammunition and fuel supplies. Perhaps not Gene Stealer claws, but certainly meltabombs. Whether or not the 'vehicle annihilated' result is supposed to represent this eventuality, or even a single 'vehicle explodes' result, but there is more than one form of combustible/explosive material aboard a military vehicle.

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colonel_Sanders
When all was finished, the battlefield was a smoking crater. UDC, Valoran, US Army, Tau, the Nazis, a random pirate ship, and a bunch of ninjas, all were enemies to the Vulture. All were turned into scrap metal. Or plastic. Depends which game system you play.
Tom Norman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple "reroll failed hits" effects? kaempfer0080 Tyranids 24 23 Mar 2010 16:43
So "who" predicted this? 2008 'Ard Boys Results! enderwiggin General 40K 30 17 Nov 2008 16:12
Making the most out of "suffer not the work of Heretics". VerjigormDeExile Space Marines 3 12 Apr 2008 17:23
Which deploys last? "Word in Your Ear", "Grand Illusion", or "Macharian Cross" davidgr33n The Inquisition 4 27 Dec 2007 05:52
Which deploys last? "Word in Your Ear", "Grand Illusion", or "Macharian Cross" davidgr33n Imperial Guard 5 24 Dec 2007 20:38