Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Rather new to the WH world and wondering ... ;
Closed Thread
Old 12 Jul 2006, 22:42   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Rather new to the WH world and wondering ... ;

Heya everyone, I'm quite new to WH 40K.
I don't really have a race I play yet, but I think I'd either go for Necrons, (for their supreme ranged) or the Tyranids (They just seem..right to me.)
Does anyone have some info for me about any of the following two races?
Or is there any race I can best try as newbie?

And please, dont tell me I have to go to the nearest GW shop,
I played a game there, you make a mistake, they say ; "Well, you lose" and they won't tell you rules or anything, not much of a help.

It'd be appreciated if you'd give me some support.
Many thanks - Rov. =)
Old 12 Jul 2006, 22:56   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

Send a message via MSN to Farseer Cold-Beer
Default Re: Rather new to the WH world and wondering ... ;

Ok Rov... I was in your shoes abot 6 years ago and I believe the easiest starting race is Space Marines... But becareful, they are incredible powerful on there own and you might get the wrong view on all the other races as I did for a while...

If you want to go either Necrons or Tyranids... you have to ask your self a question or two...
1. do you want to over power your enemy so that they can not get near you?
2. Do you want to get near your enemy and make sure they cant shoot?

If you chose yes for 1 then that can be either, just then all your monsters and beasts such as Carnifexes will have venom things and guns and such...

The second question if you said yes this means Tyranids... You can use Necrons but they arnt as good...

If you said yes to both... then i say play Tyranids or if you like the random destructiveness of the Tyranids then maybe think about playing Chaos Space Marines...