Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Consolidating into close combat with a unit behind cover
Closed Thread
Old 12 Jul 2006, 11:50   #1 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hertford, UK
Posts: 5,086
Default Consolidating into close combat with a unit behind cover

If you win a close combat against one enemy unit and consolidate into another, they're considered locked and can/must be fought in the next round of close combat, but do they still get the initiative if they're in cover? The attacking troops don't get additional attacks as they would if they had charged conventionally so it doesn't seem right to me that a unit in cover should benefit from any such 'first-round' bonuses. But what does the rulebook say? Does the rulebook mention this eventuality? If not, has anyone ever heard an official answer to this question?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colonel_Sanders
When all was finished, the battlefield was a smoking crater. UDC, Valoran, US Army, Tau, the Nazis, a random pirate ship, and a bunch of ninjas, all were enemies to the Vulture. All were turned into scrap metal. Or plastic. Depends which game system you play.
Tom Norman is offline  
Old 12 Jul 2006, 12:18   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,246
Default Re: Consolidating into close combat with a unit behind cover

I don't think they do, as it's not as if the defender would be prepared to face an attack that quickly. If the defender was already in close combat, they'd get no bonus at all!
__________________
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore, is not an act, but a habit.
-Will Durant
Aftercresent is offline  
Old 12 Jul 2006, 13:07   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,361
Send a message via MSN to Farseer Cold-Beer
Default Re: Consolidating into close combat with a unit behind cover

Ummm... Good question right there... Hmmm I'd say that (depending on what they did the turn befor) that they might be ready, Just say that the squad being consolidated on to did one of these the preivious tunr (the other players turn):
1. They did not shoot
2. they shot something beyond or directly near they combat situation
3. the combat is going on right near them (in ear shot range)
4. The squad has a Warlock or Warlock equivelant and that caster has used psykic abilities on the squad just killed or the sqaud charging

Remeber these 'rules' are only house rules and are completely in the intension of keeping fluff with in the universe... dont use them if they seem to confusing, seem as though they will cause fights or they just dont seem practical to you...
__________________
Farseer Cold-Beer is offline  
Old 12 Jul 2006, 14:12   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,759
Default Re: Consolidating into close combat with a unit behind cover

No.

Consolidating into an enemy is not the same as assaulting them, and bypasses all checks that have to be made during an assault.

redbeard is offline  
Old 12 Jul 2006, 19:01   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hertford, UK
Posts: 5,086
Default Re: Consolidating into close combat with a unit behind cover

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redbeard
No.

Consolidating into an enemy is not the same as assaulting them, and bypasses all checks that have to be made during an assault.
Good, that's what I thought. They're just locked and have at it as though there had already been a first round of combat.

Cheers fellas.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colonel_Sanders
When all was finished, the battlefield was a smoking crater. UDC, Valoran, US Army, Tau, the Nazis, a random pirate ship, and a bunch of ninjas, all were enemies to the Vulture. All were turned into scrap metal. Or plastic. Depends which game system you play.
Tom Norman is offline  
Old 12 Jul 2006, 22:57   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,361
Send a message via MSN to Farseer Cold-Beer
Default Re: Consolidating into close combat with a unit behind cover

Hmm... meh that works... I just think my way of looking at it is way more fluffy
__________________
Farseer Cold-Beer is offline  
Old 13 Jul 2006, 12:02   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hertford, UK
Posts: 5,086
Default Re: Consolidating into close combat with a unit behind cover

Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer Cold-Beer
Hmm... meh that works... I just think my way of looking at it is way more fluffy
Definately yeah, but there's so much going on in a game of 40k, so many rules to remember, that it is best to keep things simple.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colonel_Sanders
When all was finished, the battlefield was a smoking crater. UDC, Valoran, US Army, Tau, the Nazis, a random pirate ship, and a bunch of ninjas, all were enemies to the Vulture. All were turned into scrap metal. Or plastic. Depends which game system you play.
Tom Norman is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
helping allied unit in close combat Shoke General 40K 2 18 Nov 2008 01:20
Tau close combat unit. shaso_montyr House Rules 18 27 Oct 2007 08:00
Cover and Int in close combat scoutfox General 40K 14 29 Jul 2007 03:48
Close Combat? DragonR General 40K 15 07 Mar 2006 00:37
tau close combat unit, WIP narceron House Rules 10 30 Dec 2004 08:36