Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Agh Deep Strike Question
Closed Thread
Old 07 Jul 2006, 03:42   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Libertyville, IL
Posts: 320
Default Agh Deep Strike Question

Ok so I was helping some Imperial Guard player in a 2000pt Necron vs ~1700pt IG, with almost 75% of the units proxied (lol). Anyway, the dirty necron player Deepstrikes his monolith (happens to be a perfectly sized speaker) near a table edge close to the IG deployment zone. So he rolls the scatter, then UHOH he rolls 8" and basically lands off the table. But...just look at the diagram.



My question is where to position the huge vehicle. Is it on the green dot, which is 8" away from the center of the monolith, or does the closest edge of the monolith have to be 8" away from the desired deepstriking position (where the black box is). Because I was under the impression that if ANY part of the model deepstrikes off the edge of the field, its done for.
__________________
wiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii iiiiiiii
canderous is offline  
Old 07 Jul 2006, 03:55   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,361
Send a message via MSN to Farseer Cold-Beer
Default Re: Agh Deep Strike Question

Yep... deep striking off the field he disapears... and u measure from the closest edge cos a monoliths base is its edges...
__________________
Farseer Cold-Beer is offline  
Old 07 Jul 2006, 04:15   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Novi, Michigan
Posts: 1,013
Default Re: Agh Deep Strike Question

UNLESS he has special rules preventing him from doing this he would be destroyed. Would work the same for troops too. Any one of them partially of the board are presumed dead.
__________________
xsreviews.co.uk
Deviant art
Delightfully Emo is offline  
Old 07 Jul 2006, 15:34   #4 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Colorado Springs Colorado
Posts: 349
Default Re: Agh Deep Strike Question

Where I play, if any part of your model's "base" (in this case, the hull should be used since the proxy has no real base) touches the board edge at all, you're considered off the table.

I thought monoliths moved to stay on the table, or do they just do that when they find themselves landing on enemy units (they move the units out of the way in that case).
__________________
Proudly banned from both Mech Tau Tactica and Advanced Tau Tactica by Kai'Lore. Kai'Lore has no honor and the fact that my mere presence reminds him of this is more than his cowardly person can bear. He banned me from the new site after less than a day. =)
heliodorus04 is offline  
Old 07 Jul 2006, 15:37   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Libertyville, IL
Posts: 320
Default Re: Agh Deep Strike Question

Thanks for the answers. The IG beat the necrons in that case YAY!
__________________
wiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii iiiiiiii
canderous is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WWP Vs. Deep Strike Lelith Hesperax Dark Eldar 7 07 Jan 2008 03:35
Deep Strike - Who uses it? maniacs1 General 40K 26 03 Nov 2007 13:32
Deep Strike Question Black Behemoth General 40K 8 19 Nov 2005 02:21
Deep Strike Xygenic The Inquisition 7 26 Jul 2005 10:49
Deep Strike or Not to Deep Strike Crossfc Tau 12 16 May 2005 22:47