Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

I've Got the 'Hit' but When Do I 'Run'?
Closed Thread
Old 12 Jun 2006, 16:08   #1 (permalink)
77
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 984
Default I've Got the 'Hit' but When Do I 'Run'?

I've been using Lictors to great effectiveness against SM tactical squads. Here are the queries that I have:

1) Using the Hit and Run rule, when exactly do you roll the dice to run?
We have been doing this after all attacks have been resolved and before the roll for sweeping advance.

2) If my Lictor (or any other unit) does a sweeping advance into the retreating SMurfs, I know that the SMurfs are not destroyed ("...Know No Fear..."), so does this mean that they are still locked in CC? This is what we have been doing as well.

I believe that both are right but I would like some confirmation.
77 is offline  
Old 12 Jun 2006, 17:03   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,500
Send a message via AIM to Mavfreak
Default Re: I've Got the 'Hit' but When Do I 'Run'?

You probably should have put this in the nid forums...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mage

And Mav is the probably the smartest one of us, so it makes sense.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonely Tau
My advice is simply walk through life and see what happens, and remember the one thing most of my yearbook from this year is filled with...

"Sex can wait, masturbate"
Mavfreak is offline  
Old 12 Jun 2006, 18:14   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: BlackBurn, Lancashire, England
Posts: 3,060
Send a message via MSN to Elessar
Default Re: I've Got the 'Hit' but When Do I 'Run'?

not really, since this isn't licor specific. this is universal rules, the lictor is just the character(smae as saying X model has hit and run)

as to the rules:
1) roll at the end of the combat phase(if you want to)
2) the marines are destroyed. if you do a sweeping advance(your d6+initiative beats the opponents) the marines die irrelevant of know no fear.
__________________
http://world2.monstersgame.co.uk/?ac=vid&vid=31118495
go to the above to help me on a browser game
Download my codex! http://www.box.net/public/d6c1ki0iah Click on the .pub file and hit Save to Disk.

Elessar is offline  
Old 12 Jun 2006, 19:38   #4 (permalink)
77
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 984
Default Re: I've Got the 'Hit' but When Do I 'Run'?

Yeah, Hit and Run is a universal rule.* But.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elessar
1) roll at the end of the combat phase(if you want to)
This was the problem.* Is the "end" of the CC phase after all hits are resolved, after the morale check, after sweeping advance....?* When is this "end" I guess is my question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elessar
2) the marines are destroyed. if you do a sweeping advance(your d6+initiative beats the opponents) the marines die irrelevant of know no fear.
This does not jive with the universal rule, "And They Shall Know No Fear".* The rule specifically states that any unit with this rule cannot be destroyed by a sweeping advance.

Thanks for your replies but it doesn't really clear up the question..... :-\
77 is offline  
Old 12 Jun 2006, 20:01   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Posts: 333
Default Re: I've Got the 'Hit' but When Do I 'Run'?

The rules for raptors state that " ...should no participant in the combat have to fall back normally..." or something to that effect. Therefore, I would assume that the check is made after moral tests.

Btw, marines will not be defeated by a sweeping advance.
__________________

-"We hit that bullseye and the rest of the dominoes will fall down like a house of cards. Checkmate."

- "He who laughs last....didn't get it."
Shaiden is offline  
Old 12 Jun 2006, 21:48   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: BlackBurn, Lancashire, England
Posts: 3,060
Send a message via MSN to Elessar
Default Re: I've Got the 'Hit' but When Do I 'Run'?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 77
The rule specifically states that any unit with this rule cannot be destroyed by a sweeping advance.
sorry about that. i play imperial guard so ive never encountered this issue.
__________________
http://world2.monstersgame.co.uk/?ac=vid&vid=31118495
go to the above to help me on a browser game
Download my codex! http://www.box.net/public/d6c1ki0iah Click on the .pub file and hit Save to Disk.

Elessar is offline  
Old 13 Jun 2006, 06:27   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 189
Default Re: I've Got the 'Hit' but When Do I 'Run'?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elessar
2) the marines are destroyed. if you do a sweeping advance(your d6+initiative beats the opponents) the marines die irrelevant of know no fear.
This does not jive with the universal rule, "And They Shall Know No Fear". The rule specifically states that any unit with this rule cannot be destroyed by a sweeping advance.
If marines try to run and are caught by a sweeping advance then they suffer from No Retreat! (). The actual models aren't moved at all and they count as being locked in combat.
theRaptor is offline  
Old 13 Jun 2006, 14:49   #8 (permalink)
77
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 984
Default Re: I've Got the 'Hit' but When Do I 'Run'?

Quote:
Originally Posted by theRaptor
If marines try to run and are caught by a sweeping advance then they suffer from No Retreat! (). The actual models aren't moved at all and they count as being locked in combat.
Great, this is the way that I understood this as well.

Now, about that first question...
77 is offline  
Old 13 Jun 2006, 17:27   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 189
Default Re: I've Got the 'Hit' but When Do I 'Run'?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 77
1) Using the Hit and Run rule, when exactly do you roll the dice to run?
We have been doing this after all attacks have been resolved and before the roll for sweeping advance.
The rule is clear, "Declare this at the end of the close combat phase". A phase is part of a players turn and not an individual combat, so the end of the assault phase is when all individual combats have been fought. As you can break off by beating a sweeping advance and using this rule they put the notice about sweeping advances not counting for the Hit & Run break off. However the enemy unit can still consolidate.
theRaptor is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
important question [how to roll 'to hit' and 'to wound'] dark lord Dark Eldar 7 19 Feb 2006 18:30