Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Student VS mentor
Closed Thread
Old 22 Apr 2006, 22:33   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default Student VS mentor

When i got into 40K the person who taught me everything i need to know about the game was my best friend. Hes been playing the game for a good decade now and really offered good advice. As a determined rookie, i was playing against his army almost every game i played. i was never really able to beat him consistently, if at all. I played like this for a good year, loosing more often than not.

Pretty soon there were constant rules arguments and other such "disruptions". After all was said and done, ive just realized that playing against my mentor just isnt fun anymore. Whenever i play against anyone else though everything works out great. Both my opponent and i have great games, theres hardly any arguing and, win or lose, we both go home happy. the only times i ever get really argumentitive is when i play the person who taught me.

So, my question is, does anyone else share the experience that i have? The one who got you into warhammer is the one that is particularly hard to play against?
Old 22 Apr 2006, 22:49   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui

Send a message via AIM to kin7777 Send a message via MSN to kin7777
Default Re: Student VS mentor

yea, my friend Alex got me into it. Hes one of those people who has about half a troop of every army possible. A great painter, (he taught me, thus my mentor), he is incredibly annoying to play against. He has no clue how to play, and when he does he has to proxy the majority of his army!!
>

PUNK'S NOT DEAD
Think, it's not illegal yet.
Old 22 Apr 2006, 23:27   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O

One of the people I taught to play ended up being ridiculously overcompetitive and I rarely am even willing to play him anymore. When I do, I usually regret it

So its sorta a reverse situation with me
I'd hate to get on his bad side... >
Quote: