Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

some questions
Closed Thread
Old 20 Apr 2006, 09:07   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 151
Default some questions

after doing some reading these questions came to mind.

1: the land raider crusader has "hurricane bolters" are these just 2 sets of 3 twin linked bolters or do they have some other special rules not talked about in the codex?

2: in WD 272, land radiers are said to have "twin-linked god-hammer lascannons" which can target two enemy units instead of the one normally allowed. does this still apply with the new codex?

3: if yes, do chaos land raiders get the same benefit?

4: if a soldier in a transport fires out of an access point, does it count towards the number of main/defensive weapons a vehicle can carry, can they always fire? how does it actually work? can they only fire if the vehicle is stationary?

thanks.
LordCalsius is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2006, 09:28   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 8,901
Send a message via MSN to Jeff Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff
Default Re: some questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by LordCalsius
after doing some reading these questions came to mind.

1: the land raider crusader has "hurricane bolters" are these just 2 sets of 3 twin linked bolters or do they have some other special rules not talked about in the codex?

2: in WD 272, land radiers are said to have "twin-linked god-hammer lascannons" which can target two enemy units instead of the one normally allowed. does this still apply with the new codex?

3: if yes, do chaos land raiders get the same benefit?

4: if a soldier in a transport fires out of an access point, does it count towards the number of main/defensive weapons a vehicle can carry, can they always fire? how does it actually work? can they only fire if the vehicle is stationary?

thanks.
I'll have a go..
1. Yes thats all they are as far as i know.

2. Again, Yes

3. As far as i know... no they do not benefit from god-hammer lascannons. I beleive these are only for loyalists though i may be wrong.

4. They do not count as a defence weapon for the purposes of how may weapons a transport can take, can be fired on the move and may always fire if they have line of sight and range.

This is to the best iof my knowledge... i may be wrong as i don't use tanks.
__________________
Jeff is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2006, 11:35   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 1,074
Send a message via MSN to Siruk
Default Re: some questions

the answer to 4. is that they dont count as defensive or heavy weapons, but if the vehicle moved then they count as moving for shooting purposes(cant fire heavy weapons and can only fire rapid fire weapons half the distance) also if the person has a 4+ (I think, could be 5+) save or worse and shoots, the vehicle counts as being open topped for the next opponent turn. No model may shoot out of a vehicle that has moved over 12".
__________________
Dark Eldar Wins: 20 Draws: 1 Loses: 0
Tau Wins: 11 Draws: 0 Loses: 0

Siruk is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2006, 11:52   #4 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Behind you
Posts: 19,399
Send a message via MSN to ForbiddenKnowledge
Default Re: some questions

May only split fire when used in conjunction with the machine spirit or infernal device.

God-hammer is the "make" of the lascannon for fluff purposes, as a LR has god-hammer, and a dread or predator mounts a different pattern.
The dread assault cannon make is something like MetalStorm pattern, or something.
__________________
[quote]Thou shalt not crave thy neighbour

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim.
Rafe is damn sexy once he gets into his night attire.
ForbiddenKnowledge is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2006, 15:12   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,096
Default Re: some questions

In the current Space Marine codex a Land Raider cannot shoot multiple targets.

The Machine Spirit simply allows it to fire one extra weapon at reduced BS even when shaken/stunned.

All weapons still shoot the same target.

If you fire out of a transport and your Save is less than 3+ it's open topped next turn.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by heliodorus04
Falstead, you're a genius!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer_Emlyn
Gah! Not a silly Canadian. Can't Falstead ever be wrong?!?!? ;D
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe (Autarch Kiardras)
My god.... the sarcasm there nearly shorted out my computer screen Nice.
Falstead is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2006, 15:23   #6 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Behind you
Posts: 19,399
Send a message via MSN to ForbiddenKnowledge
Default Re: some questions

Really? I did not know that! Great!
__________________
[quote]Thou shalt not crave thy neighbour

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim.
Rafe is damn sexy once he gets into his night attire.
ForbiddenKnowledge is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2006, 16:08   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,635
Default Re: some questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Falstead
If you fire out of a transport and your Save is less than 3+ it's open topped next turn.
Unless of course you're a guardsman using the lasguns on a Chimera.*

EDIT: Also, isn't there some rule about Sisters firing from an Immolator or something?
__________________
"The Greater Good means nothing to you, and so you are nothing to me."
- Gue'shas'vesa'ui Dal'yth Tau'sin Ta'is

TO'TAU'VA T'GUE'HE TO'CYR'HE
Kasrkin is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2006, 20:23   #8 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,096
Default Re: some questions

Their save is 3+ so it doesn't count as open topped.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by heliodorus04
Falstead, you're a genius!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer_Emlyn
Gah! Not a silly Canadian. Can't Falstead ever be wrong?!?!? ;D
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe (Autarch Kiardras)
My god.... the sarcasm there nearly shorted out my computer screen Nice.
Falstead is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Uh-oh FAQ questions HiveFleetGoliath Tyranids 6 30 Jun 2009 17:30
Eldar FAQ and Rules Questions. Ask all Rules Questions HERE. sinfox Craftworld Eldar 181 30 Jul 2008 15:52
New to tau, Bunch of questions to help me before my first games, questions added Ekiel Tau 15 03 Jun 2008 01:05
Markerlight questions. NEW QUESTIONS! The_Greater_Good Tau 12 06 Dec 2006 06:27
Tau Questions vonzipper98 Tau 9 21 Nov 2005 20:37