Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Flamer Question
Closed Thread
Old 06 Apr 2006, 09:24   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Denver
Posts: 17
Default Flamer Question

I was playing a friend recently and he used his Imolator in an interesting and infuriating way,
He moved it up to a point where I had a group of Guardians that had entered close combat. He then set up his flamer template so that it covered the back row of my force that was not able to move into base to base. I told him that he couldn't fire on a unit in CC, but he informed me that he was actually firing on the unit on the other side of the board, his template just didn't happen to reach that far.

So my question is, IS THIS ALLOWED????

Thank You
Redbishop is offline  
Old 06 Apr 2006, 09:28   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 14,585
Default Re: Flamer Question

If it touches the units in CC, then it is not allowed. At least that is what I always led to believe.
__________________
Guide to keeping:
Scorpions : Corn Snakes : Basilisks


Quote:
Originally Posted by Emlyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by FT
They're an insane bunch of reptiles...
I wasn't asking about the moderating staff.
crisis_vyper is offline  
Old 06 Apr 2006, 09:47   #3 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Behind you
Posts: 19,399
Send a message via MSN to ForbiddenKnowledge
Default Re: Flamer Question

No you can't claim to be "targetting a target further away". Something in the BGB states that if it is out of range, it misses. Full stop. Yes that is unrealistic, but imagine they check their targetting cogitators, see it is out of range and don't fire.

Believe me, I tried this once, to take out some scarabs with my wraithlord, after blasting the other crons with the star cannon. It is not alllowed.

Plus, You can't fire into CC, simple as that. Guy either does not know the rules, or is blatantly cheating.
__________________
[quote]Thou shalt not crave thy neighbour

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim.
Rafe is damn sexy once he gets into his night attire.
ForbiddenKnowledge is offline  
Old 06 Apr 2006, 11:21   #4 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Paisley, Scotland
Posts: 5,827
Send a message via AIM to Farseer_Del Send a message via MSN to Farseer_Del Send a message via Yahoo to Farseer_Del
Default Re: Flamer Question

Don't think you can ever target a unit in close combat unless it's an ordinance template that scatters (Place shell, scatter dice, lands slap bang in middle, Hilarity ensues) and at a pinch, MAYBE the flame MIGHT clip a lone model in close combat, but I think if the template would ever hit a close combat, it cannot be fired that way and would need to be repositioned not to hit anything in close combat becuase it's far too close to freindlies.

As to the exact example, that's even worse. The flame template simply cannot reach that far, so his shot should never have taken place. You can't fire at something out of range, ever. Unless it's a guess range weapon of course, in which case, you could skim it and say guess 48" at that unit over there... but even then, I think thats a bit iffy.
Farseer_Del is offline  
Old 06 Apr 2006, 21:33   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 483
Send a message via MSN to Delvaurius
Default Re: Flamer Question

Page 22, BGB very top under "check range", the TARGET is too far away for the weapon to hit therefore it automisses!

Page 44, bottom under pile in moves, template weapons may not be placed over locked units UNLESS scattered there.

Clears things up
__________________
De'lvaurius

-The Bleak Assassin-
Delvaurius is offline  
Old 06 Apr 2006, 22:33   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6,716
Send a message via MSN to Spiritbw
Default Re: Flamer Question

Just to add to the NO! side in this, you also cannot draw line of sight through close combat. They block line of sight up to the hieght of the tallest model. Also as said, if it can't reach the intended target it misses completely.
Spiritbw is offline  
Old 06 Apr 2006, 23:39   #7 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 97
Default Re: Flamer Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crime Prevention Unit 001
Unless it's a guess range weapon of course, in which case, you could skim it and say guess 48" at that unit over there... but even then, I think thats a bit iffy.
Bit out of touch arent we?

You dont actually "guess" anymore. You simply place the shot (be it small blast or Large Blast or Ordanance) over the target, check if its in range and roll your 2d6 + Scatter. I believe that this is one of the reasons why the old school guess rules where changed, to stop people from abusing the rules and dileberatly lobing shots into Combat.
__________________
Real men fight in tanks!
Goyder is offline  
Old 07 Apr 2006, 00:42   #8 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: South West Florida
Posts: 321
Default Re: Flamer Question

Well how about this situation

My Crisis suit wants to use a flamer on a enemy squad that's trying to pile in to a CC but is still a few inches away form the melee . The flamer template is put on the squad to get the most enemy troopers as possible but in doing so it overlaps into the CC covering one enemy completely and partially covers one more enemy trooper(rolled a 4 so he was hit) and one friendly (rolled a 1 so he was safe). How does this end up? Was it legal to use the flamer or not?
__________________
Let them hate , so long as they fear. -Accius

I am your lighted way and I am your darkest day. -Godsmack
Saint is offline  
Old 07 Apr 2006, 01:02   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The States
Posts: 2,212
Default Re: Flamer Question

I'm afraid not. No shots may be into or past CC, so even if it is just a partial on 1 model, that's still too many for the shot to be legal.
Lord Of War is offline  
Old 07 Apr 2006, 01:22   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 103
Default Re: Flamer Question

As mentioned above page 44 of the main rulebook states that you can not place your template so that it covers ANY models in cc period. The ONLY way that a template can end up covering models in cc is due to scatter. Also cc models affected by a template or blast marker do not have to make test for pinning or morale caused by the shooting.
Shinsen is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
flamer question greendragon4444 Tau 22 30 Mar 2010 23:15
Flamer question? chicop76 General 40K 4 06 Mar 2010 20:37
Twin linked flamer question asugradinwa Tau 17 15 Jul 2008 20:02
WYSIWYG and fluff question about a Tau with a flamer the blind knight Tau 4 02 Jan 2008 13:51
Flamer artivis General 40K 22 04 Nov 2007 22:32