Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Size matters? (what force size do you enjoy and why)
Closed Thread
Old 01 Mar 2006, 13:26   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Default Size matters? (what force size do you enjoy and why)

I've been seeing a lot of 1000 pt battles, and a TON of force sizes built up for 1500 on these boards.

What size battles have you found to be the most enjoyable--what scenario?

I'm pretty new to 40K and have been playing mostly kill team to get a grasp on the rules set (while I assemble and paint my models too!!). I don't know if kill team is a good place to start, but my kroot are pretty un-defeatable by those pesky tyranids! When I get my Tau and Tyranid armies up and running, I'll have to exact some retribution.

The question is whereabouts do you guys think is the sweet spot in force size for enjoying the game most fully!
Old 01 Mar 2006, 14:10   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El

Send a message via AIM to alcibiates Send a message via MSN to alcibiates
Default Re: Size matters? (what force size do you enjoy and why)

I personally feel that the best lists are at 1500 points. At 1500 you can make some pretty cool lists, but you still have to make sacrifices. One of my friend's favorite is 1850, because once you get to 1850 you aren't making as many sacrifices, but we all agree that 2000 is the breaking point of "Too Big"

From my experience, it's also a bit harder to power-game at 1500. When you hit 1850, the power gaming lists flow from the ears. You see lists with 25+ terminators and the like.

With that said, I think you should probably build your army up to about 2500, so that you have some flexibility in your army, and you aren't stuck playing the same list over and over again.
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiveMined
...Huh? What the crap?
Old 01 Mar 2006, 18:01   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O