Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Assault question
Reply
Old 26 May 2013, 11:22   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 27
Default Assault question

So i have a (maybe stupid) question about assaulting, and i just cant seem to find a clear answer on it.

So say a group of orks anounces he is going to assault my fire warriors because he is 10 inches away.

Say He rolls a double 2 on his charge range so still would be 6" away...

What happens then?

Do i still get to fire overwatch? Is the assault failed? Are we nevertheless locked in combat because he charged my unit?
And what if say he would have rolled a 7 inch on his charge range does he get to make a 3" pile in move?

Just cant seem to get clear on the matter...

Thnx in advance!
LexusTG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 May 2013, 16:41   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Frozen North
Posts: 1,241
Default

You get to roll overwatch before the Orks move, using their current placement as your measurement for whether you are in range/rapid fire or not.

After removing casualties from the front of his unit, he gets to roll his charge distance. If he fails to reach your unit, by however little, his unit does not move at all and stays exactly where it was when he declared the charge.
Carrelio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 May 2013, 17:59   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carrelio View Post
You get to roll overwatch before the Orks move, using their current placement as your measurement for whether you are in range/rapid fire or not.

After removing casualties from the front of his unit, he gets to roll his charge distance. If he fails to reach your unit, by however little, his unit does not move at all and stays exactly where it was when he declared the charge.
I'd say that is great news thnx
LexusTG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 May 2013, 19:35   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Frozen North
Posts: 1,241
Default

Keep in mind though, this means he could charge you from behind line of sight blocking terrain, and none of your models would get to fire over-watch.
Carrelio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Jun 2013, 15:58   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
Default

But since you cannot declare assault against target you cannot see, this should never happen.
virtualsniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Jun 2013, 17:04   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Frozen North
Posts: 1,241
Default

True, though there are situations where it can; especially where non-shooting drones (on the tall flying bases so they can be spotted over the top of a low wall) are concerned.
Carrelio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Jun 2013, 02:26   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Frozen North
Posts: 1,241
Default

Err... yes.
Carrelio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Jun 2013, 03:09   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
steven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: the united states
Posts: 217
Default

good answer
steven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On