Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Lash Question
Reply
Old 07 Apr 2008, 19:03   #1 (permalink)
77
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 984
Default Lash Question

I played a Chaos player the other day and faced a Lash Prince. While there was nothing too crazy happening, I was asking him about some applications of the power, but he was unsure. I thought that I would ask here.

Can Lash be used to disengage a unit from close combat? This would have some serious implications like being able to shoot up the moved target and then assault them again for extra attacks on the charge.

77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Apr 2008, 19:37   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 14,585
Default Re: Lash Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by 77
Can Lash be used to disengage a unit from close combat? This would have some serious implications like being able to shoot up the moved target and then assault them again for extra attacks on the charge.
No it can't.

But generally the lash is usually used to

1)Bring a squad closer to be shot at or be assaulted.

2)Push units back, preferable behind terrain so that they can not shoot at you. Best done with heavy support teams such as Devastators or Havocs.

3)Force jump pack infantries, Jet Pack Infantries, and also Bikers into terrain to make tons of dangerous terrain tests.

Sometimes all these are used in combination with each other, and thus it hurts. Two lashes can do much to break enemy non-vehicle units out from their intended formations in so many ways that it is just wrong.
__________________
Guide to keeping:
Scorpions : Corn Snakes : Basilisks


Quote:
Originally Posted by Emlyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by FT
They're an insane bunch of reptiles...
I wasn't asking about the moderating staff.
crisis_vyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Apr 2008, 15:44   #3 (permalink)
77
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 984
Default Re: Lash Question

Yeah, I am seeing the problems that Lash can present. CC would be a good thing to be in (as long as you can have a chance at winning).

The fact that Princes are immune to ID is a problem. The fact that the Lash has an effective range of 36" if the model has wings is a problem. #3 that you mentioned here is a big problem.

I am sensing a theme here... :P
77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Apr 2008, 17:53   #4 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,096
Default Re: Lash Question

Just want to point out WHY you can't lash outta combat.

Lash is a shooting power, you cannot shoot into combat, so that's a fairly starightforward reason.

Yeah lash is really gross, thankfully in the new daemon codex its range and effectiveness have been halved. However its not a pyschic power for them, so you can't counter it with Runes of warding or a pyschic hood ect..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by heliodorus04
Falstead, you're a genius!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer_Emlyn
Gah! Not a silly Canadian. Can't Falstead ever be wrong?!?!? ;D
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe (Autarch Kiardras)
My god.... the sarcasm there nearly shorted out my computer screen Nice.
Falstead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Apr 2008, 20:16   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: York, England
Posts: 353
Default Re: Lash Question

You can't counter their lash's, ouch that could really hurt! Do you know how many lash's they can take in one list?
Sardis Varrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Apr 2008, 20:17   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,096
Default Re: Lash Question

Well the masque herself has three, but she has to pick different targets for each one.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by heliodorus04
Falstead, you're a genius!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer_Emlyn
Gah! Not a silly Canadian. Can't Falstead ever be wrong?!?!? ;D
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe (Autarch Kiardras)
My god.... the sarcasm there nearly shorted out my computer screen Nice.
Falstead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Apr 2008, 20:25   #7 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 14,585
Default Re: Lash Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Falstead
Well the masque herself has three, but she has to pick different targets for each one.
That's actually rather bad, especially for fireline armies. Now you can really mess up army formations even more, and ad that alongside another Slasneshi daemon with a lash, and you can potentially move up to 4 units per turn, or two units once and one unit twice.
__________________
Guide to keeping:
Scorpions : Corn Snakes : Basilisks


Quote:
Originally Posted by Emlyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by FT
They're an insane bunch of reptiles...
I wasn't asking about the moderating staff.
crisis_vyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Apr 2008, 20:26   #8 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,096
Default Re: Lash Question

The Daemon version has like a 12" range I think, but more importantly only moves them D6" though.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by heliodorus04
Falstead, you're a genius!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer_Emlyn
Gah! Not a silly Canadian. Can't Falstead ever be wrong?!?!? ;D
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe (Autarch Kiardras)
My god.... the sarcasm there nearly shorted out my computer screen Nice.
Falstead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Apr 2008, 20:27   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,554
Default Re: Lash Question

They can get a lot, but their lash only moves targets 1d6, and they have to roll to hit with it. It also doesn't pin the target unit, and units may only be moved by it once per round. It's only got an 18" range also.

On the other hand, they can have a LOT of lashes, they could have up to 6 from their HQ (3 from The Masque, 3 from Slaanesh heralds) and 3 from their heavy support (Slaanesh marked Daemon Princes). Also, it works on walkers, because they can dance. So that's 9 lashes total, that I can see.

Given the Daemon codexes unique composition I don't think it's nearly as worrying as the CSM's lash. Deep Strikers will all be in your face anyway, lashing isn't going to make that much worse.
__________________
Friends don't let friends Jump Shoot Jump.
40kenthusiast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Apr 2008, 20:49   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,096
Default Re: Lash Question

You don't actually get 2 heralds per HQ slot.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by heliodorus04
Falstead, you're a genius!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer_Emlyn
Gah! Not a silly Canadian. Can't Falstead ever be wrong?!?!? ;D
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe (Autarch Kiardras)
My god.... the sarcasm there nearly shorted out my computer screen Nice.
Falstead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lash of Submition Rules Question Commander_Vimes Forces of Chaos 2 22 Aug 2009 08:55
Another question about Lash... Deaths_Face Forces of Chaos 35 19 Jul 2009 09:28
Lash of Submission Question Phanixis Tau 16 12 Oct 2008 18:33
Lash Question? Hyena031 Forces of Chaos 5 09 Jun 2008 02:11
A lash of submition question... white monkey Forces of Chaos 3 01 Dec 2007 14:24