Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Khornate Troops
View Poll Results: Which Troops choice is better and why?
Khorne Berserkers 21 91.30%
CSMs w/ Icon of Khorne 2 8.70%
Voters: 23. You may not vote on this poll

Old 26 Feb 2008, 05:20   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

Default Khornate Troops

Ok, I post this question as I have been more and more drawn to a renegade Khornate aligned Traitor Chapter. Ever since I saw the way to mix ink and get a "blood slick steel" look I've been tempted. I looked into the codex, ready to make my chapter but then realised I had no idea what to get.

The more and more I studied the book, the more and more I decided that Khorne Berserkers are not nearly as efficient as CSMs with the Icon. Cheaper in any squad no matter the size, with a greater variety of armament I do think my armyt will be entirely renegade.

But then I always have been primarily a Nurgle player.

What does TO think?
Old 26 Feb 2008, 06:54   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui

Send a message via MSN to fat_tree
Default Re: Khornate Troops

Khorne beserkers all the way, nothing beats a great WS of 5. Only down side is the lack of long ranged weapons but furious charge makes up for it
fat_tree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Feb 2008, 09:20   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Ui

I think that Berserkers still have the edge in assault.

It depends on how you wanna play your khornate army. If you want to play with a little bit more shooting, then by all means use CSMs with IoK, but a squad or two of Berserkers would provide excellent counter-charge.

If you want Khornate Raptors or Chosen tying up the enemy early with assault, Berserkers are the troops you want coming in in the second wave.
Chimerical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Feb 2008, 12:08   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

also remember that berzerkers are fearless!