Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

pistol rules question
Reply
Old 15 Feb 2008, 22:14   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 53
Default pistol rules question

hi, quick question about pistol and its rules. have been searching but can not find what i want to know.

if i use some weapon other than pistol in the shooting phase, do i still get bonus attacks in the assault phase?

the rules sais pistol count as a cc weapon, but i remember reading something that you may only use one shooting weapon each turn.

so does pistol always count as cc weapon no matter what?
LUSK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Feb 2008, 22:21   #2 (permalink)
AC
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 751
Default Re: pistol rules question

The simple answer is yes :P but you only get the bonus attacks if you have a second close-combat weapon.
__________________
Exitus Acta Probat "the Outcome justifies the Deed"
- Vindicare Assassin Temple Motto

There are three things that matter in marksmanship. Location, Location, Location - Vindicare Assassin Training Dogma.

I do not know what World War Three will be fought with, but I know that World War Four will be fought with sticks and stones - Albert Einstein

Semper Fi
AC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Feb 2008, 22:49   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 53
Default Re: pistol rules question

ok thanks mate
LUSK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Feb 2008, 23:01   #4 (permalink)
AC
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 751
Default Re: pistol rules question

no problem
__________________
Exitus Acta Probat "the Outcome justifies the Deed"
- Vindicare Assassin Temple Motto

There are three things that matter in marksmanship. Location, Location, Location - Vindicare Assassin Training Dogma.

I do not know what World War Three will be fought with, but I know that World War Four will be fought with sticks and stones - Albert Einstein

Semper Fi
AC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Feb 2008, 01:41   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: burnaby, british columbia, canada
Posts: 48
Send a message via MSN to Purge
Default Re: pistol rules question

the pistol counts as a gun in the shooting phase, so you can shoot with it or another gun. if you shoot with another gun you can still use it as a cc weapon though
__________________
As Thule glanced out on the ruins, his heart fell. The dead were many, and yet they had given freedom to their brothers, bitter sweet freedom that was as much a curse as it was a blessing but yet freedom. Being of the highest price freedom had meant exile from the imperium but the Sons of Nocturne remained loyal to the emperor and only his light guided them through.
Purge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Feb 2008, 07:42   #6 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tarxienarius, sector 20, Malta :)
Posts: 60
Default Re: pistol rules question

unless you shoot a rapid firirng weapon, which won`t let you assault afterwards, and obviously heavy weapons, (except terminator armor wearers)
__________________

eldad2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Feb 2008, 11:44   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 542
Default Re: pistol rules question

Taking the rules literally, it's not just shooting the rapid fire weapon but shooting any weapon while carrying a rapid fire weapon that will mean that you cannot charge.

So, if you wanna charge with a unit of CSMs, the only models that are allowed to shoot are the ones who have replaced their bolter with an assault gun (melta or flamer). The models with bolt pistols and bolters are not allowed to shoot either weapon if you want them to assault.

Stupid rule. I suppose it's unintentional - it should probably read 'wishing to fire' rather than 'carrying' a rapid-fire weapon. But that's how it's written. Hope they remember to change that in 5th ed.
Chimerical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Feb 2008, 17:47   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 1,106
Default Re: pistol rules question

Do you have a rules quote for that Chimerical? I'm looking at the text and having a hard time figuring out how one could pull anything close to that definition from the rule. (It doesn't state 'carrying' anywhere in there.)

Quote:
An infantry unit that fired twice with pistols or which shot with rapid fire weapons or remained stationary to fire heavy weapons may not charge at all in the assault phase.
__________________
IcyCool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Feb 2008, 22:57   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 542
Default Re: pistol rules question

P.29 in my A5 rulebook, in the last paragraph under 'Rapid Fire Weapons', on the page entitled 'Weapon Types':

Quote:
Models carrying rapid fire weapons that wish to charge into close combat in the assault phase may not fire in the shooting phase.
I've also heard that this has been successfully argued at tournaments.
Chimerical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Feb 2008, 23:02   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 1,106
Default Re: pistol rules question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chimerical
I've also heard that this has been successfully argued at tournaments.
That, I find unsurprising. Just about anything can be successfully argued at tournaments.

The conflicting info in the rulebook at least gives traction to both sides of the argument. And I'm relatively certain that the intent is that you can't shoot a Rapid Fire weapon and then assault. But to each their own...
__________________
IcyCool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can any nid have 2 ccw or a pistol and ccw chicop76 Tyranids 3 05 Mar 2010 14:37
Rules Question. (possible noob question) TheLetterV Tau 8 22 Dec 2006 23:34
Needle Pistol tyrehire Other GW Games 5 27 Sep 2006 15:07
Bolter-Needle Pistol Question Seto The Inquisition 3 10 Jul 2006 00:15
Kroot Pistol Norsehound Tau 21 15 Feb 2006 17:23