Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Question about Charcters and Terminator armor
Reply
Old 26 May 2007, 16:31   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: South West Florida
Posts: 321
Default Question about Charcters and Terminator armor

Here's my question I have a IC who's in terminator armor does he get the combi-bolter and power weapon for free because they come with the armor or do I have to pay for them as wargear? ???

I've been paying for them but a more experience Chaos Marine player said they come with the Terminator armor and I'm wasting 18pts.
Thanks for the help.
__________________
Let them hate , so long as they fear. -Accius

I am your lighted way and I am your darkest day. -Godsmack
Saint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 May 2007, 16:44   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 16,024
Default Re: Question about Charcters and Terminator armor

IC's don't come with weapons as standard with Terminator armour. You have to pay for their weapons.

Your friend has been tell a half truth on the free wargear front. Non-IC's do indeed get free weaponry when they upgrade to Terminator armour. For example Chosen with Terminator armour get a free power weapon and combi-bolter (which is factored into their price for the upgrade).
FTyross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 May 2007, 01:29   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: South West Florida
Posts: 321
Default Re: Question about Charcters and Terminator armor

Thanks for the reply.
Saint
__________________
Let them hate , so long as they fear. -Accius

I am your lighted way and I am your darkest day. -Godsmack
Saint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 May 2007, 19:41   #4 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 16,024
Default Re: Question about Charcters and Terminator armor

No problem, thats why we're here for ;D
FTyross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 08:06   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: From Software.
Posts: 1,266
Default Re: Question about Charcters and Terminator armor

Just adding to this, How tactically viable is it to have a Terminator Asp Champ leading Mutants in LatD?
__________________
Krell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 13:35   #6 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 16,024
Default Re: Question about Charcters and Terminator armor

Well the 2+ save would only really come into play when you have 1 mutant left and the Champion via shooting. Combat works slightly differently and if your opponent is cunning, he'll ensure his unit champion (probably with a power weapon) is in base to base with your terminator.

Overall, I think it's best to save those points for some more mutants or maybe just buy daemonic aura.
FTyross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 16:41   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Alachua, Florida
Posts: 8,647
Send a message via MSN to MalVeauX
Default Re: Question about Charcters and Terminator armor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firetruck Of Doom
Just adding to this, How tactically viable is it to have a Terminator Asp Champ leading Mutants in LatD?
It's strategically a bad move all together.

Your squad can only move as fast as it's slowest model and terminators may not perform sweeping advances, thus your whole mob of mutants cannot sweeping advance. This is a huge loss for massive piles of mutants who usually can win a combat, out number and whipe out the remaining models of non-fearless enemies for a tempo boost.

Rule wise, it's useless because of majority armor rules and the fact that your champ cannot buy a heavy weapon, the terminator armor is literally dead points, that make your squad worse.

Cheers,
__________________
[table][tr][td][/td][td][table][tr][td] [/td][td]Apocalypse is the only way to forty-kay.[/td][/tr][/table][/td][/tr][/table]
MalVeauX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 16:51   #8 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,232
Send a message via MSN to Hadhfang
Default Re: Question about Charcters and Terminator armor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer Tyross
Well the 2+ save would only really come into play when you have 1 mutant left and the Champion via shooting.
Or you often get drenched in fire so much that your opponent needs a large bucket of dice for each shooting round.

But that's only if you get enough hits to get every model twice, in which case wounding shots must be allocated to each model until all wounding shots have been allocated, then each model will roll there saves (usually all the same save at the same time) then the next save and so on.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaifrog
Hooray! We've corrupted Hadhfang ;D
Hadhfang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daemon Weapons and Lords without Terminator Armor Tanyos Forces of Chaos 3 06 Jul 2009 01:11
Ork nobs in terminator armor.. reqeim Orks 4 21 May 2008 00:20
[Discussion] If Power/Artificer/Terminator Armor Gave S4... balistafreak The Inquisition 17 27 May 2007 15:42
Terminator Armor Problem Vash113 Space Marines 9 11 Jan 2007 05:55
Terminator armor HQs kingofmonkeys Space Marines 16 23 Dec 2006 09:20