Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Question about Thousand Sons vs. Tyranids
Old 11 May 2007, 16:01   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Question about Thousand Sons vs. Tyranids

I am somewhat new to the Thousand Sons, although I have read extensively about them, and seen many lists. The one thing I can't seem to piece together is how effective they are against Tyranids, especially the swarm variety. Sure their marines have the extra wound, but for their points cost, there is not as much basic bolter fire as you would see amongst other marine/chaos marine chapters. Usually we play 1000pt lists.

Now to the point of my thread. First off, what are some basic units/tactics that you would use against the Tyranids as a Thousand Sons army to combat the possibility of their greater numbers? Also, what are some example armies you might take against a general Tyranid player?

Thanks in advance for your insight/opinions. I am looking forward to reading them.
Deius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2007, 21:01   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui

Default Re: Question about Thousand Sons vs. Tyranids

I have actually played a TK Sons army against Nids. There are few things to consider. First doombolt on all your Asps works quite well.
I took a defiler( you should be using them in a general list anyway ). However my 2 havoc squads (1 with ML's, 1 with HB's). are also quite good They need need some serious fast-moving/infiltrating units to neutralise that horde-killing firepower so their MCs can be effective. I would take three squads now and maybe drop the pred. Just do not let the nids small ones tie up those havocs in combat.
Always move backwards against Nids ... you want to fire those bolters as much as possible before they engage you in assaiult. Now here is a tip . .. changing your opponents creatures into chaos spawn is quite nice so consider gifts as well as a psychic power.