Eldar-Altaioc-New player
Closed Thread
Old 22 Jul 2005, 07:24   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La

Send a message via MSN to Devin
Default Eldar-Altaioc-New player

First: I don't have an Eldar Codex.

Second: I'm fairly new to 40K

I plan on having Tau as my main army, and then possibly Necrons, that is still on the fence and could be swung by this very thread.

The Eldar, however, appeal to me very much.
I don't have their codex yet because all I hear is how much they need a new one.

If you could:

A) Shed some light on why this is so

B) How viable an Eldar KTeam or Combat Patrol is, with special attention placed on Rangers and Pathfinders

C) How friggin' sweet Altaioc are

I would be much obliged.

Thank you,

O'Dev'n

Note: Short, sweet and to the point, it's very early/late and I am tired, sorry.
Old 22 Jul 2005, 07:45   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El

Location: In my secret lair plotting forum domination....hehe
Send a message via MSN to Tau-killer
Default Re: Eldar-Altaioc-New player

There's nothing intrinsically wrong with the Eldar - just lots of little things which could be improved, such as the points cost of things and the range of some other weaponry.

You really will need to buy the codex if you want to use Eldar - it won't be upgraded for some time (although it is due to be upgraded in the future it will take some time.)
If you want to use Alaitoc - you will also need the Eldar craftworld codex supplement.

Rangers and pathfinders are good units for pinning enemy units which aren't fearless and pathfinders especially are great for taking out tough, nasty enemy units. However you need to have Alaitoc to use pathfinders.

One of the reasons why Alaitoc is great is because of the 'Ranger disruption table.' This allows you to roll one dice per ranger and pathfinder unit on a table - and the result can enable you to pin enemy units and put enemy units into reserve before the first turn of the battle begins.

Hope that helps.
Old 22 Jul 2005, 21:40   #3 (permalink)