Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

quick warlock question
Reply
Old 21 Sep 2009, 03:14   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: manjimup
Posts: 118
Send a message via MSN to El moustache
Default quick warlock question

If a Warlock in a unit of Guardians has his freinds obliterated can he join another unit?

Like Howling Banshees or something like that?

Or Dire Avengers to make them even more kick ass.

Any thoughts would be muchly appreciated

El moustache
__________________
El moustache and his wonderific travelling spastic dream farm for 11 of the least well respected mostly fewer than eighty percent of the adventurism!!

El moustache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Sep 2009, 03:27   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 95
Default Re: quick warlock question

No he cannot, because he does not have the independent character special rule.
This is partially a good thing however, because if he did count as an IC, he would probably be worth an extra kill point. I don't think a single warlock is strong enough to be worth a kill point all by himself.

-medd
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Good Ol' Shakey
Eldar are like Pringles... once you pop you can't stop.... Just ask Slaanesh!
medd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Sep 2009, 07:18   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: quick warlock question

Warlocks are more of a squad upgrade than a character.

So no they cannot join other squads that do not specify A Warlock my join the squad.

/Rob
__________________
MY WEBSITE: http://s6.invisionfree.com/Eldar_Forum/

PLEASE TAKE A LOOK AND SIGN UP!
Foredrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Sep 2009, 16:52   #4 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 440
Default Re: quick warlock question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foredrifter
So no they cannot join other squads that do not specify A Warlock my join the squad.
No, they simply cannot join another squad. It's the same as being the last remaining guardian out of a squad; you're on your own. The only rule that allows a model to leave and join squads is the Independent Character rule.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Anonymous
I can't believe games workshop are really that unorganised. The DE codex looks like it was made back in 1970 and yet they're more worried about making sure the space marines are walking around in diamond coated power armour and shooting tyranids with sequin covered bolters
Deris87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Sep 2009, 22:01   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: disco town
Posts: 70
Default Re: quick warlock question

Think of the warlock as a sergent rather than an actual character. So joining other squads is out of the question, same goes for warlock squads.
__________________
played eldar scince 2000
eldar: since March 2009 (i think)
w/l/t
7/2/2

"my ridiculously circuitous plan is one quarter complete!!"
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Man They Call Jayne
From a painting point of view, the eldar are great, they have so many colours and patterns, hence their battle cry "TASTE THE RAINBOW!!"
i r cheezy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2009, 00:25   #6 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 440
Default Re: quick warlock question

Actually Sgts, exarchs, warlocks, aspiring champions etc. are characters, they're just not Independent Characters, and so are unable to join and leave units. The rules for upgrade and independent characters are on pg. 47.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Anonymous
I can't believe games workshop are really that unorganised. The DE codex looks like it was made back in 1970 and yet they're more worried about making sure the space marines are walking around in diamond coated power armour and shooting tyranids with sequin covered bolters
Deris87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2009, 06:44   #7 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: disco town
Posts: 70
Default Re: quick warlock question

Yes that was what i meant by character, thanks for clearing it up.
__________________
played eldar scince 2000
eldar: since March 2009 (i think)
w/l/t
7/2/2

"my ridiculously circuitous plan is one quarter complete!!"
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Man They Call Jayne
From a painting point of view, the eldar are great, they have so many colours and patterns, hence their battle cry "TASTE THE RAINBOW!!"
i r cheezy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2009, 07:45   #8 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,880
Default Re: quick warlock question

if he loses his guardians, your best option is to go kamikazee with him and see how long he can tarpit something. he's really inly good for the conceal or embolden power, enhance and destructors are for offensive warlock squads attached to the farseer. Guardian squad warlocks are meant to be supporting for their squad. If the squad's guy are all dead, he is pointless. He doesn't even count as an extra kill point so you may as well play kamikazee with him.
Guitardian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2009, 15:06   #9 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 95
Default Re: quick warlock question

If it's an annihilation game and there's a transport nearby, you might want to load him up and just keep him in the tank. He may last the game and prevent your opponent from getting another KP.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Good Ol' Shakey
Eldar are like Pringles... once you pop you can't stop.... Just ask Slaanesh!
medd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2009, 15:33   #10 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 251
Default Re: quick warlock question

Thats true if he is the last man alive in the squad they haven't gotten the KP for the unit yet. Also loading him in a empty transport is good seeing as he is still a threat to tanks. Drop him off and watch what that str9 witchblade does to back of a tank.
__________________
"I have seen the doom of the universe. And yet I have seen hope."

-Farseer Maechu of Ulthwe
loeldrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question quick answer, rapid fire plasma? Ekiel Space Marines 5 31 Oct 2009 20:45
A quick question Blue blurr Tau 8 12 Oct 2007 14:03
Just a Quick Question Jakyunis The Inquisition 8 11 Sep 2005 16:14
1 quick question Orion General 40K 11 23 Apr 2005 17:51