Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Couple questions...
Reply
Old 24 Aug 2009, 19:03   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 120
Default Couple questions...

1) Warlock, on a Jetbike, with Destructor. Where do you place the small end of the template? (been placing it at the models head)

B) Speartarch's attack with a Str6 power weapon on the charge. What Strength is it when not on the charge? (3 or 6?)

Lastly... I've been running a Seer Council with a Speartarch. When i assault, the Autarch goes first. My buddy likes to remove models in base contact with my Farseer so it can't attack. Ideas for countering this?

Thanks. ;D
__________________
Eldar Record w/l/d 1/1/1
Mecha73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Aug 2009, 22:10   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 95
Default Re: Couple questions...

Not an eldar player so I can't answer most of your questions. But in regards to the last question...

Do you mean after the Autarch has killed some of his models, he removes the ones nearest the farseer, so that the farseer isn't within range of his models?
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Good Ol' Shakey
Eldar are like Pringles... once you pop you can't stop.... Just ask Slaanesh!
medd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Aug 2009, 22:18   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 7,663
Default Re: Couple questions...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mecha73
1) Warlock, on a Jetbike, with Destructor. Where do you place the small end of the template? (been placing it at the models head)
Within the firing arc of the model and at the edge of the model's base. That's the same way you do it with all shooting weapons. If you're measuring from the head, you've been cheating yourself.

Quote:
B) Speartarch's attack with a Str6 power weapon on the charge. What Strength is it when not on the charge? (3 or 6?)
S3 when not charging. It reverts to being a normal close combat weapon.

Quote:
Lastly... I've been running a Seer Council with a Speartarch. When i assault, the Autarch goes first. My buddy likes to remove models in base contact with my Farseer so it can't attack. Ideas for countering this?
Thanks. ;D
5th edition rules mean that (with generic troopers) you pull from the back of the unit. It also means that he has to move as many models into close combat after you charge. I'd suggest re-reading the assault and wound allocation rules. It sounds like your buddy is using the 4th edition rules or maybe cheating. Assault wounds and wound allocation has changed drastically in 5th edition.
Farseer_Emlyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Aug 2009, 22:25   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 120
Default Re: Couple questions...

Thanks for the info. As far as assault goes, nobody's cheating on purpose. He's been piling in after my charge. We'll have to go back and take a look at the assault rules again. Maybe it does say something about removing models not in base contact 1st. IDK. :-[
__________________
Eldar Record w/l/d 1/1/1
Mecha73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Aug 2009, 22:39   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 95
Default Re: Couple questions...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emlyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mecha73

Quote:
Lastly... I've been running a Seer Council with a Speartarch. When i assault, the Autarch goes first. My buddy likes to remove models in base contact with my Farseer so it can't attack. Ideas for countering this?
Thanks. ;D
5th edition rules mean that (with generic troopers) you pull from the back of the unit. It also means that he has to move as many models into close combat after you charge. I'd suggest re-reading the assault and wound allocation rules. It sounds like your buddy is using the 4th edition rules or maybe cheating. Assault wounds and wound allocation has changed drastically in 5th edition.
It states in the rule book (page 39) that removing casualties during assault follows the same rules as removing casualties during the shooting phase. On page 24, it states that the person who owns the unit that took the wounds gets to choose who they remove. This is in regards to removing X number of models, when that type of model took fewer wounds than the total number of models in that unit.

... If that makes any sense.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Good Ol' Shakey
Eldar are like Pringles... once you pop you can't stop.... Just ask Slaanesh!
medd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Aug 2009, 22:57   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 120
Default Re: Couple questions...

So what your saying is... He can remove models in manner to keep my IC from being able to attack? Darn. Maybe i'll make sure my Farseer is in contact with his unit leader when possible. ???
__________________
Eldar Record w/l/d 1/1/1
Mecha73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Aug 2009, 23:09   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Burgess Hill (Near Brighton)-England
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via MSN to Merqu
Default Re: Couple questions...

IF memory serves me correctly isn' the way combat works is that you may attack all models who were able to attack at the beginning of the assult phase regardless of what casualties that get removed during the combat?
Merqu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Aug 2009, 23:11   #8 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ota, Gunma Prefecture, Japan
Posts: 3,764
Default Re: Couple questions...

Merqu is correct. If a model is considered 'engaged' at the start of the combat (I.e. after the Defenders React move) then he/she/it will be able to make their attacks regardless of how casualties are removed. This is explicitly stated in the final paragraph on page 35 of the rulebook.
__________________
[table][tr][td]Regards,
MT.[/td][td] [[/td][/tr][/table][hr]What's an abelian group with an associative, distributive secondary operator and the power to corrupt mortals?
[spoiler=Answer]The One Ring![/spoiler]
[hr]
Masked Thespian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Aug 2009, 23:23   #9 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 95
Default Re: Couple questions...

Yeah that's right, my mistake. This is a repeat, but as stated above, whoever can assault at the beginning can assault throughout (besides the actual casualties removed).
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Good Ol' Shakey
Eldar are like Pringles... once you pop you can't stop.... Just ask Slaanesh!
medd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Aug 2009, 23:26   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 120
Default Re: Couple questions...

Awsome! Thanks a bunch everyone. ;D
__________________
Eldar Record w/l/d 1/1/1
Mecha73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got a couple of questions here... Adm. Constantine Imperial Guard 17 09 Jun 2009 19:16
A couple of questions for my Tau... Macc Tau 6 07 Jun 2009 23:58
Couple questions ShadowAngel159 The Inquisition 10 11 Apr 2009 03:33
A couple of questions about WoW Nightmare Other Games 31 29 Nov 2007 17:02
a couple questions cheeseman Tau 5 15 Jan 2007 16:56