Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Phoenix lord question
Reply
Old 30 Jul 2009, 20:40   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Earth, i think...
Posts: 275
Send a message via AIM to runer60000
Default Phoenix lord question

ok, it says in the codex "phoenix lords cannot join squads that are not of their own aspect" but it doesnt say anything about non-aspect squads, so could you join those units(like warlocks, guardians, and wraithguard)

i would appreciate some help.
__________________
Current Tau Standings:
Against Blood Angels SM: L0, T1, W3
Against Chaos: L2, T1, W0
Against Tyranids: L2, T1, W0
Against Necrons: L1, T1, W2
Orks: L0, T1, W0
Current Eldar Standings:
Against Blood Angels: L0, T0, W0
Against Orks: L0, T0, W0
Against Tyranids: L0, T0, W2
Against Ultramarines: L0, T0, W3
runer60000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Jul 2009, 20:45   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Phoenix lord question

Quote:
Originally Posted by runer60000
ok, it says in the codex "phoenix lords cannot join squads of their own aspect" but it doesnt say anything about non-aspect squads, so could you join those units(like warlocks, guardians, and wraithguard)

i would appreciate some help.
Might be a typo here.

A Phoenix Lord can only join warrior from their own aspect. So Karandras can only join Striking Scorpion, he cannot join Howling Banshee.

As for joining Others: Guardian, Harlequin, Warlock. It depends on how it is writting I guess. Some say it is ok for them to join them, because they are not Aspect Warrior
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Jul 2009, 20:46   #3 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 16,024
Default Re: Phoenix lord question

Pheonix Lords can lead their squads of their own Aspect, otherwise what would be the point of Disciples Special Rule on the bottom of page 54 of the Eldar Codex?

As to your question though, I would imagine they could, but it may stop them from using certain Aspect Powers.
FTyross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Jul 2009, 21:48   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,604
Default Re: Phoenix lord question

Yeah, there should be a "not" somewhere in that OP quote.

And I think the Phoenix Lord can still use all the Exarch powers, as an example, you can't have a squad of 20 Storm Guardians Infiltrate with Karandras or a Guardian Defender squad use Asurmen's Bladestorm ability to boost their shots, etc. But Karandras could still Infiltrate all be his one-sie and Asurmen could add a shot to his shooting.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe
I trusted you, and it paid off. That was funny.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Man They Call Jayne
Yeah Ahab, your not nearly dirty minded enough.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silk Spectre
Mass Effect Two please have my babies.
Help people at the hungersite.com
Shasel_Ahab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Jul 2009, 05:27   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Earth, i think...
Posts: 275
Send a message via AIM to runer60000
Default Re: Phoenix lord question

they should be able to join non-aspect squads because the phoenix lord section of the codex states 2 things:[list type=decimal][*]when joining warriors of their aspect, they become fearless.[*]they cannot join aspect units that are of different aspects.[/list]so, not only should they technically be able to join all non-aspect squads, they can also use their exarch powers at the same time. there is no direct statements against either, so until they revise the codex, you can do these two things while part of non-aspect squads.
__________________
Current Tau Standings:
Against Blood Angels SM: L0, T1, W3
Against Chaos: L2, T1, W0
Against Tyranids: L2, T1, W0
Against Necrons: L1, T1, W2
Orks: L0, T1, W0
Current Eldar Standings:
Against Blood Angels: L0, T0, W0
Against Orks: L0, T0, W0
Against Tyranids: L0, T0, W2
Against Ultramarines: L0, T0, W3
runer60000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Jul 2009, 05:44   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,604
Default Re: Phoenix lord question

That's kind of getting into a RAW versus RAI debate...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe
I trusted you, and it paid off. That was funny.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Man They Call Jayne
Yeah Ahab, your not nearly dirty minded enough.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silk Spectre
Mass Effect Two please have my babies.
Help people at the hungersite.com
Shasel_Ahab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Jul 2009, 12:09   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Phoenix lord question

Quote:
Originally Posted by runer60000
so, not only should they technically be able to join all non-aspect squads, they can also use their exarch powers at the same time. there is no direct statements against either, so until they revise the codex, you can do these two things while part of non-aspect squads.
So there's nothing about joining Non-aspect unit. so I guess it's kosher.

As for the Exarch power. Correct me if I'm wrong, but IIRC power cannot be transfert from an IC to a Unit (or vice-versa) unless specifically stated.

So if Karandras joins Harlequin, They would not get infiltrate. And Karandras would not get the Harlequin special rules applying to him. Hell because of Karandras the Harlequin might even lose it for themselves. The same way a Tau stealth suit loses it's stealth ability if the Commander or other IC joins the unit.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Jul 2009, 17:55   #8 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Earth, i think...
Posts: 275
Send a message via AIM to runer60000
Default Re: Phoenix lord question

well, i guess you have point there. after skimming through the codex again, i did actually find a section that said exarch powers only works with the warriors of that aspect. so if a pheonix lord is part of a non-aspect squad, the powers would only work on him\her
__________________
Current Tau Standings:
Against Blood Angels SM: L0, T1, W3
Against Chaos: L2, T1, W0
Against Tyranids: L2, T1, W0
Against Necrons: L1, T1, W2
Orks: L0, T1, W0
Current Eldar Standings:
Against Blood Angels: L0, T0, W0
Against Orks: L0, T0, W0
Against Tyranids: L0, T0, W2
Against Ultramarines: L0, T0, W3
runer60000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Jul 2009, 17:59   #9 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Phoenix lord question

Quote:
Originally Posted by runer60000
well, i guess you have point there. after skimming through the codex again, i did actually find a section that said exarch powers only works with the warriors of that aspect. so if a pheonix lord is part of a non-aspect squad, the powers would only work on him\her
Or not at all depending on the power.

In the Case of Karandras, he would lose his Infiltrate ability if he is with Guardian. But if the Phoenix Lord has a power that only affect him, then he would keep it (sorry no exemple in mind for this).
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Jul 2009, 18:08   #10 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Earth, i think...
Posts: 275
Send a message via AIM to runer60000
Default Re: Phoenix lord question

yea, but the question i would have about it is how would war shout work? its a power that effects the enemy squad in CC, so its not like karandras' infiltrate.
__________________
Current Tau Standings:
Against Blood Angels SM: L0, T1, W3
Against Chaos: L2, T1, W0
Against Tyranids: L2, T1, W0
Against Necrons: L1, T1, W2
Orks: L0, T1, W0
Current Eldar Standings:
Against Blood Angels: L0, T0, W0
Against Orks: L0, T0, W0
Against Tyranids: L0, T0, W2
Against Ultramarines: L0, T0, W3
runer60000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who is your favorite Phoenix Lord? Betus Maximus Craftworld Eldar 6 28 Nov 2006 22:16
Ranger Phoenix Lord Haemonculi Craftworld Eldar 7 12 Sep 2006 14:38
Phoenix Lord Fluff? Earlydawn 40K Universe 9 16 Aug 2006 18:57
Phoenix lord The return wyrd_ian Craftworld Eldar 9 17 Sep 2005 16:36
Which Phoenix Lord is the best? TheGreaterGood Craftworld Eldar 18 11 Jul 2005 17:49