Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Fortune and PoTW.
Reply
Old 29 Jul 2009, 19:39   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Craftworld Yme-Loc.
Posts: 1,695
Default Fortune and PoTW.

I was wondering what would happen if I were to roll a double 1 on my fortune rolland suffer perils of the warp.

I have been playing it as:

Say you made your first inv. save, PoTW make you re-roll that so you do, you then fail, but then you can choose to re-roll that because of fortune.

Would this be correct as I know you cant re-roll re-rolls, but sctrictly speaking, you're actually re-rolling a different result.

Please help,

scar.
__________________
scar face is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jul 2009, 19:41   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Fortune and PoTW.

Well this was debated a couple month ago. Hopefully this thread holds some of your answer.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jul 2009, 19:46   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ota, Gunma Prefecture, Japan
Posts: 3,764
Default Re: Fortune and PoTW.

Well, to begin with, that wouldn't happen. The Perils of the Warp wound occurs before the power is used; page 50 of the rulebook states that "Note that a psyker who rolls a double 1 will still use his power, even if he is wounded or killed as a result," significantly implying that the wound and its resolution happens first.

However, in the situation where you've already got Fortune in play on the psyker in question and you suffer another Perils of the Warp attack then the answer is that you may not reroll the already rerolled to-wound die (as page 2 of the rulebook specifies); yes, the reroll comes from a different source (and, in fact, a different army) but you may not reroll an already rerolled die. In this instance, it is easiest to say that the two reroll abilities cancel (as, statistically, the chances are the same).
__________________
[table][tr][td]Regards,
MT.[/td][td] [[/td][/tr][/table][hr]What's an abelian group with an associative, distributive secondary operator and the power to corrupt mortals?
[spoiler=Answer]The One Ring![/spoiler]
[hr]
Masked Thespian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Aug 2009, 02:55   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,604
Default Re: Fortune and PoTW.

What about the Ghosthelm? The rulebook says successful Invulns taken against Perils of The Warp must be re-rolled but the d6 result of 3+ is not labelled an Invuln, it's just an "avoidance test"... thoughts?

I know it's off topic a bit but... do Fortune and Doom last into the enemy turn? I'm pretty sure Fortune does otherwise it's not worth it's cost, but Doom?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe
I trusted you, and it paid off. That was funny.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Man They Call Jayne
Yeah Ahab, your not nearly dirty minded enough.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silk Spectre
Mass Effect Two please have my babies.
Help people at the hungersite.com
Shasel_Ahab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Aug 2009, 21:06   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Craftworld Yme-Loc.
Posts: 1,695
Default Re: Fortune and PoTW.

They both do.
__________________
scar face is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Aug 2009, 21:20   #6 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Fortune and PoTW.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shas'el Ahab
What about the Ghosthelm? The rulebook says successful Invulns taken against Perils of The Warp must be re-rolled but the d6 result of 3+ is not labelled an Invuln, it's just an "avoidance test"... thoughts?
It is not an Invulnerable Save, so Perils of The Warp will not force it to be rerolled, nor could Fortune be used to reroll it. Strictly speaking it isn't a "save" at all, so the Farseer could also use his Invulnerable save from the Rune Armor against PoTW if he failed the 3+, although that would have to be rerolled if he didn't have Fortune on him.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Aug 2009, 00:59   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,604
Default Re: Fortune and PoTW.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khanaris
Strictly speaking it isn't a "save" at all, so the Farseer could also use his Invulnerable save from the Rune Armor against PoTW if he failed the 3+
That's a neat idea. And thanks for the confirmation on Doom lasting into the enemy phase, that'll help with assaults, but can anyone give me a page #? I think my opponents will demand written proof that it doesn't wear off at the end of my turn/that it lasts through theirs.

edit: once again, thank you Khanaris
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe
I trusted you, and it paid off. That was funny.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Man They Call Jayne
Yeah Ahab, your not nearly dirty minded enough.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silk Spectre
Mass Effect Two please have my babies.
Help people at the hungersite.com
Shasel_Ahab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Aug 2009, 01:57   #8 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Fortune and PoTW.

It is on page 28 of the Eldar codex. It says "until the start of the next Eldar turn". Unless you are playing against another Eldar army and your opponent wants to be a moron about it, the rule is pretty clear.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Aug 2009, 09:18   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 120
Default Re: Fortune and PoTW.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khanaris
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shas'el Ahab
What about the Ghosthelm? The rulebook says successful Invulns taken against Perils of The Warp must be re-rolled but the d6 result of 3+ is not labelled an Invuln, it's just an "avoidance test"... thoughts?
It is not an Invulnerable Save, so Perils of The Warp will not force it to be rerolled, nor could Fortune be used to reroll it. Strictly speaking it isn't a "save" at all, so the Farseer could also use his Invulnerable save from the Rune Armor against PoTW if he failed the 3+, although that would have to be rerolled if he didn't have Fortune on him.
So the ghost helm Gives you a chance to AVOID the wound all together?

And failing that you move on to trying to save the wound with your invulnerables? With fortune you re-roll a failed save, and with PotW you re-roll a successful save? But only one re-roll right?
__________________
Eldar Record w/l/d 1/1/1
Mecha73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Aug 2009, 09:36   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Craftworld Yme-Loc.
Posts: 1,695
Default Re: Fortune and PoTW.

yes, ghost helm lets you ignore the damage from perils of the warp on a 3+, but can't be re-rolled via the effects of fortune.
__________________
scar face is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Null Zone Vs Fortune cykosis General 40K 14 30 Jul 2009 01:17
Fortune Sezar Craftworld Eldar 3 30 Mar 2009 03:21
Fortune and No Retreat chicop76 Craftworld Eldar 2 14 Sep 2008 01:40
Fortune and Independant Characters? AuinMyrrath Craftworld Eldar 3 10 Jun 2007 09:05
Fortune and Guide within a Transport Shinsen Craftworld Eldar 13 23 Feb 2006 23:44