Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Energy Fields
Reply
Old 29 Jun 2009, 14:19   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 316
Default Energy Fields

In a game against Eldar, i managed to get 5 crisis bodyguards with fusion blasters (S8 melta) behind a wave serpent accompanied by Farsight. The Energy Field rules state that weapons shooting at front/side max out at S8. It goes on to say that, in addition, all ranged attacks may not have additional penetration rolls beyond the regular 1D6 + S. It ends by saying that attacks against the rear armour are not affected by the Energy Field rule.

It was my opinion that this meant the melta effect was not negated by this rule, as it was attacking rear armour and is thus immune to the rule. Both the opponent and a third person read the rule but concluded that 'all ranged attacks' meant all ranged attacks, regardless of the previous sentence. They think the last sentence refers to the S8 limit penalty, because it's not front or side, rather than including the 1d6 limit which technically makes no reference to what direction attacks come from. I gave them the benefit of the doubt and ended up stunning the vehicle with 5 BS5 S8 non-melta attacks, due to the penetrating/glancing hits rollling 2d6 on the damage table and picking the lowest.

Is this how you guys play it?
Shas O Behavva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jun 2009, 14:35   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 7,663
Default Re: Energy Fields

"All ranged attacks" means all ranged attacks. It's pretty clearly written. The sentence structure is like this:[list type=decimal][*]Front and side attacks...etc...[*]In addition to (the above)....[*]All ranged attacks....etc....[/list]Yes, its powerful, but remember that a Wave Serpent costs at least twice as much as a Rhino.
Farseer_Emlyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jun 2009, 14:47   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Energy Fields

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shas O Behavva
In a game against Eldar, i managed to get 5 crisis bodyguards with fusion blasters (S8 melta) behind a wave serpent accompanied by Farsight. The Energy Field rules state that weapons shooting at front/side max out at S8. It goes on to say that, in addition, all ranged attacks may not have additional penetration rolls beyond the regular 1D6 + S. It ends by saying that attacks against the rear armour are not affected by the Energy Field rule.
Actually I think you were right.

The rule seems pretty explicit here. Front and side attack: you have a S8 cap and you cannot use additional penetration rolls. Whereas attack on the rear is not affected by the Energy field thus can be above S8 and can use the additional penetration die, since those are the 2 elements affected by the energy field rule.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jun 2009, 14:55   #4 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 316
Default Re: Energy Fields

That's not likely to be word for word. I don't own their codex. I have an old codex which says rear attacks, and those from close combat, don't suffer any of the penalties... not sure if they reworded it to be more generous in giving a rear armour effect.
Shas O Behavva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jun 2009, 14:59   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 7,663
Default Re: Energy Fields

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boneguard
The rule seems pretty explicit here. Front and side attack: you have a S8 cap and you cannot use additional penetration rolls. Whereas attack on the rear is not affected by the Energy field thus can be above S8 and can use the additional penetration die, since those are the 2 elements affected by the energy field rule.
Doh! You are correct. Shame on me for not reading the whole rule.
Farseer_Emlyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jun 2009, 17:31   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,604
Default Re: Energy Fields

For front and side the energy field 'works': making all ranged attacks (yes, including melta) hit at Str8 and only roll 1D6 for penetration.

The rear does not have this benefit, as does CC. In assaults everything strikes as normal (probably because it counts as hitting rear armor) and the rear can get shot up like normal.

Fluffwise: assume that the energy Field doesn't cover the back because that's where the hatch is. It is a transport afterall. And I don't think a rippling energy field is going to stop a determined Space Marine Sergeant from smashing his power fist into the hapless vehicle.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe
I trusted you, and it paid off. That was funny.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Man They Call Jayne
Yeah Ahab, your not nearly dirty minded enough.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silk Spectre
Mass Effect Two please have my babies.
Help people at the hungersite.com
Shasel_Ahab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jun 2009, 19:27   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,880
Default Re: Energy Fields

Fluffwise, the origional Wave Serpent in Space Marine/Epic had an energy field generator mounted on its nose, and looked a bit like a ship crashing foreward through an ocean plowing foreward with its force field. It could be launched foreward several tank lengths and knock things out of the way (kind of like our tank shock nowadays). It's a force field projector, and it is mounted to project it foreward to make them spearheads in an assault. That's why it doesn't affect the back I think.
Guitardian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Jun 2009, 01:50   #8 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 316
Default Re: Energy Fields

Ah, good to know. I shall bring it up, should i happen to play against that eldar army again in the future. Not very likely i'd attempt destroying it again anyway though, as those holo-fields really take the wind out of my sail.
Shas O Behavva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Jun 2009, 02:57   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,636
Default Re: Energy Fields

Energy fields only affect ranged atacks from the front or side arc. Rear armour isn't protected by it. Also, you just said holo-fields.... Did you mean the energy field? Cause wave serpents can't take holo-fields.
limpchickeninabizkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Jun 2009, 03:10   #10 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 316
Default Re: Energy Fields

That depends, i'm not hugely eldar knowledgable. Does the energy field create the 2d, pick the lowest, damage table effect? If not, are there any eldar vehicles that have both the energy field and holo-field?
Shas O Behavva is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Combating Holo-fields Shas O Behavva Tau 29 02 Jul 2009 08:20
Lazy Painter's Guide to Painting Energy Fields or Glow~y Weapons Zen Painting 3 07 Apr 2009 14:03
Warriors with disruption fields? Kazadvorn Necrons 4 04 Mar 2008 08:09
Gellar Fields Eetion 40K Universe 26 19 Apr 2007 05:45
force fields ? frankthetank General 40K 3 06 Jul 2006 22:22