Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Questions about game...
Closed Thread
Old 27 May 2005, 04:19   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 98
Default Questions about game...

I have three questions, two of which sprang to mind after a game of Combat Patrol played earlier this week. My FW faced off against some Eldar Fire Dragons after the Eldar had blown my Crisis off the board. Wish I'd known they were an Anti-Vehicle team, I'd have made a better effort to pop them first. Anyways, I lay down enough fire to inflict 7 wounds on the Fire Dragons who are 8 models strong (including the Exarch). Only 2 saves were made and he removed 5 of them from play, checked his moral (25% casualties in a single shooting phase) and succeeded. Now here's where I'm confused. His less that 50% squad popped off Fleet of Foot to close 9 inches towards my FW and then charged into Assault. Is this legal from either of the following standpoints:

1- Can you use Fleet of Foot (which I'm told denies you attacks in the shooting phase) and make an additional charge move into Assault?

2- Could that unit have done it consider it had only 3 models left of the original 8?

Next question concerns the Hammerhead's Railgun Submunition Round.

3- Large or small ordnance template? (everyone keeps saying Pie-plate and I'd really like to know)

That pretty much wraps it for this post. If I have more, I'll probably be back.
Sightline is offline  
Old 27 May 2005, 06:25   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 350
Default Re: Questions about game...

I can only answer the third:

You use the ordinance template (The big one, about the size of a CD)

The smaller one is usually referred to as a "blast template" or "blast marker", and is used for things like explosions from hand-held rocket launchers.
Yawgmoth1111 is offline  
Old 27 May 2005, 07:33   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 98
Default Re: Questions about game...

Okay... Allow me to toss out another:

4- In order to target a unit other than the one closest to yours, you must pass a LD test. If you have a model in your unit equipped with a TL, does that negate the need for the test on that model or just allow him to target a seperate unit from the one the rest of the models are firing at?

Example: 6 Pathfinders, including a Shas'ui w/ TL, are closest to a group of Eldar Guardians. Range is 20 inches. 22 inches away is another Eldar unit, this one Swooping Hawks. Can the Shas'ui light up the Hawks with his ML without having to take a LD test to target them since they're farther back than the closest unit?
Sightline is offline  
Old 27 May 2005, 11:55   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 174
Default Re: Questions about game...

To answer your first two qustions, yes a unit can charge after using FoF, and yes you can FoF with however many models are in the unit.

But I have a question, when he FoFed, was his exarch still in the squad?
__________________
Quote:
If the Eldar want to go somewhere, the laws of physics don't get a say in the matter; it does it.
Rezgal is offline  
Old 27 May 2005, 16:13   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 98
Default Re: Questions about game...

Yep. One of the three models to make it to my lines in the assault. I've read horror stories about what a pair of SMurfs can do to a FW squad, but luckily his dice just weren't with him.
Sightline is offline  
Old 27 May 2005, 18:29   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fifth circle of hell
Posts: 3,150
Default Re: Questions about game...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sightline
1- Can you use Fleet of Foot (which I'm told denies you attacks in the shooting phase) and make an additional charge move into Assault?

2- Could that unit have done it consider it had only 3 models left of the original 8?

Next question concerns the Hammerhead's Railgun Submunition Round.

3- Large or small ordnance template? (everyone keeps saying Pie-plate and I'd really like to know)

.

(1) yes, you can. only firing rapid fire weapons cancels the ability to assault. with regard to FoF, you "trade" your shooting for extra movement, and as you can assault directly after moving without firing....... fleet of foot is no exception

(2) of course they can. Each individual eldar with a 4+ save, or an exarch of same squad has the ability to fleet of foot. Even if only one is left, they can do it.

(3) its in the codex. Open book, and read. I'll save you the trouble. Its the Large blast plate.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sightline
Okay... Allow me to toss out another:

4- In order to target a unit other than the one closest to yours, you must pass a LD test.* If you have a model in your unit equipped with a TL, does that negate the need for the test on that model or just allow him to target a seperate unit from the one the rest of the models are firing at?

Example:* 6 Pathfinders, including a Shas'ui w/ TL, are closest to a group of Eldar Guardians.* Range is 20 inches.* 22 inches away is another Eldar unit, this one Swooping Hawks.* Can the Shas'ui light up the Hawks with his ML without having to take a LD test to target them since they're farther back than the closest unit?
Nope, they follow standard firing rules - no exceptions. He must pass a leadership test to target a unit other than the closest, unless he's targetting a monstrous creature, or a vehicle.
__________________
greatest band in the universe: www.machinaesupremacy.com

"What warriors of men can stand beside the Space Wolves! The Sons of Fenris they are, hardened in the forge of their harsh world, eager for battle and honour. They are the grey warriors, ashen like the wolf, whose greatest joy is to hear the clamour of steel amidst the din of war. None can step before them, they are the first, proud in their strength and jealous of their renown. Through the storms of the warp they come, upon the very tides of terror, but of such dangers they are uncaring. They are the Space Wolves, the Undefeated, the bane of the Emperor's foes."
Deadnight is offline  
Old 27 May 2005, 20:15   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 174
Default Re: Questions about game...

Actaully Howling Banshee and Fire Dragon Exarchs can't fleet of foot.
__________________
Quote:
If the Eldar want to go somewhere, the laws of physics don't get a say in the matter; it does it.
Rezgal is offline  
Old 27 May 2005, 20:18   #8 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK - Wales
Posts: 10,505
Send a message via MSN to Kangaroo Joe
Default Re: Questions about game...

Banshee's can.....they are listed under the exceptions which can. I am not sure if Fire Dragons can.....
__________________

Quote:
No love, it's GREAT Britain....the clue's in the name

Thanx to Kais for the sig
Kangaroo Joe is offline  
Old 27 May 2005, 20:56   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Warren, Ohio
Posts: 595
Send a message via MSN to AmericanWarMonger
Default Re: Questions about game...

can some one explain the fleet of foot thing a little better? ???
__________________
Charge into battle my sisters let us put them out of their misery. Let us claim this battle so may yet live on to attack the greater enemy.
AmericanWarMonger is offline  
Old 27 May 2005, 22:22   #10 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: In my secret lair plotting forum domination....hehe
Posts: 3,804
Send a message via MSN to Tau-killer
Default Re: Questions about game...

In the shooting phase, certain Eldar squads may choose to move extra inches instead of shooting. If they choose to do they the Eldar player rolls a D6 and that is the number of extra inches that that squad can move. If a squad FOFs then it can't fire any weapons in the shooting phase.

For example:

In the shooting phase a Fire Dragon squad chooses to fleet of foot. A four is rolled on a D6. the squad may move 4 extra inches but can't fire their fusion guns. They can however assault as normal according to the rules in the 40k rule book.

The following can't FoF:

Avatar
Eldar vehicles
Units containing anti grav/support weapons
Dark Reapers
warp Spiders
Striking Scorpions

Hope that helps.

By the way:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rezgal
Actaully Howling Banshee and Fire Dragon Exarchs can't fleet of foot.
They can fleet of foot. Read the section in the Eldar codex more carefully - I quote from it:

The following models may not run...any model with a save better than 4+ except Dire avengers, Howling Banshees and Fire Dragon exarches.

Hope that clears that up!
__________________
I never bluff, TK.
Tau-killer is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Game Castle Team Tourney Game 3 (Orks and SM vs SoB, 1500, 3-6-2010) Droofus Battle Reports 5 31 Mar 2010 19:54
ME Strategy Game Thread 2 - GAME FINISHED - End of Game Reports Up majonga Serious Roleplay 174 03 Jun 2009 14:04
My First BFG Game and Questions balistafreak Other GW Games 3 26 Sep 2007 07:28
I lost my first game tonight vs. nids BUT learned a lot and have a few questions etancross Tau 7 24 Apr 2006 03:25
I was playing a game and had a few questions! freaky_beef Tyranids 4 14 Jun 2005 16:13