Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

New Eldar 5th Edition FAQ
Reply
Old 24 Oct 2008, 10:04   #21 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,636
Default Re: New Eldar 5th Edition FAQ

They may be cast in CC.
limpchickeninabizkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Nov 2008, 19:23   #22 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: New Eldar 5th Edition FAQ

Hello,

This question has been debating quite thourghly between me and my friends and we can't seem to agree.
Question: Does the warlock spell "Embolden" Allow a farseer in his unit to reroll the D6 on Mindwar rolls?

Embolden is a warlock spell that allows a reroll on Leadership tests.

Mind war is a spell cast by the Farseer that initiates opposed leadership rolls (Leadership+D6) with a targeted enemy model and for every point the Farseer wins by, his target is dealt a wound.

In the Eldar 5.0 eratta There was a question answered regarding Embolden and Farseers:
"Q. If a Farseer joins a unit that includes a Warlock with the Embolden power, does he get to re-roll failed Psychic tests?

A. Yes - the presence of the warlock obviously helps the Farseer to concentrate."

Does this mean that a Farseer with a warlock in his unit that successfully casted Embolden gets to reroll the D6 in the Mind War spell?
Danzig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Nov 2008, 19:31   #23 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 7,663
Default Re: New Eldar 5th Edition FAQ

I'm going to say "no" on this one because Mind War is not a Leadership Test according to the page 8 definition whereas a Psychic Test is a form of a Leadership Test.
Farseer_Emlyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Nov 2008, 20:05   #24 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: New Eldar 5th Edition FAQ

Alright so Embolden only applys to things that make the standard "Roll under your leadership" roll which is why it applys to failed Psychic tests? I think what made it unclear was how the eratta was worded. Thanks for the input!
Danzig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Nov 2008, 20:59   #25 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 7,663
Default Re: New Eldar 5th Edition FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danzig
Alright so Embolden only applys to things that make the standard "Roll under your leadership" roll which is why it applys to failed Psychic tests? I think what made it unclear was how the eratta was worded. Thanks for the input!
That is my interpretation, at least. But, yes, that's just sum of it. The FAQ is poorly worded because (as so many GW things do) it mixes fluff with rules. The Warlock helping the Farseer to concentrate has nothing to do with the rules. The FAQ should have read:

"Yes. Because Psychic Tests are a form of Leadership Test, a Warlock with Embolden would allow a Farseer to re-roll failed Psychic Tests."

That would have been consistent with the rules.
Farseer_Emlyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Nov 2008, 01:31   #26 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 500
Default Re: New Eldar 5th Edition FAQ

If he's allowed to re-roll Leadership tests, then yes.
A Psychic Test is defined as a "Normal Leadership Test."
__________________
DarthIbis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Dec 2008, 04:02   #27 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to Tanyos
Default A simple Farseer question

I'm interested in using Eldritch Storm to mess with my opponent's armor and Mind War to take out anything that may be a threat to some of my bigger units (snipe Sergeants with pfists).

I am curious however to know wether or not I would be forced to roll for scatter or roll to hit using my ballistic skill for either (or both) of these psychic powers or not seeing as it does not say to treat them as a normal shooting attack in the codex.

Would someone who knows better please clarify this for me?

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ______________

Also instead of starting a new topic I will just ask here. If I have a six model squad would it be legal for the to be deployed inside of a Falcon at the beginning of the game or would that only be legal if I used a Wave Serpent?
__________________
>_>
<_<
>_<
O_o
o_O
O_O
Tanyos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Dec 2008, 04:34   #28 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,636
Default Re: A simple Farseer question

You can deploy in the falcon.

Mindwar requires LOS, but no need for a to hit roll.

Eldritch storm I'm not sure of, but I'm fairly sure it scatters....

With all these questions you keep asking, please post them in the Eldar FAQ and other queries post. It'll be a lot easier...
limpchickeninabizkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Dec 2008, 12:21   #29 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 500
Default Re: New Eldar 5th Edition FAQ

Hmm... interesting question.
After review, I'm going to say that since Eldritch Storm is a psychic shooting attack, it should follow the rules for blast weapons. Therefore it would indeed scatter.

The good news is that since your Farseer has a BS of 5, that will immensely aid him with the scatter.
__________________
DarthIbis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Jan 2009, 18:03   #30 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Jamestown
Posts: 270
Send a message via AIM to dahli.llama Send a message via Yahoo to dahli.llama
Default Re: New Eldar 5th Edition FAQ

Can you put two different units into the same transport?

For example, if I have a unit of 5 Dire Avengers and 6 Fire Dragons, could I load both of them into the same Wave Serpent? I assume not, but I don't have my books in front of me at the moment.
__________________
Battle reports, painting and more at Meandering the Dune Sea
dahli.llama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Footslogging Eldar in 5th Edition TigStripe Craftworld Eldar 11 02 Mar 2010 18:19
Dark Eldar 2nd Edition Broken_Angel Games Workshop News and Rumours 25 10 Jan 2010 09:39
MOVED: Dark Eldar 2nd Edition khanaris Dark Eldar 0 12 Dec 2009 00:30
Does 5th Edition hurt the Eldar more than help us? whitestar333 Craftworld Eldar 4 24 Jun 2008 20:00
Which Eldar models are new to 4th edition? MattyFoe Craftworld Eldar 11 15 Apr 2007 18:14