View Single Post
Old 06 Nov 2008, 10:28   #8 (permalink)
Akaiyou
Shas'Vre
 
Akaiyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,023
Send a message via AIM to Akaiyou Send a message via MSN to Akaiyou Send a message via Yahoo to Akaiyou
Default Re: Monolith Special Rules Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrownKnight
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akaiyou
that is indeed VERY odd this is what my codex says word by word:

2. In the movement phase it may use its portal to allow entire Necron units (specifically Warriors, Immortals, Flayed Ones, Destroyers, Heavy Destroyers or Wraiths) and any Necron Lord that has joined such a unit to phase out (even if in close combat) and re-enter play by emerging from the Monolith portal as if they were disembarking from an access point on a stationary transport vehicle (even if the Monolith moved). The access point is the portal at the front of the model.

Which version of the codex does everyone else have? It appears that there's different ones.

Also the 3E FAQ states that the unit teleported can move normallyl after being teleported only IF it did not move before being teleported. There's no restriction on the monolith moving.

And the 5E FAQ also states the same thing that the unit may not move ONLY when BOTH the monolith AND the unit moved before being teleported. But if the unit did not move then it can move normally after being teleported. So you have to read the whole paragraph not just the first sentence of the FAQ.
Akaiyou, You have the older codex. I know this because I bought mine within weeks of the Necron codex being first released, and mine reads the same as yours. Check the old posts. I discussed this with Ryan and others a year or so ago. I have forgotten what conclusion we came to, but it was 4Th ed anyway.
Older Codex? there is only 1 Necron codex as far as I know. There was another one released? because all the ones I have seen look exactly the same and have the same rules except for that Monolith entry. So i'm really confused about what this newer Necron codex thing is about can someone fill me in?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabriel_
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akaiyou
So you have to read the whole paragraph not just the first sentence of the FAQ.
Do not insinuate that I have only read the first sentence, I find that pretty insulting. The 3rd Edition FAQ is obsolete so no reference can be made from it now. The entire question in the 5th Edition FAQ for the Necron Codex asks if a necron unit can move after emerging from the monoliths portal. The answer to that question is: A unit that teleports through the portal may only move after emerging if the monolith (and the teleporting unit) hasn't`t already moved that movement phase. If the unit has already moved before being teleported it may only be deployed within 2 inches of the portal; if it hasn't`t already moved, it may deploy out 2 inches and then move normally.

Regardless of whether or not our codex entries say the same thing, the FAQ takes precedence, and so a unit going through the portal can only move after emerging if neither it, nor the monolith, has moved yet. There`s nothing stopping the monolith from moving after a unit emerges, but if you plan on bringing a unit through the portal and then moving them, the monolith must remain stationary until that unit emerges.
After re-reading that a bajillion times it would seem you are right. And even though 'obsolete' why on earth are there 2 versions of the same codex? I mean it has the same cover as the current version and everything. This is the first time I came across an issue like this with it.
__________________
Back to 40k.
Akaiyou is offline  
 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366